We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & relaxing”
Review of Beach Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly & relaxing”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This was our 2nd visit to the Hotel du Lac, but our 10th time in Malcesine. We now feel that we have found our favourite hotel!
Renate, the manager, gave a friendly welcome and remembered us from 2 years ago. Our room, which overlooked the pool, was tastefully decorated and had a large balcony. We had a fridge and tea-making facilities - rare in Italian hotels, and very welcome.
The breakfasts consist of an ample range of cold food plus boiled eggs. Something to suit every taste. Particularly enjoyed the tiny custard doughnuts!
The evening meal consisted of 4 courses (plus salad bar), with a choice of everything except the starter. Although there was the occasional disappointing course, each evening included at least one really good dish. The staff are very obliging and willing to offer alternatives if neither main courses suit. Wines are fairly priced in comparison to other hotels.
During our visit we were lucky enough to see the firework display. The hotel terrace is the ideal place from which to view the spectacle over a cool drink. We were impressed by the way in which the staff helped a couple to celebrate their wedding anniversary - special meal, special table, cake with candles, card and gift from staff...lovely!
This year the lake's water level was higher than on recent visits. This made it possible to enter the water from the hotel's private jetty; it's lovely to swim in the lake without negotiating the sharp stones.
The hotel pool is maintained to a high standard with a constant flow from a small fountain. We never felt it to be too crowded; there are plenty of sun-loungers.
We are obviously fans of Malcesine which is bustling yet relaxing. The only change since our last visit is the new Castle museum. It has been updated to cater for different languages with interactive displays. Worth the visit if only for the information about the lake itself (the film of divers is a real eye-opener).
Will definitely visit Malcesine and Hotel du Lac again. I feel sure that we will again receive a cheerful welcome.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    86
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
209
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We have recently returned after spending 10 days at Hotel Du Lac and found it to be near perfect in all areas.
Our room was spacious, stylish, spotlessly clean and very well furnished. The bathroom was large, modern and provided all necessary toiletries.
All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful resulting in excellent service.
We found the food to be varried and well balanced with generous portions, the Gala dinner was especially enjoyable. The restaurant and terrace provide exceptional views of the lake and mountains.
The hotel provides all facilities expected of a 4 star hotel, pool, hot tub, gym,free internet, fridge and kettle.
If we return to Malcesine it will be Hotel du Lac for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetwoofus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester-le-street
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Fantastic hotel on lake.rooms and hotel spotless staff excellant food very good we
enjoyed it that much we have booked for 2010 for our third time.You wont get a
better veiw.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joegolfer1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

A beautiful location and very friendly staff. Choose a superior room with lake view and you will have air conditioning and free use of a safe. Food adequate- after all you are paying 12 euros for a 5 course meal and you can choose each day whether to eat at the hotel or not. The Gala nights once a week provide a lovely meal- still for the same price. I think you are probably better booking this hotel by yourself as you can choose your room. Going with a travel firm, you may get the cheaper rooms without the same facilities. Enjoyed visit so much last year, we went back this year and hope to return next. Have recommended hotel to two different couples who also loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We have just returned from holiday staying at the Hotel du Lac at Malcesine.. The check in was unprofessional and not very welcoming particularly the attitude of the blonde lady. The room was clean and of an adequate size with a nice view of the lake from the balcony. There was one double wardrobe with two shelves one of which was very high. There were no drawers only a small drawer at the dressing table. There was a kettle in the room but no tea,coffee etc so you will need to take your own.The shower room was ok with 2 small soaps and 3 bath creams despite there being no bath.We requested air conditioning and told it would cost 50 euros for the week.The safe key cost was 10 euros.
When checking in we were hastily requested to choose our main meal from a very limited choice. The service in the restaurant was first class but the food did not match the service. Our first meal was poorly cooked veal/pork chop with a few chips and a piece of broccoli which was mushy and luke wam. Thjs continued for most of the week with very limited choice . There were some very poor anti-pasti dishes which most people left. The whole experience was very disappointing. The breakfast was the usual continental style. There were boiled eggs available,some cooked for 3mins and some for 5 mins. The yolks in both were hard boiled so no difference there. If you want eggs and bacon you need to pay a supplement of 3.50 euros per day. The fruit juices and milk are still in their cartons,it would have been a nice touch to present these in glass jugs.
However,on our last night the hotel provided a gala dinner which was very nice .Had the previous meals been like this then we would have had no complaints.
I discussed the problem of the food with the Inghams rep.The answer was the location of the hotel more than made up for any shortcomings. This is important,don't let the great location of the hotel cloud any issues you may have. Our holiday was spoiled by the poor culinary experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieLancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Spent 18 days at the Hotel Du Lac in Malcesine Lake Garda .Incredible setting on the lake with magnificant views and impeccable service .Rooms were first class ,many with outstanding lake views and the staff were all so helpful and attentive.They made my stay a most memorable one.I would highly recommend it .I look forward to returning.

Brian O Connor

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianFloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex U.K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We originally tried to book this hotel for 9 days but unfortunately it was full. They did however ring us back to inform us there was a cancellation. We had committed elsewhere at this stage but we decided to extend our trip for a further 3 days to stay at Hotel Du Lac as we liked the look and location of the hotel.
We were not disappointed - we had a lake view on the 3rd floor which gave a spectacular scene of lake and mountains.
The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English and the food was excellent. The room was large, stylish and very clean with a balcony that enabled us to fully enjoy the view.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the town centre but this is along the edge of the lake on a well lit pathway and provides a bit of exercise!
We rarely visit the same hotel twice but we are going to make an exception in this case.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britannia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#12 of 71 in Malcesine
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Du Lac

Property: Beach Hotel Du Lac
Address: Via Gardesana 63, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is completely renovated and equipped with the newest standards of the 4° star category.Our hotel boasts about an enviable, elevated position with stunning views overlooking the beautiful blue waters of Lake Garda with a romantic view facing the old town of Malcesine. It is always estimated for the heavenly quiet position directly on the lakeshore with beach and private wharf with sun-chairs. Walking along the Lake-Promenade a half mile you reach the town.The forty large bedrooms all with balcony or terrace and positioned directly on the lake are all furnished with modern facilities: telephone, safe-deposit box, TV-SAT, fridge, electric kettle, AIR CONDITIONING or heating, modern bathrooms with shower, hairdryer. Hotel facilities, lift, INTERNET POINT, swimming pool, solarium terrace with sun beds, sun umbrellas, pool towels, panoramic view. Whirl-pool (33°) on the lake terrace, parking, carport, fitness room, surf deposit all inclusive.Dining room with air conditioning, dinner with table service, menu choice with salad and dessert buffet, weekly Galadinner by candlelight, Italian cuisine and regional specialities.You can choose daily half board or just Bed and breakfast. Generous breakfast buffet also on the panoramic terrace on the lake side with its splendid view over the Lake.Bar service, snacks and meals, coffee, sweeties, ice cream, cocktail bar. Tv-Sat room.We assure you our best attention, own good language knowledge and wait for your booking inquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Malcesine
Beach Hotel Du Lac Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing