We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Been there 5 years in a row now, and they NEVER dissapoint! :)
Staff always remembers us, are sweet, smiling snd welcoming. Location is also PURE LUXUS in the middel of Malcesine. Food is also just perfect. Love this place, the food and the people.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in May, the hotel was in a great location, our third visit to Malcesine so we had a good idea of what to expect. Food was fantastic we stayed HB. Our host was chatty and the service excellent. Would go again as it was warm enough and not so busy as peak season

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was not expecting much as this is only a 2 star hotel, but it was convenient and reasonably priced for an Autumn break so we took a chance. How glad we were that we did take the chance. It was fabulous!! The hotel arranged a pickup and return trip to Verona Airport for 21 euros per person each way, which was put on our bill
The room we got was great with a little balcony which had a narrow view of the lake. It was warm,clean and well appointed. The bathroom was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a true family run hotel where nothing was too much trouble.
If you eat lunch or dinner in the hotel's restaurant you get a 10% discount. The food was so good, the portions so large, served on large 14 inch (36cms) plates quickly and with no problems that we ate in the hotel every night and some lunchtimes as well. The average we paid for two main meals with a litre of water was 22 euros and the portions were so large we could not eat a dessert.
The position of the hotel right in the centre of the town is so convenient especially for the Saturday Market and the boat ferries.
We went in Mid October and were very lucky with the weather which was warm,sunny and mild though there was a cold breeze in the evenings. This was our 5th visit to Malcesine yet we still found new things to do we had not done before. The ferry is about 200 yards from the hotel so we visited Limone for the weekly market, and went on the bus to Riva Del Garda and came back on the boat visiting the castle museum in Riva was interesting and an ice cream place at the harbour served the best home made ice cream I have ever tasted.
Going up Monte Baldo on the Cable Car should not be missed and although the wind was a bit cold the mountain air and sunshine was wonderful. We stopped at the chalet restaurant there for lunch and tucked ourselves out of the wind. The spot was perfect for sunbathing and I rolled up my tee shirt arms to catch a few rays. However we just had to try the hot Glu Wine, which was wonderful and made us hotter than ever, but with smiling faces.
The breakfasts were average, but adequate with all the usual fare, but Adriana the waitress after the first morning when I asked for decaff coffee, brought it to me very day without asking for no extra charge.
I would return to the Hotel Alpino now whenever we go back to Malcesine but the resort was very quiet so late in the season and no-one was about at night with only a few places open. However as a photographer I was glad to be without crowds of people on my images. Malcesine's own castle hosts many weddings even in October and there was one on when we visited the castle ourselves with another one in the wings waiting to start.
A charming hotel and a charming resort.

Room Tip: All are nice from what I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quasargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Malcesine – located on a small plaza just off the route that follows the lakeshore. Hotel is located on the right hand side of the road and has space for you to stop and unload bags. The parking lot is behind the bus station, quite a distance away and a bit difficult to find but not bad at all considering the good location of the hotel.(be careful not to park in the supermarket garage nearby). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was wonderful. Wifi worked in the lobby. We're so glad we chose this charming, historic town for our over-night stay in mid-October. We loved exploring the small streets and alleys, the harbor, the castle. Alpino is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Alpino for a week in early October on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there a couple of months earlier. The hotel lived up to our expectations and I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a modestly priced, friendly, family run hotel. It is centrally sited in the attractive small town of Malcesine and although it has two stars in our opinion it is at the top end of that rating. It is only minutes away from the little harbour, where ferries to other places on Lake Garda depart and within easy walking distance from the bus station. We didn’t have a car but presumably there is parking in the piazza opposite the hotel. Our room on the second floor had a tiny balcony which overlooked a quiet narrow side street with a sidewards view of the harbour. It was of an adequate size and clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space and a flat screen TV with BBC World available. The en suite bathroom had a shower, bidet, toiletries and a hair dryer.

We were on a B+B basis and the buffet breakfast included a good choice of juices, cereal, yogurt, croissants, pastries, toast, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses. We particularly enjoyed the bowl of fresh mixed fruit salad. We’ve stayed at more expensive hotels where only tinned fruit salad is provided. We had a couple of dinners at the adjoining hotel restaurant which had a good a la carte menu and a 10% discount for hotel guests. If you’re lucky, as we were, the proprietor may offer you a complementary liqueur of your choice! Otherwise there are plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from.

The hotel owners, Patrizia and her husband, were always on hand to answer our queries and to assist in any way. They will also arrange very reasonably priced transfers to and from Verona Airport if required. To sum up the Hotel Alpino is excellent value for money. You won’t get 4 star luxury but you will get a perfectly adequate and pleasant small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

So glad we chose this hotel, quite a gem. The room was a fair size, large bathroom (no bath)
but the shower cubicle was a little on the small size. We were able to throw open the doors onto the little balcony which was a bonus. Cleanliness standard was high throughout. Included buffet breakfast offered a good selection. We ate in the restaurant a few evenings, the food was good and we had a 10% discount. The staff were all so friendly and helpful especially Patrizia. She promptly answered a couple of queries we had before travelling. They also offer the best price on airport transfers which can be booked up to about five days before travel. We really enjoyed our stay and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Malcesine, travelling with Italian Getaways and staying in Hotel Alpino. We would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value for money and in a good, central location. Although rooms are small and the shower could do with updating, everything is spotless and the room cleaned and towels changed daily. Continental breakfast is plentiful and more than adequate. We ate in the restaurant most evenings as the food was good and we had 10 per cent discount; it was also full every evening which goes to show that it is popular with other holiday makers. Staff were friendly and helpful particularly Patrizia on reception.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#52 of 71 in Malcesine
235 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £73 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing