We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family run hotel”
Review of Albergo San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Remo
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family run hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We just got back from a week in Lake garda and we picked this hotel because of all the good reviews, the only thing we were worried about is that it was outside the town a bit but that wasn't an issue at all.. ill explain why in a bit.
We were greeted very warmly on our arrival and everything was explained to us about the room and breakfast etc.. the daughter of the family Martina speaks perfect english and although she said her mum and dad don't speak it very well we had no problems all week i think they speak it very well.
We were told where the sunbeds are stored and that we can take them and a brolly down to the beach which is literally across the road whenever we wanted which we did most afternoons for a relax and a swim in the lake. there are also bikes to borrow for free as well.

Getting into town is easy .... There is a bus at 10 too every hour right outside the hotel and it costs 1 euro it takes you right into town (about a 5 minute drive) then it returns from across where it dropped you off at 20 past every hour we used it regularly.
The restaurant at the hotel is fantastic, the food is really good and the prices are the same as anywhere in town we ate here 3 nights during our stay and loved it every time.

Breakfast is a good mix of cereals and bread/ brioches and a lovely scrambled egg dish with bacon and cheese in (very nice)

this is truly value for money and we would deffo stay here again.. Oh the rooms have really good aircon and blackout electric blinds so you will have no trouble sleeping whatever the weather.
The only thing i wish id known was that you have to pay extra for a lake view/balcony room and we would of done this had we known but its a minor thing as we sat on the beach most afternoons anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan-perry83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mandal, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is situated near the Garda lake, and near the beach. It is a small family driven hotel, with bar and restaurant in 1st floor, and rooms in 2nd and 3rd floor. Big nice rooms, that are clean, tidy, and modern. Our room had nice view over the lake.
The restaurant has good food, and the pizza was superp!
Staff was friendly and laid back, and made you stay as good as possible. Free bicycles for lent, and free sun beds for the beach.
Only minus was the nearby road you had to cross to come to the beach.
Malcesine is a nice city only 3 km away. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Albergo San Remo is a gem of a place. I had the pleasure of staying there for 4 night at the beginning of August 2012 and found it to be a wonderful , hospitable place.
Martina, the owners daughter, speaks excellent english and was very forthcoming with information for the buses etc to and from Malcesince, which stop just outside the door.
Free WIFI, free bikes, free sunbeds and free sun umbrella's as well as an amazing breakfast and service give this albergo the feel of a 4/5 star establishment rather than its official 3.
There is a shop next door, the beach across the road and the views are amazing.
My room was spotless, serviced every morning, simple but pretty decor and had aircon (no surcharge)
The best compliment I can give the restaurant/pizzaria is that it was full justifiably full to capacity everynight.
A really marvellous place that I look forward to staying in again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMcGuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

went there with my family for 1 week relax at the Lago.
Nice appartment, clean and okay. Smal but with a nice huge balcony to the lake front.
Friendly owner. Free sunchairs and free bicycles.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Rented apartment no.1, the one with lake view, just 50 meters behind the hotel itself. A bargain for families up to 6 members (3x doublebed). Temperatures above 30 degrees so AC for 7 Euros a day is worth the extra cost. Excellent service at the hotel, free bike rental and sunbeds, and the hotel restaurant is highly recommended (pizza and pasta from around 8-9 Euros (go for the "Pasta with seafood", it's a winner). Water temp. in early July around 20 degrees. In June I guess it's too cold for swimming.
The surrounding towns like Malcesine and Limone is like having Lucca by the sea, stunning! One hour drive to Gardaland and Movieland for those who need some extra entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtbNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Request balcony room as lovely views and plenty of "people watching" when too hot to do anything! Fun watching the wind surfers.
On road, but no problem with traffic, did not hear anything in the night.
Walk into Malcesine along lake about 3/4 hour, level walk.
Restaurant okay in hotel but also one just up the road for a change.
Lake Garda is so beautiful. Went with family to daughter's wedding, which was fabulous.
Family run hotel and daughter speaks English, rather brusque.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tauntoncross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Good hotel in beautiful place. We stayed in apartments, whits are very nice and clean (about 2 years old rooms). Apertmens rooms are behind the hotel, put all of them has litle or quite good lake wiew.

Hotels own reustaurant was good with frieendly staff. Good beach at front of the hotel. Small shop is near

You can walk through the beutiful beach road to the Malcesine centter (3km) Or take free bikes from hotel.

Sail and surfschools are near (1,5km) (http://www.wwwind.com) where yo can also rent boats.

Malcesine is a good location to stay in Garda Lake because there is a lift to mont Balboa
where you can feel the reel alp atmosphere.

Only small minus is the road wich goes front of the hotel. Put its not very busy. and cars drive mainly slow. evenings are peacefully. Many hotel has the same thing.

I think Malcesine is a heaven for people who want at day time enjoy sports (surf, sail, bike, mounttainbike, hiking, golf, tennis... (www.360sport.net) and at the evening have nice dinner and drinks in a beautiful old city of malcensine.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_JackFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#16 of 71 in Malcesine
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
394 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Remo

Property: Albergo San Remo
Address: Via Campagnola 26, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo San Remo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Remo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing