We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy”
Review of Hotel Alpino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpino
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Hotel was a basic Italian hotel, and having been to a few, we knew not to expect anything grand. It was very clean. We asked for a quiet room, but alas the one we were given in the annex, at the back, was far from quiet, it was also dark. The noise came from revelers in the street at the front and residents in the alley at the back. The Italians don't go to bed until about 1 o'clock in the morning. We went to Malcesine at the height of the holiday season, which was a stupid mistake, as the place was heaving. It rained on two nights we were there and I had the best nights sleep of the holiday because it drove the people inside. The pillows were like hard blocks of rubber, which didn't help matters. Apart from this, it was a fair hotel.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows and ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

As the title says this hotel is in a great location, in the centre of Malcesine and very close to everything. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean and were kept that way during our stay by the hard working cleaners. The only 2 downsides are that the decor is of an older style and the furnishings basic (but then this is one of the cheapest hotels in Malcesine.) Also the wifi was intermittent and didn't work all the time. The breakfast was good and plentiful - usual continental style with toast, croissants, cereal, fruit etc. As others have said you get 10% off at the restaurant which is well worth visiting. Staff very friendly and helpful.

We are getting married in Malcesine next year and I have already recommended this hotel to some of our wedding guests who are on a budget but want somewhere central to stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank donz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in Malcesine and stayed at this wonder hotel.
All the staff were wonderful , the bedrooms clean and spacious ,and the food really good and if you are staying ta the hotel you get ten percent off the food and a complimentary drink every evening.It is in a really good spot for every thing weather you want the shops , lake ,bus ferry or boat trip .I would really reccomend it.

Room Tip: 115 at the side of the hotel this room is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location right in the centre of Malcesine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building is not modern and the rooms are rather small and outdated but they were very clean and very good value. Unfortunately, the wifi was very slow and regularly went offline and needed resetting by reception. The breakfast was very basic and continental. Hotel guests got a 10% dining discount. The meals were very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank florida7718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights whilst in Malcesine to attend our friends' wedding at the castle. The airport transfers that we arranged through the hotel were very reasonably priced and faultless. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the room, although small, was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of meats and bread. The only mishap we had was that we needed to check out at 8am to catch our flight. Reception was advertised as being staffed from 8, however, no one arrived until 8:20. We weren't made aware that it was possible to 'check out' the night before you leave. Now that we know this it wouldn't be a problem next time. Although we didn't get chance to eat in the hotel restaurant ourselves, many of the wedding party returned there night after night which speaks for itself. Great value for money overall and I would definitely stay at the hotel Alpino again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveoutholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just got back from the Alpino with lots of good memories of our stay there. Patrizia and Dominic were very kind and allowed us to move after a few days from our room in the annexe to room 202 in the main hotel when we asked for a front aspect overlooking the square with no fuss or hassle. We met Jockinafrock69 and his wife who wrote the review "a little gem" right after her accident when they returned to the annexe at the same time as us that evening. It's good to know they were taken care of so well, no surprise there. The staff worked very hard and were always attentive. We especially want to mention Adriana who was on duty every morning in the breakfast room, seemingly alone, ensuring everyone was happy, mopping up spills and breakages and replenishing food and drink as they ran out. This is a no frills hotel but very clean with great attention to detail and the air conditioning was very efficient. The restaurant was good, always busy but never too full and lots to choose from aside from pasta and pizza. I had curry one evening, we also had chicken and good steaks and their omelettes were the best. As for the location, it was perfect as a base for getting around the lake to other centres and a lovely place to come back to each day. We went up Monte Baldo in the cable car on our first day then watched it's progress from our balcony every day thereafter. Loved the market on Saturday mornings and the harbour which was just a few minutes walk from the hotel and often had live music there. All in all a great hotel in a great location,

Room Tip: We opted to move from the annexe to the main hotel with a room overlooking the square but this was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy107_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this little hotel, situated on the town square. We stayed for 10 nights in room 204 which has the bigger balcony and we watched whilst the Saturday market set up and then wandered down to a very adequate breakfast of pastries, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, toast and spreads accompanied by coffee, tea, juices, water. We too ate in the restaurant in the evening using our 10% reduction for guests and the meals were delicious! as was the Lambrusco! A complimentary licquer came afterwards too. All the staff are lovely and very helpful. We don't usually return to the same resort twice but if we do it will be to the Alpino. Thank you everyone, from Patrizia and Dominic to Christina who did a fine job of cleaning our room. A lovely friendly place. Good, efficient silent air con unit too, a nice change from rattling tincans! No extra charge for aircon, and a safe with key provided in room at no extra charge - absolute bargain. 1 hour from Verona by car, easily arranged by hotel at 21 euros each way. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 205 has the bigger balcony but the sun is not on it p.m. I would choose it again, lovely to wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibongo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpino

Address: Piazza Statuto 23, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpino 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Alpino Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing