We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Can't wait to come back!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vega
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Can't wait to come back!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Hotel Vega. We first stayed here in April 2013 and were so impressed that we booked to stay here for our Wedding in Malcesine in August this year. Marco and all the staff are welcoming, accomodating and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in one of the new junior suites, which we highly recommend. The food was fantastic with a good variety throughout the week. We have already booked for August next year which says it all!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
282
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel in August. Having experienced 4 and 5 star hotels in the UK and Europe the Hotel Vega is at least the equal of them. The welcome from Marco was personal and warm. The room and whole hotel were spotless and the service simply excellent. The highlight was the quality of food served in the lovely restaurant with the most spectacular view.
Thanks to Marco and Natalie for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scilly2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have just returned home on 16th August after two relaxing weeks in one of our favourite places, Malcesine. Having stayed at four star rated hotels in Malcesine, we had seen Hotel Vega in passing , but this year took the chance to stay closer to the centre of charming Malcesine, arguably the place to be on Lake Garda.

The Vega is a gem of a hotel, small enough to offer a very personal service, and roomy enough to match some of its more expensive competition in the area.

Immaculately clean and contemporary , the rooms and communal areas provide comfortable and relaxing accommodation right at the lakeside, with stunning views of the lake, Malcesine and Monte Baldo.

Dining facilities, half board menu are well chosen, and the attention of Marco, Natalie and the prompt service of Kriztian amd Mariusz (apologies if the spelling is wrong) made for a pleasant experience throughout our stay.

The lakeside decking, garden and jetty provided immediate access to the lake, and the hotel certainly drew admiring glances from boat passengers and from fellow holidaymakers passing by in the street at the front of the hotel.

Speaking with Marco, the hotel seems to be fully booked for the season.... little wonder, it is good value, and a great environment and close to the centre of Malcesine

Any negative points..... the toaster in the restaurant kept the guests wondering and waiting, and the old habit of leaving towels on the sun beds outside should be banned, although I feel that it was my fellow British travellers that have revived this habit which I thought had disappeared in the 1980's.

Marco and the team deserve the highest praise for their great little hotel! Hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Side lake view- we had room 2 , first floor well sized, smallish shower room , long balcony with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaynerlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is lovely in every way. We had room 5 and had a massive roof top balcony. The receptionist was lovely and helpful and Marco was too. The hotel has a great location too.Turn left out of the hotel and you are in the centre. Turn right and its a lovely lake side walk. The hotel on the lake front that you come to after about 5/10 mins is nice to sit out on (I think its the Excelsior) and they have a musician on. Not much going on in Malcesine on a night really, could do with a few more bands on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet143_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at hotel vega for a wedding in a malcesine and we were very impressed from the minute we stepped through the door. Marco greets you every time you see him and takes a lot of attention to detail. We stayed in a mountain view room on the top floor - we were very impressed and were glad we didnt upgrade to lake view as we had a large balcony and there was lots to look at. The food is fabulous - always varied and we never ate the same meal twice and Breakfast choices were very good. The dining room is spotless and has the most amazing views of the lake which took some beating (we even stayed for our dinner on my birthday as i didnt want to go anywhere else!). It is right in malcesine - seconds walk to the main square, 10 min walk to cable car and also to the castle. Perfect in every way and we will always go back to this hotel if we visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing mount baldo are just as good as the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated right on the lakes edge and the views from the dinning room are magnificent . The proprietor Marco does his best to ensure your holiday will be full of happy memories. His attention to detail and personal service makes you feel special and he always has time to talk and give you advice on the local attractions . The hotel is very clean and the meals are excellent and varied .Its location could not be better, just a few minutes walk and you are in the centre of Malcesine with its ferry terminal many bars and shops. Its just a 10 minute walk to the castle and a 15 minute walk to the cable car, both worth a visit. There is a nice little restaurant at the top of Monte Baldo when you leave the cable car it's no more than a five minute walk from the exit up a slight incline to the flat top of the mountain. The Hotel is a great base to visit other villages around the lake such as Garda, Simione, Limone, Riva and many more as we used the ferry and local transport to get around which was very easy. Don't worry if you do not have a Lake view room as the view from our room at the front of hotel was absolutely fabulous with views of Monte Baldo when you wake in the morning, really refreshing.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which faced the mountains Monte Baldo with a view of the cable car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first visit to vega and we couldn't of stayed anywhere better, the location was excellent, on the lake, mountains all around, shops, bars and harbour only minute walk. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and work very hard, nothing is too much trouble. The food is first class, it was so nice not to be served chips with every meal (we didn't have them once), plenty of choice at breakfast, fruit, eggs, toast, cake, cereals, hams, cheese, plenty of choice. At dinner always fresh salad, starter, main meal and a sweet. When we went to Venice for a trip, we were given a packed lunch because we wouldn't be back in time for dinner. We would defiantly stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it and a great big thank you to Marco and his team for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Some rooms have lake views, we had a front facing room no18 which looked over the mountains, very li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
8.3 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Property: Hotel Vega
Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing