We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Alpino for a week in early October on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there a couple of months earlier. The hotel lived up to our expectations and I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a modestly priced, friendly, family run hotel. It is centrally sited in the attractive small town of Malcesine and although it has two stars in our opinion it is at the top end of that rating. It is only minutes away from the little harbour, where ferries to other places on Lake Garda depart and within easy walking distance from the bus station. We didn’t have a car but presumably there is parking in the piazza opposite the hotel. Our room on the second floor had a tiny balcony which overlooked a quiet narrow side street with a sidewards view of the harbour. It was of an adequate size and clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space and a flat screen TV with BBC World available. The en suite bathroom had a shower, bidet, toiletries and a hair dryer.

We were on a B+B basis and the buffet breakfast included a good choice of juices, cereal, yogurt, croissants, pastries, toast, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses. We particularly enjoyed the bowl of fresh mixed fruit salad. We’ve stayed at more expensive hotels where only tinned fruit salad is provided. We had a couple of dinners at the adjoining hotel restaurant which had a good a la carte menu and a 10% discount for hotel guests. If you’re lucky, as we were, the proprietor may offer you a complementary liqueur of your choice! Otherwise there are plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from.

The hotel owners, Patrizia and her husband, were always on hand to answer our queries and to assist in any way. They will also arrange very reasonably priced transfers to and from Verona Airport if required. To sum up the Hotel Alpino is excellent value for money. You won’t get 4 star luxury but you will get a perfectly adequate and pleasant small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

So glad we chose this hotel, quite a gem. The room was a fair size, large bathroom (no bath)
but the shower cubicle was a little on the small size. We were able to throw open the doors onto the little balcony which was a bonus. Cleanliness standard was high throughout. Included buffet breakfast offered a good selection. We ate in the restaurant a few evenings, the food was good and we had a 10% discount. The staff were all so friendly and helpful especially Patrizia. She promptly answered a couple of queries we had before travelling. They also offer the best price on airport transfers which can be booked up to about five days before travel. We really enjoyed our stay and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Malcesine, travelling with Italian Getaways and staying in Hotel Alpino. We would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value for money and in a good, central location. Although rooms are small and the shower could do with updating, everything is spotless and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. Continental breakfast is plentiful and more than adequate. We ate in the restaurant most evenings as the food was good and we had 10 per cent discount; it was also full every evening which goes to show that it is popular with other holiday makers. Staff were friendly and helpful particularly Patrizia on reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose Hotel Alpino because of it's cheaper price in comparison to other hotels in Malcesine and were very pleasantly surprised by their kind hospitality.

The air conditioning is set individually for each room (unlike some others, which turn them off in September) and the rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily. The rooms are equipped with shutters, keeping out the sun and noise from outside, making a lie in very easy! Noise could occasionally be heard from the inside, but a room at the end of the corridor meant we had very few passers by.

The manageress, Patrizia, was incredibly helpful in advance of our stay - having read some of the lower rated reviews we were concerned about the old / new part of the building and she politely informed us of the true structure of the hotel and booked us in a lovely room with a balcony with a view of the harbour. She also assisted us in transfers from the airport and bus times for our trip to Verona.

A fantastic location and great food (especially with 10% discount!), our only complaint would have been the "double" bed composed of two singles, but with a single double sheet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyUKemyTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday at hotel Alpino in Malcesine which was great! Considering it was 2* I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The staff were fantastic, really helpful and couldn't do more for you. The twin room we had was very clean and had air conditioning with a little balcony looking to the lake and mountains (we had room 114). En-suite was very clean and included a wicker basket full of sachets of shampoo and shower gel (a nice touch for 2*), as well as hairdryer. Had a good T.V in the room as well. Breakfast was excellent again considering star rating with a varied choice and good staff at hand once again.
We didn't try the restaurant at the hotel simply because we chose to be more adventurous and go elsewhere but I heard good things from other guests and you get a 10% discount as you stay at the hotel.
On leaving we were given a lunch bag by the reception because our flight was early. What a lovely touch from a 2* hotel.
Only minus I would say would be the noise coming from the kitchen below and deliveries and other hotel guests late at night.
Overall incredibly pleased and would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 505joanna_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our second visit to the Hotel Alpino and still great in every sense of the word - great location, rooms spotless and with the added addition of air conditioning from our first visit, good food in the restaurant and 10 per cent off if you are staying in the hotel you just can't beat this hotel for value for money in a fantastic holiday location - would without question go back again and thoroughly recommend anyone else to do so!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just back from a stay at Hotel Alpino, Malcesine, which was super. Hotel was v.good for a 2 star
and the staff were delightfull and most helpfull. The transfer from Milan took 4 hours due to an
accident and roadworks and was ontop of a baggage delay. All these things were not within the
control of the tour operator but try to fly to Verona which is only an hour away.I believe Monarch
fly from Manchester,and this is what I would do next time.If you go have a trip on the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo,WOW.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytime51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#52 of 71 in Malcesine
235 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £73 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing