We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beauty Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Regular visitor to Lake Garda and Malcesine provides an impresive vista of lake, mountains, architecture and sunsets. Du Lac is ideally situated on the lake and provides an impressive backdrop to a relaxing holiday.

Easy access by car and adequate parking. Great views from room balcony and restaurant terrace. Rooms are modern and efficient, though the beds a little hard for my taste. Unless you are anticipating a 'full english' on a daily basis, the breakfast is more than adequate and the one occasion we dined on an evening, the food was both good and exceptional value. Drinks are reasonably priced also and the terrace bar is an ideal spot for a night cap.

Given temperatures in the mid 90's, the hotel is a 20 min (enjoyable) stroll to the centre and ideally placed to explore the north end of the lake. Exclusive jetty makes a lake swim ideal and we enjoyed the kayak (small charge). The pool at the rear of the hotel provides an alternative haven, especially if the lake is windy (quite typical) first thing.

A final thanks to the warm welcome we received from all the staff and a special mention for the attention we received on the day of a family birthday. More than happy to recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lake view but make sure you have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JnJ_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    84
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
206
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed at the Beach Hotel Du Lac for 7 nights mid July and what can I say, it was just absolutely lovely, the location, the hotel, the staff, the food everything. We travelled by train from the UK to Lake Garda via Milan and we were picked up (and returned) from Rovereto by a pre-arranged taxi through the hotel who took care of that, Deborah was very helpful in anything you needed to know, yes some information books are in German, but so what, just ask the staff they are more than helpful in getting you somewhere or giving you information. Renato the Director is lovely and so are all the other staff, they go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Breakfast is more continental, after all you are in Europe not England and was lovely. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis in the 5th floor honeymoon suite which is a room alone on the 5th floor (you have to climb one floor of stairs from the 4th floor lift access) but don't let that put you off as the views from the balcony with chairs, table and sunloungers is spectacular. The bedroom itself is large with a great shower room. The mini bar is reasonably priced if you get thirsty. We did eat a few times in the hotel in the evening sometimes off the set EUR 13.00 priced menu per person and sometimes from the a la carte. The fixed price menu is for 5 courses including salad buffet and antipasti but the only thing I would say is be careful if you order part fixed menu and part a la carte as they will still charge you the full 13 euros for the fixed price plus the price of what you order from the a la carte but the food was so nice we didn't really care and the gala night is something not to be missed which they hold once a week and give the tasting drinks menu a go, very interesting! It was also our 10th wedding anniversary and my husband only mentioned it to them to surprise me with a dessert decoration and they gave us a glass of prosecco each and some flower decoration on the table and lovely wording on the dessert and a specially created card for our anniversary, which really really was lovely and so kind of them. The location is so beautiful, about a 10-15 minute walk along the lake front path which is accessed through the bar/restaurant terrace into town. We noticed the bar along the way which somebody refers to in these reviews but to be honest we didn't take any notice of it much and you can only hear it faintly from the hotel. There is also a private jetty on the shingle beach where you sunbath and go down steps into the lake and swim. We used the pool which is at the back of the hotel a few times and was lovely also a hot tub there as well and plenty of sunloungers. The hotel itself is clean and modern interiors (air conditioning in room) and yes the lift can be a little slow but then again it can be quick, just pot luck really. Overall such a lovely stay would love to go back and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anybody looking to stay in beautiful Malcesine, they really do look after you and get to know you and you're not just another hotel guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky170971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My partner and I stayed 4 days at the Hotel Du Lac at the end of July. Renato (Director) and his team give professional and friendly customer service with the added benefit of the hotel itself being absolutely lovely. Its location is just perfect, with views of the lake, Malcesine and the mountains just breathtaking. We stayed half board; the meals hit just the right spot, each one taken with the lake just yards away. We loved the way the mountain view changed colour throughout the day as the sun moved around. The hotel is modern with air conditioning with the interior design lending itself to the exterior majestic location. Our room was just lovely, with everything one needs, the balcony had both loungers and chairs. You can take a dip either in the hotel pool or the lake, both yards away. The town centre is a 10-15 minute gentle stroll along the promanade, the only problem we had was that we hadn't booked a longer stay. Well done Renato and team.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view, the higher floors give a more panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lady306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for two weeks.
The location is absolutely fantastic as it it's right on the lake and only a short but very peaceful walk into town!
The rooms ar very clean and have everything you would need.
The food is really good although we only ate at the restaurant four times it was allways to a really good standered.
The staff are very helpfull and polite.
Overall I would defonatly recommend this hotel and me and my wife are already looking at booking again next summer!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccash1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Probably the nicest setting in Malcesine. Far enough away from the town to be quiet but not too far as to make it a long hike.
Although Malcesine looks the same it has changed quite a bit since the last time we were there, The harbour area is now quite noisy at nights with loud music blaring. In my opinion it didn't quite suit the setting.
Many of the hotels around the lakes in Italy have Classic style rooms but the Du Lac's rooms are in a more modern contemporary style which was a nice change. The pool area didn't appeal to us much but it didn't bother us as were not interested in laying about a pool all day.
There was plenty of parking and the staff were pleasant.
If I had to complain about anything it was the slow lift. Being disabled using a lift is quite handy but I had to give up on it as almost every time I tried to use it it never arrived and I ended up climbing the stairs. Quite strange as there are not many floors in the Du Lac.
The breakfast was ok but nothing write home about.
Would I stay at the Du Lac again?....aye, I guess I would but unless the tourist board in Malcesine does something about the crappy music blaring out around the harbour I wont be back, it may appeal to some folk but it didn't do anything for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fflyingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

My fiancé (now husband!) and I stayed at the Hotel Du Lac in early July...before and after our wedding at the Castle.
The hotel was perfect. We had a lake view room on the second floor with a balcony, chairs and sun loungers and a spectacular view of the lake and castle!
The pool area is also nice and even though the hotel seemed full we found there were always plenty of loungers free.
I disagree with the other comments made by fellow Brits re: breakfast...there was lots of good food available... About 6 different cereals, yogurts, local jams, fruit, croissants, crepes made to order, eggs, meats, cheeses and a variety of fresh breads! We found it very enjoyable anyway!
All of the hotel staff and restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. They made time to chat to us and were so warm and welcoming it made our stay that much more enjoyable.

My parents and other family members also stayed a the Du Lac and loved it. They chose the half board option on some days (which is great value for money) and ate at the restaurant a few nights when the menu took their fancy and had lovely meals.

The hotel is ideally situated about a 10-15 min stroll from the centre of Malcesine... A lovely walk along the lake.

We fell in love with Malcesine and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hariborose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, and I have to say it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. The hotel was modern, rooms were large (either facing the lake, or at the back of the hotel facing the mountains), and the staff we so friendly and helpful.

The hotel seemed to be the only one in Malcesine with it's own 'beach' (pebbles), as well as a private jetty with sun loungers. It's also a quick 5-10 min walk from Malcesine old town, so you feel like you're close enough, but not too far from the restaurants.

Will definitely be back again, and our favourite place having spent 10 days travelling around Italy (including Lake Como).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadTripIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#14 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Du Lac

Property: Beach Hotel Du Lac
Address: Via Gardesana 63, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is completely renovated and equipped with the newest standards of the 4° star category.Our hotel boasts about an enviable, elevated position with stunning views overlooking the beautiful blue waters of Lake Garda with a romantic view facing the old town of Malcesine. It is always estimated for the heavenly quiet position directly on the lakeshore with beach and private wharf with sun-chairs. Walking along the Lake-Promenade a half mile you reach the town.The forty large bedrooms all with balcony or terrace and positioned directly on the lake are all furnished with modern facilities: telephone, safe-deposit box, TV-SAT, fridge, electric kettle, AIR CONDITIONING or heating, modern bathrooms with shower, hairdryer. Hotel facilities, lift, INTERNET POINT, swimming pool, solarium terrace with sun beds, sun umbrellas, pool towels, panoramic view. Whirl-pool (33°) on the lake terrace, parking, carport, fitness room, surf deposit all inclusive.Dining room with air conditioning, dinner with table service, menu choice with salad and dessert buffet, weekly Galadinner by candlelight, Italian cuisine and regional specialities.You can choose daily half board or just Bed and breakfast. Generous breakfast buffet also on the panoramic terrace on the lake side with its splendid view over the Lake.Bar service, snacks and meals, coffee, sweeties, ice cream, cocktail bar. Tv-Sat room.We assure you our best attention, own good language knowledge and wait for your booking inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Malcesine
Beach Hotel Du Lac Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing