We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like goldfish in a bowl...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There is one thing the brochures don’t tell you about the Hotel Europa: the lakeside footpath that passes through the hotel grounds. The constant streams of passers-by peer at the hotel and its residents whether on their balcony, in the restaurant, in the garden or by the lake. The walkers and cyclists are also joined by builders’ vehicles working on a site further along the lake, clearly with the agreement of the hotel owners since they control access.
If you are considering booking through a package tour operator then be aware that they will get you the cheapest rooms on the ground floor. If you’re really unlucky you’ll get room 107, which we were allocated. The tiny seating area outside this room is below the level of the lakeside footpath just 5 metres away and next to the access ramp to the hotel car park so all the passers-by look down on you while you’d like to relax. Plus the view is restricted by the path, a set of traffic lights, a bush and a log (the last two are probably meant to be decorative but I couldn’t see why they were there). Sitting there you won’t see much of the lake or the setting sun - the bush is in the way. To make it even worse the drains are outside this room so you get the occasional sounds of running water and unpleasant smells.
We told the hotel staff on reception that we didn’t like the room but they made it clear that it was the only room available. The tour operator’s rep listened but didn’t come to see the room so they didn’t help. This was the end of the season and I don’t believe the hotel was full. They had opportunities to offer us a better room but they declined to do so.
The hotel prides itself on the quality of the food. It certainly is interesting. Our experience was that the first two courses (antipasti and primi piatti) were very good but the meat or fish course (secondi piatti) was generally too complicated, overcooked and overseasoned. I like to have fresh fruit salad at breakfast but they offered tinned fruit – prunes, pears or peaches – although there was fresh fruit available. I wouldn’t eat there out of choice but it was included in the half board package.
The hotel does have its good points. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
As other reviewers say it is modern and clean, but for us it lacked the character, hospitality and atmosphere we usually find in Italian hotels. They don't take credit or debit cards to settle the bill unless it's over 300 Euros. Our holiday there was expensive (in the brochure it is one of the most expensive hotels in Malcesine) and disappointing. It was certainly not a four star experience.

Room Tip: Malcesine is delightful and a great introduction to Lake Garda but we can’t recommend Hotel Europa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Had a week at the beginning of September at the Hotel Europa Malcesine and we will definately be going back. Small family run hotel with perfect position on the edge of Lake Garda, creative gourmet food and excellent friendly staff. A room with a Lake view is a must and preferably above the ground floor level.

Room Tip: Lake view on the 2nd or 3rd floor for best views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned home having spent 11 nights at this lovely hotel, which is situated right on the lakeside about half a mile or so from the castle and main hub of the very endearing town of Malcesine (best resort on lake in our opinion). We were very pleased that we chose this hotel as the owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful in every respect.
The standard of the room was excellent being of good size, very clean and well thought out regarding places to put things etc, there was a fridge with mini bar (prices reasonable) and also a free safe.
The food standard was superb especially at dinner, with good choice and very well cooked. The service provided by all the dinning room and bar staff was faultless.
The only initial dissapointment was being put in a ground floor room, however this was not the fault of the hotel as these were the rooms allocated to Inghams.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side appeared best for balcony privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P.Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is modern, clean and well located on the lake front. The staff are pleasant and friendly, particularly in the restaurant where our needs were well catered for. The food is excellent and particlarly so for those who are not meat-eaters who are appreciated and well looked after. Our room was generally clean and tidy and was interiorly designed to cater for the disabled which did not constitute a problem for us. However, on arriving we noticed that the shower head in the bathroom was very dirty and after mentioning this to the owners and Inghams rep we finally got the issue resolved by engaging directly with the cleaners who soon sorted out the problem. We took some time too to work out the air conditioning system (there was no explanatory guide) but eventually did so. On the whole, though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be looking to repeat the experience in the near future.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the ground floor which is level with the lakeside path. This did not make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

OK if you travel with Inghams you will be given a ground floor room - but DON'T BLAME THE HOTEL. These rooms cost LESS than upper rooms and that's the tariff Inghams pay. Inghams should tell you that, but they don't.

The hotel is modern and clean and guests are well looked after by pleasant and friendly staff. The owners could not be nicer, and the evening meal is Italian food cooked to perfection. This is a small hotel, quiet and ideally situated on the beach.

Just a word of warning for those with difficulty walking - it is a 15/20 minute walk into Malcesine including a short but steep hill - and then you walk down again into Malcesine and up again to return. Beware other hotels have steeper walks! Malcesine itself is in our opinion the prettiest resort on Lake Garda.

Room Tip: If you want an upper room pay extra for it at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Cleanest hotel we've stayed in. Dinner is ab fab. Can't iron in room but can use hotel laundry in the morning. Location is great. Gym not great but pool is lovely. Modern rooms with hairdryer but no tea and coffee making facilities. Safe in room is free. Lack of clothes hangers but you can get more in the laundry room (just don't ask for them first!!!). If you are with Inghams you will only get a ground floor room which does face the lake but is adjacent to the underground car park access road. However, it is not at all noisy. They seem to prefer the Germans but I think they pay more so fair enough. Right next to the car ferry to Limone and 10 mins walk to centre of Malcesine. We were attending a wedding and it was a very hot day so took a taxi and it cost 9 euros. Don't wear heels if you are going into the centre as it is all cobbles and heels are impossible to walk in - trust me I saw a few trying and all ended up in bare feet. Don't let the small size of the hotel put you off. It is the smallest european hotel I have ever stayed in and was pleasantly surprised. The owners are very proud people and really want to make your stay great. The week ended well with the cheapest bill we have ever had to pay but maybe this is because there is nothing to do in the hotel after dinner and all residents tend to disappear to bed around 10pm!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We loved this place, the hotel is beautiful, the service and food excellent, but the best thing is the position right on the lake - lots of other hotels seem to be on the other side of the road. It's an easy walk into Malcesine, which is fun in the evening but we loved being on the lakeside away from the noise at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valpolicella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Querceto
Park Hotel Querceto
#43 of 71 in Malcesine
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Antonella
Hotel Antonella
#21 of 71 in Malcesine
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#55 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile

Address: Via Gardesana 173, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £139 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Europa Malcesine
Hotel Europa - Ristorante Al Pontile Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing