We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, central hotel”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #13 of 35 Malcesine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel San Marco as we were in Malcesine for a friends wedding and I have to say we really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were spacious with good sized bathrooms and we had 2 rooms on the 1st floor which both had balconies overlooking the harbor. The hotel is in a great spot and everyone tended to meet us there as it was close to everything in the town. The staff were friendly and Sebastian was very helpful. There was a good selection for breakfast but you need to go early before the eggs disappear!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Clean, comfortable and located in the most central party of town. Rooms larger than average for Europe. Staff was not exceedingly friendly but available when needed. Breakfast average with good coffee, cheese and meat and yogurt. Lacking eggs and fresh fruit which seems skimpy considering an on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Would request top floors to avoid restaurant noise. No pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madisoniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed two nights in Malcesine at the San Marco. We arrived by bus from Verona and booked through the tourist info office at the station. We wanted central location, close the to tram and buses. The San Marco is in front of the ferry docks in the heart of town. The hotel is simple, but very clean. We chose a room facing the water. I thought it might be too noisy, but with the windows closed at night it was perfect. (a/c) The breakfast was typical with cereals, meats, cheese, eggs and various breads. They had a nice bar and restaurant facing the water. Great people watching. The staff was friendly and helped us when asked. I don't know where you would park a car, but there were garages nearby. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavakids2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have come to the conclusion that Malcesine is the optimum location on Lake Garda with its lake access to Limone and Riva and bus access to the daily markets down the east side of the lake, choice of restaurants and mountain backdrop.

The San Marco hotel could not be more central in Malcesine overlooking the harbour, is family run and upgraded rooms over 4 floors (with elevator). Its outside tables on two sides permits full view of passing pedestrian traffic and the coming and going of lake steamers and small craft while downing a Campari.

Rooms are spacious (the three we have seen or stayed in) with all uptodate fittings (except a soap dish in the shower,(still!). Double-glazing is brilliant for a good night's sleep, though early morning street cleaning vehicles emptying last night's bottles can be an unwelcome alarm call, even with the double-glazing.

Off site parking can be arranged, as can transport to airports like Verona.

If I have a negative comment to make, it is that I would have liked better quality breakfast fare: juices, choice of breads, coffee and cereals.

All in all, the san Marco suits us (our second visit) down to the ground but the staff will have to work on improving the weather in May next year. We now feel part of the Locrini family, all three generations, and are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try one of the rooms on the fourth floor (i.e. 42, 43 and perhaps 41) for rooftop relaxation and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyburtonReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have just returned from a friend's wedding in Malcesine and stayed in this hotel with two friends for 4 nights. The room was spotless and comfortable as well as being large enough for us to not feel we were on top of each other To be honest we were out most of the days and only needed the hotel to sleep in. Other reviewers said the hotel was noisy but - apart from guests coming late into their rooms and you could hear them passing by - we were not troubled by noise at night. We had breakfast one morning - adequate for a continental. The location was perfect with lots of places to sit outside and enjoy brunch, coffee or a beautiful Italian ice cream or two. We found the staff to be efficient when we needed them. Shared between 3 of us, the cost of the room was perfect. I cannot comment on the service as we did not eat here but lunches looked lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view over the lake - we were in a side room with a View of the street P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kevindebcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Perfect location in the centre of Malcesine, overlooking the harbour, rooms very clean, with ample space. The view from the room overlooking the lake is beautiful. Parking paid locally, car park just a few minutes away, however there is street parking which is free after 9pm, further down the road. We stayed for 3 nights with our son and future daughter in law, the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was typical cold meat, cheese, bread etc. a little more variety would have been nice. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been a bonus, as it was very wet when we stayed, a nice hot drink would have been very welcome, when we returned wet and cold. Overall this hotel was perfectly acceptable for our short stay, and the location could not have been any better.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room, a balcony room would be lovely in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelAlKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hotel san marco is having restaurant in is reception and all the smells from the kitchen goes to the rooms .
The rooms are very tiny and smells badly .
There is a lot of noise at the evening because the Hotel is located in front of the main beach and the noise is unbearable .
The staff of the hotel aren't simpatic and sometimes very rude ; they always tell you to be quiet because the restaurant is working .
There isn't parking infront of the Hotel ; if you come there you need to park at the main parking of Malcesine : 2 euro per hour or hope to find free parking infront of the church .

Room Tip: Don't book this Hotel , there are many good Hotels in Malcesine and the area around .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oded H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel san marco l, collaboratore at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

This customers arrived at the hotel already nervous, I dont know why, so we offer 2 type of rooms , but they still complain about smell in the rooms and about the parking.Our hotel has been renowated about 4 years ago and all the rooms have double glass windows , air condition and I can assure our rooms smell fresh and clean air.The hotel is located few meters from the water and in a pedestrian area, so is not possible to find park in the front of the hotel.Anyway ther is a parkin only 100mt from ...I cannot understand why this people can writebad rewiews about our hotel when they havent stay by us any nights!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Erika
Hotel Erika
#1 of 35 in Malcesine
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
3.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#60 of 71 in Malcesine
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via Capitanato 9, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Malcesine
Price Range: £89 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing