We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel Europa, it was a fantastic location on lake Garda and had an indoor pool with access on to the gardens. We had one dinner at the hotel which was reasonable but there are loads of great restaurants nearby. We tried hotel Castello and had a lovely meal overlooking the lake and also ate at ristoro where the food was fantastic. Breakfast at the Europa was fairly basic but ok. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel in May. The hotel is located right on the edge of Lake Garda, away from the bustle and noise of the old town area. The view from the dining room, across the lake to Monte baldo was fantastic. I could happily sit and enjoy the view but there was sightseeing to be done. If you are reasonably fit the castle can be reached in 30-40 minutes on foot. There is free parking at the hotel and several good eateries within easy walking distance, for anyone wishing to enjoy some wine with their meal. I would recommend la foresta (I think that's what it was called) as the place to be on a Friday night as it was busy with locals - couples, families and business people alike.
Staff in the hotel were pleasant and knowledgeable and made us feel very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room overlooked the car park but this didn't bother us as we sat outside the hotel overlooking the lake or sat in the bar/lounge area with other guests. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

3rd stay at this hotel, was back for our wedding anniversary. Firstly the Pallua family are fantastic and really make us welcome. Modern hotel, but its the location that makes it special for me right on the lakeside. This time we went for a standard room, which was a mistake. All rooms are pretty much the same apart from the view. The standard room was on the ground floor, you didn't really get the benefit of the view and negates the reason i stayed there.

Room Tip: Lake side, on first or second floor. Don't bother with ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There is one thing the brochures don’t tell you about the Hotel Europa: the lakeside footpath that passes through the hotel grounds. The constant streams of passers-by peer at the hotel and its residents whether on their balcony, in the restaurant, in the garden or by the lake. The walkers and cyclists are also joined by builders’ vehicles working on a site further along the lake, clearly with the agreement of the hotel owners since they control access.
If you are considering booking through a package tour operator then be aware that they will get you the cheapest rooms on the ground floor. If you’re really unlucky you’ll get room 107, which we were allocated. The tiny seating area outside this room is below the level of the lakeside footpath just 5 metres away and next to the access ramp to the hotel car park so all the passers-by look down on you while you’d like to relax. Plus the view is restricted by the path, a set of traffic lights, a bush and a log (the last two are probably meant to be decorative but I couldn’t see why they were there). Sitting there you won’t see much of the lake or the setting sun - the bush is in the way. To make it even worse the drains are outside this room so you get the occasional sounds of running water and unpleasant smells.
We told the hotel staff on reception that we didn’t like the room but they made it clear that it was the only room available. The tour operator’s rep listened but didn’t come to see the room so they didn’t help. This was the end of the season and I don’t believe the hotel was full. They had opportunities to offer us a better room but they declined to do so.
The hotel prides itself on the quality of the food. It certainly is interesting. Our experience was that the first two courses (antipasti and primi piatti) were very good but the meat or fish course (secondi piatti) was generally too complicated, overcooked and overseasoned. I like to have fresh fruit salad at breakfast but they offered tinned fruit – prunes, pears or peaches – although there was fresh fruit available. I wouldn’t eat there out of choice but it was included in the half board package.
The hotel does have its good points. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
As other reviewers say it is modern and clean, but for us it lacked the character, hospitality and atmosphere we usually find in Italian hotels. They don't take credit or debit cards to settle the bill unless it's over 300 Euros. Our holiday there was expensive (in the brochure it is one of the most expensive hotels in Malcesine) and disappointing. It was certainly not a four star experience.

Room Tip: Malcesine is delightful and a great introduction to Lake Garda but we can’t recommend Hotel Europa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Had a week at the beginning of September at the Hotel Europa Malcesine and we will definately be going back. Small family run hotel with perfect position on the edge of Lake Garda, creative gourmet food and excellent friendly staff. A room with a Lake view is a must and preferably above the ground floor level.

Room Tip: Lake view on the 2nd or 3rd floor for best views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned home having spent 11 nights at this lovely hotel, which is situated right on the lakeside about half a mile or so from the castle and main hub of the very endearing town of Malcesine (best resort on lake in our opinion). We were very pleased that we chose this hotel as the owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful in every respect.
The standard of the room was excellent being of good size, very clean and well thought out regarding places to put things etc, there was a fridge with mini bar (prices reasonable) and also a free safe.
The food standard was superb especially at dinner, with good choice and very well cooked. The service provided by all the dinning room and bar staff was faultless.
The only initial dissapointment was being put in a ground floor room, however this was not the fault of the hotel as these were the rooms allocated to Inghams.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side appeared best for balcony privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P.Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel is modern, clean and well located on the lake front. The staff are pleasant and friendly, particularly in the restaurant where our needs were well catered for. The food is excellent and particlarly so for those who are not meat-eaters who are appreciated and well looked after. Our room was generally clean and tidy and was interiorly designed to cater for the disabled which did not constitute a problem for us. However, on arriving we noticed that the shower head in the bathroom was very dirty and after mentioning this to the owners and Inghams rep we finally got the issue resolved by engaging directly with the cleaners who soon sorted out the problem. We took some time too to work out the air conditioning system (there was no explanatory guide) but eventually did so. On the whole, though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be looking to repeat the experience in the near future.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the ground floor which is level with the lakeside path. This did not make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#22 of 71 in Malcesine
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Marinella
Casa Marinella
#68 of 71 in Malcesine
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile

Address: Via Gardesana 173, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £102 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Europa Malcesine
Hotel Europa - Ristorante Al Pontile Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing