We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great Hotel...very hospitable, right in the center of all the action. Staff was very nice, kind and friendly and spoke English well.

Had an awesome time in Malcesine and thanks to the hotel. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the quiet room away from the restaurant. We did just that and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaspreetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    116
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
172
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is a little gem in beautiful Malcesine. The hotel is in a prime location close to everything. The service is excellent. The hotel is always very clean, staff is helpful and polite and the food is great. Breakfast was plentiful and was included in price. Patrizia on reception was always so helpful and pleasant. Malcesine is such a beautiful place and having this little gem to stay, we will defiantly think to go back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Malcesine in April to celebrate a family wedding and booked into the Hotel Alpino as a large family group age range 7mths to 75. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Dominico, Patrizia and the rest of the staff. The rooms were adequately equipped and cleaned daily with free safety deposit box and air con/heating. Kettles were also provided immediately on request I also required access to a fridge to store medicines again this was provides with no extra charge. The Hotel was kept spotlessly clean. They also have an ironing room available to guests. Breakfast is continental style but we always managed to find something to eat. 10% discount is given to hotel guests eating in the restaurant, we ate there twice and food was delicious on both occasions, the complimentary drink that Dominico offered also went down a treat! The hotel is classed as 2 star but we were definitely given 5 star treatment. Hotel Alpino is in a perfect central location close to the bus station and the waterfront, ideal for sightseeing. The views in Malcesine are beautiful and the whole party agreed we had never been to anywhere so outstandingly picturesque! Everything about this trip was amazing the hotel, the resort, the company and the fairy tale wedding at the castle! Would love to go back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located on Malcesine's central piazza, a short walk down the hill from the bus stop on the through road, the hotel is ideally situated for anyone wishing a short break in this pleasant, characterful lake settlement. The hotel owner and his friendly, efficient staff provide a cheerful welcome and are keen to help make your stay an enjoyable one. Our comfortable room was perfectly adequate in terms of space and bathroom facilities. Buffet breakfast provided a wide choice of breads, pastries, cakes, fruits, cold meats and cereals. With a discount for guests, it was a further incentive to have evening meal in the restaurant and judging by the number of diners it is one of the most popular, despite the competition from other establishments. Certainly there is a wide choice and portions were plentiful. All considered the hotel represents fine value.

Malcesine in mid-April is probably much quieter than in the summer, and in the evening bars and cafes were largely just ticking over. Day-time it appears to be a popular coach stop location, hence the souvenir shops. Its a good location from which to strike up into the surrounding slopes for some walks, or along the lakeside, and with regular ferry connections, you can visit settlements on the other side of the lake. From one of these, Limone, we then caught a bus up to Riva at the head of the lake and then another back to Malcesine, which made a decent independent day excursion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Been there 5 years in a row now, and they NEVER dissapoint! :)
Staff always remembers us, are sweet, smiling snd welcoming. Location is also PURE LUXUS in the middel of Malcesine. Food is also just perfect. Love this place, the food and the people.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in May, the hotel was in a great location, our third visit to Malcesine so we had a good idea of what to expect. Food was fantastic we stayed HB. Our host was chatty and the service excellent. Would go again as it was warm enough and not so busy as peak season

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was not expecting much as this is only a 2 star hotel, but it was convenient and reasonably priced for an Autumn break so we took a chance. How glad we were that we did take the chance. It was fabulous!! The hotel arranged a pickup and return trip to Verona Airport for 21 euros per person each way, which was put on our bill
The room we got was great with a little balcony which had a narrow view of the lake. It was warm,clean and well appointed. The bathroom was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a true family run hotel where nothing was too much trouble.
If you eat lunch or dinner in the hotel's restaurant you get a 10% discount. The food was so good, the portions so large, served on large 14 inch (36cms) plates quickly and with no problems that we ate in the hotel every night and some lunchtimes as well. The average we paid for two main meals with a litre of water was 22 euros and the portions were so large we could not eat a dessert.
The position of the hotel right in the centre of the town is so convenient especially for the Saturday Market and the boat ferries.
We went in Mid October and were very lucky with the weather which was warm,sunny and mild though there was a cold breeze in the evenings. This was our 5th visit to Malcesine yet we still found new things to do we had not done before. The ferry is about 200 yards from the hotel so we visited Limone for the weekly market, and went on the bus to Riva Del Garda and came back on the boat visiting the castle museum in Riva was interesting and an ice cream place at the harbour served the best home made ice cream I have ever tasted.
Going up Monte Baldo on the Cable Car should not be missed and although the wind was a bit cold the mountain air and sunshine was wonderful. We stopped at the chalet restaurant there for lunch and tucked ourselves out of the wind. The spot was perfect for sunbathing and I rolled up my tee shirt arms to catch a few rays. However we just had to try the hot Glu Wine, which was wonderful and made us hotter than ever, but with smiling faces.
The breakfasts were average, but adequate with all the usual fare, but Adriana the waitress after the first morning when I asked for decaff coffee, brought it to me very day without asking for no extra charge.
I would return to the Hotel Alpino now whenever we go back to Malcesine but the resort was very quiet so late in the season and no-one was about at night with only a few places open. However as a photographer I was glad to be without crowds of people on my images. Malcesine's own castle hosts many weddings even in October and there was one on when we visited the castle ourselves with another one in the wings waiting to start.
A charming hotel and a charming resort.

Room Tip: All are nice from what I could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quasargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#10 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#28 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Property: Hotel Alpino
Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing