We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Casa Popi
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just returned from spending five day's in this hotel. We had an excellent time, the view from our balcony overlooking the lake to the mountain's on the far side was as good as any I've ever seen.
The room was very clean and comfortable, with a ceiling fan (which you need), that kept you cool at night, although the room was slightly on the small side. The buffet style continental breakfast was very good, especially the olive and tomato bread, and the breakfast room was light, airy and cool. The outside pool situated in the garden was a lovely place to cool off in the afternoon, and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The hotel staff were also very friendly, maid's included, I think it's run by two sister's, both of whom are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is ideally located about a five minute walk from Malcesine, so you can easily walk in at night for your evening meal, although there is a restaurant much closer if you are really lazy!
I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed if you go there for a holiday.

Room Tip: Strangely the hotel charge's slightly more for a room overlooking the pool, due to fact there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

i have just spent 8 days at this lovely hotel with wonderful hosts.the view i had overlooking the lake was stunning .the breakfast is superb but the nicest thing about this hotel are the hosts,so friendly and helpful.the hotel is only a few minutes walk to the town

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnboywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Couldn't agree more with IanStewart1946. WiFi was a bargain €3 for the duration of the stay. We mistakenly brought the wrong plug adapter but were kindly given one to use for free. We were also able to keep a bottle of the house wine in the fridge at reception to take the occasional glass. The views of the lake from our room balcony were superb. Very short walk to plenty of lovely restaurants, bars and shops in the picturesque town of malcesine. Plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wee-al76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay & must say it is a great little place to stay & great value for money compared to other places in the same area.

ROOMS: they are very clean & basic. The bathroom is very cosy, but never mind!! The balcony view towards the lake was lovely & wasn't bothered about the road. There is no A/C as such but have big ceiling fans which do the job!!

BREAKFAST: served 8:00-10:00. Lovely homemade breads. Selection of ham, cheeses & fruit. also cereals, tea, coffee & juice.

OUTSIDE: there is a lovely pool area & gardens with sun loungers, however I don't think there were enough at times.

There wasn't a bar as such but you can get drinks in reception. There are no tea & coffee facilities in the room but if you are back by 22:30 you can get a brew from the reception.

THE AREA: the apartments are located near the centre of town on the main road (traffic noise wasn't a problem). You can walk to the centre of town along the main road which takes 10 mins or the scenic way along the lake which takes about 15 mins (left out of casa popi, 200 yards cross over the main road and down the steps).

The cable car up to mount Baldo is well worth a trip, great views over the lake.
Boat trips to Limone & Riva are worth a trip too!!

Room Tip: The lake view, great views and sunny too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenabecks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Third year in a row for my wife and I. On a scale of 1 - 10 Casa Popi gets a 12+. It is a beautiful family run hotel which is also very handy for the old town of Malcesine and is a great location for travelling to all the other resorts up and down the lake. A must is a visit by ferry to Limone and Riva. The two sisters who run it are so warm and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. As many other reviewers have said the pool, garden area, rooms and the breakfast room are always so clean and well looked after. In fact I cannot think of any negatives at Casa Popi. Well done Familia Lombardi and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. By the way, if you are interested in the history of Malcesine and Lake Garda visit the Castle. It costs 6 euros (4 euros if you 65 or over) and is well worth it.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the lake - breathtaking view especially in the morning when the rising sun strike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from three nights at Casa Popi. What a lovely family owned hotel, superbly run by two sisters, who work so hard to enure your stay is a memorable one. Bedrooms are fairly small but perfectly adequate. Very comfortable bed, an efficient ceiling fan & free room safe. Spotlessly clean & quality furnishings & fittings. Small balcony with fabulous rooms overlooking the lake. Although noisier on the front with fairly busy road, the views were worth it. This was not a problem as great shutters for eliminating noise & sun!! It was incredibly hot whilst we were there, so the beautiful pool came into its own. Plenty of sun beds & drinks available from reception area. Breakfast was superb, with gorgeous home made bread. At €59 per room, per night, what fantastic value. Pool towels available for hire at €2 per stay. Certainly hope to return here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jebbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in room with balcony overlooking lake for 59€ a night and this included lovely breakfast so excellent value & great location. Run by two lovely sisters who do everything & work so hard. Everywhere so clean & well maintained. Pool and garden are superb with plenty of beds & umbrellas. Just to clarify, towels in room are included - extra towels for sunbeds are 2€ for however many days you want to keep them. Excellent WiFi 3€ for whole of stay so again great value. No aircon but powerful ceiling fan in room. Free safe in room. Poolside drinks available from reception. Two ways to walk into centre - direct 5 mins or scenic lakeside 10/15 mins. Got owner Rosa to organise private transfer for 4 to Verona Airport for 100€ - super service from Vito & journey time 70 mins. Alternative was shared transfer for 16.40€ each but would take a lot longer. All in all, just what we wanted & we loved it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#31 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Vela Azzurra
Hotel Vela Azzurra
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#53 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#47 of 71 in Malcesine
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Casa Popi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Casa Popi

Address: Via Gardesana 28, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garni Casa Popi 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Garni Casa Popi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Casa Popi Malcesine
Garni Casa Popi Hotel
Hotel Garni Casa Popi Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing