We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel near the centre with fabulous views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garni Casa Popi
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July. Had a ground floor lake view room (17) with a lovely terrace. The hotel is great value. It is a 5 minute walk along the busy main road to the bus station in the centre of town. Alternatively, you can stroll in to town along the lakeside in 10-15 minutes. The owners are very welcoming and kindly provided a picnic basket breakfast as we had ane early departure. It is a one star hotel so there is no soap or shampoo and the towels are only changed every 3 days unless you pay a small supplement. There is no air con only a ceiling fan. However, overall it was a good experience and worthy of recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at the Casa Popi for 10 nights from 8th to 18th May, I agree with all the reviews from 2012, This is a perfect spot for town and walking along the lake. we stayed in room 7 which give a lovely view of the lake, Room cleaned daily and towels changed I think every 3 days. The swimming pool area was clean and surrounded by a beautiful garden. We had rain for 3 days while we where there but I would expect that near lakes and mountains, so we took light weight rain macs so not to get wet! and as the last reviewer stated the hotel is on a main road and not much of a path into town (but that's not the hotels fault) you can go the opposite way and walk along the lake. Breakfast is continental with plenty to choose from and fresh baked bread everyday. We hired a car and was able to park in the garage under the hotel for free and we didn't pay for wifi, I would recommend this hotel and would go again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the front you will get road noise, but you will have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The hotel is run by two sisters, who are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the pool area and small gardens well kept. this is a lovely area in which to relax after a busy day, and made even better by very reasonably priced drinks available from reception!

The bedrooms are quite small, but more than adequate, Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and served in a very pleasant room.

We had a room at the fron over looking the road, but benefitted from gteat views of the lake. The town is only about 5 minutes walk away, either along the road, or slightly longer if you go via the lake path..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just returned from spending five day's in this hotel. We had an excellent time, the view from our balcony overlooking the lake to the mountain's on the far side was as good as any I've ever seen.
The room was very clean and comfortable, with a ceiling fan (which you need), that kept you cool at night, although the room was slightly on the small side. The buffet style continental breakfast was very good, especially the olive and tomato bread, and the breakfast room was light, airy and cool. The outside pool situated in the garden was a lovely place to cool off in the afternoon, and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The hotel staff were also very friendly, maid's included, I think it's run by two sister's, both of whom are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is ideally located about a five minute walk from Malcesine, so you can easily walk in at night for your evening meal, although there is a restaurant much closer if you are really lazy!
I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed if you go there for a holiday.

Room Tip: Strangely the hotel charge's slightly more for a room overlooking the pool, due to fact there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

i have just spent 8 days at this lovely hotel with wonderful hosts.the view i had overlooking the lake was stunning .the breakfast is superb but the nicest thing about this hotel are the hosts,so friendly and helpful.the hotel is only a few minutes walk to the town

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnboywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Couldn't agree more with IanStewart1946. WiFi was a bargain €3 for the duration of the stay. We mistakenly brought the wrong plug adapter but were kindly given one to use for free. We were also able to keep a bottle of the house wine in the fridge at reception to take the occasional glass. The views of the lake from our room balcony were superb. Very short walk to plenty of lovely restaurants, bars and shops in the picturesque town of malcesine. Plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wee-al76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#56 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#46 of 71 in Malcesine
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vacanze 2000
Hotel Vacanze 2000
#10 of 71 in Malcesine
287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#29 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Casa Popi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Casa Popi

Address: Via Gardesana 28, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Garni Casa Popi 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garni Casa Popi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Casa Popi Malcesine
Garni Casa Popi Hotel
Hotel Garni Casa Popi Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing