We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian food out of this world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
“Italian food out of this world!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

OK if you travel with Inghams you will be given a ground floor room - but DON'T BLAME THE HOTEL. These rooms cost LESS than upper rooms and that's the tariff Inghams pay. Inghams should tell you that, but they don't.

The hotel is modern and clean and guests are well looked after by pleasant and friendly staff. The owners could not be nicer, and the evening meal is Italian food cooked to perfection. This is a small hotel, quiet and ideally situated on the beach.

Just a word of warning for those with difficulty walking - it is a 15/20 minute walk into Malcesine including a short but steep hill - and then you walk down again into Malcesine and up again to return. Beware other hotels have steeper walks! Malcesine itself is in our opinion the prettiest resort on Lake Garda.

Room Tip: If you want an upper room pay extra for it at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    24
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Cleanest hotel we've stayed in. Dinner is ab fab. Can't iron in room but can use hotel laundry in the morning. Location is great. Gym not great but pool is lovely. Modern rooms with hairdryer but no tea and coffee making facilities. Safe in room is free. Lack of clothes hangers but you can get more in the laundry room (just don't ask for them first!!!). If you are with Inghams you will only get a ground floor room which does face the lake but is adjacent to the underground car park access road. However, it is not at all noisy. They seem to prefer the Germans but I think they pay more so fair enough. Right next to the car ferry to Limone and 10 mins walk to centre of Malcesine. We were attending a wedding and it was a very hot day so took a taxi and it cost 9 euros. Don't wear heels if you are going into the centre as it is all cobbles and heels are impossible to walk in - trust me I saw a few trying and all ended up in bare feet. Don't let the small size of the hotel put you off. It is the smallest european hotel I have ever stayed in and was pleasantly surprised. The owners are very proud people and really want to make your stay great. The week ended well with the cheapest bill we have ever had to pay but maybe this is because there is nothing to do in the hotel after dinner and all residents tend to disappear to bed around 10pm!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Bartolomea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We loved this place, the hotel is beautiful, the service and food excellent, but the best thing is the position right on the lake - lots of other hotels seem to be on the other side of the road. It's an easy walk into Malcesine, which is fun in the evening but we loved being on the lakeside away from the noise at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valpolicella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Even though the weather was not as good as we would have liked, the warmth of the hospitality more than made up for that. The hotel is in an ideal position, our room was perfect, the food was great and having travelled with Inghams I can honestly say that all the reps. we dealt with were very knowledgeable and friendly. We met an 87 year old gentleman who has been staying at the same hotel for more than 40 years - which tells you something. The staff were amazing, worked extremely hard yet still always had a smile on their face, and were able to converse with visitors from England, Germany and France. Would love to return before long.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and this was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haydockhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Most of what we want to stay has been said in previous reviews. Lakeside location excellent with dramatic views of lake and mountains. Quiet enough to hear the waves lapping on the pebble beach and could watch surfers and para-gliders sailing by. Ten minute flat lakeside promenade to the old town with wonderful view of castle.
Hotel staff very friendly - the cuisine merited top restaurant with the varied menu offering delightful mixes of taste - compliments to the chef on his/her choice of menu. You chose your evening meal at breakfast which allows you to try other typical Italian food at lunchtime. Continental breakfast - do not expect a fry up!!
The hotel rooms and reception area were spotless. Fresh towels and linen everyday. Our only issue would be the air conditioning unit in the room. Functioned only when key card applied and was not as cool as we would have liked. Must admit we did not address with management whilst there but felt it could have been of a higher standard and annoying to come back to a warm room after a very hot day out on the lake.
We would still recommend the hotel, town and location to all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Malcesine although we were only there a week, the hotel was a short walk to centre of the old town. It was situated on the edge of the lake with all the bedrooms having a wonderful lake view although we were on the ground floor and maybe the view was not quite so good but that didn't take away from the enjoyment of having the sound of the lake in the morning lapping up on the lakeside. Shower was a bit small and not much pressure but the bedroom was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was continental which was fine but would have liked a better choice of fruit. The evening dinner which you chose from a menu in the morning was usually a choice of three with a five course menu was excellent with a lot of tasty homemade Italian dishes. Greatly enjoyed with lots of pleasant staff plus the owner taking care of you. Wonderful views from dinning room over the lake. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxing holiday in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

The Hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable. The food was excellent, breakfast was buffet style and the evening meal was 5 courses. Service from the staff was friendly as was the owners. German was their first laugage and English there second. We always think people should speak English but it made us learn a few words which was good. Would recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

The walk into Macesine town centre was about 10mins along the lake side very pleasant walk. The town centre and the walk ways were very clean very little litter, a credit to the Italians.

The town centre with it's cobbled street was very quaint and a joy to shop in.
Malcesine was not our choice of holiday destination as we were there for a wedding, but we will certainly return and stay at the Europa

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carltoncourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#16 of 70 in Malcesine
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#17 of 70 in Malcesine
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sailing Center
Hotel Sailing Center
#43 of 70 in Malcesine
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile

Property: Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Address: Via Gardesana 173, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Europa Malcesine
Hotel Europa - Ristorante Al Pontile Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing