We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly hotel”
Review of Albergo San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo San Remo
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Albergo San Remo very much. It was the perfect place to discover Lake Garda for the first time.

The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. We could rent free bikes during our stay, This way we were very quickly in the center of Malcesine. The restaurant served lovely pizzas (favorite=Carlotta). Also breakfast was nice with homemade bread and prosecco. You should definitely try out the delicious Panini (pizza crust).

The rooms are cleaned very well every day!

I hope to visit this nice family-run- hotel again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice and clean budget room, with excellent air con and electric blinds. TV was very small and I could only get it to work on one channel but not really an issue for me as I was out of the room for most of the time.

The hotel is 3km outside of Malcesine at a little bay called Loc Campagnola. This isn't a huge issue though as it is a 30 min walk along the lakeside or a €1 bus ride (every hour) to Malcesine itself. Again not an issue for me, but for people older or with kids this is something to consider.

Loc Campagnola itself is a lovely little spot with stunning views of the western sections of the lake.

Food at the hotel was nice. Breakfast was your usual continental selection, and although it was nothing more than average it was included in the price of the room so did its job. Pizza from the hotel was great, and you can takeaway to eat on the beach itself. I enjoyed the pasta too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This comment is related only to apartments, not the hotel itself (which is a bit more expensive). In general the rooms are clear, and the bathrooms are quite new. There's also a good kitchen annex you can use with a lot of pots. The kettle was only missing thing. TV was too small to watch it. Additionally, there are bicycles and deckchairs for the beach.

In general 3km to the Malcesine is quite too far for the dinner walk, but this is the only option since pizza from hotel restaurant was rather poor.

To the disadvantages I would count the unpleasant lady from the hotel. Additionally, the strange sofa in the 4 person apartment turned out to be bunk bed (http://albergosanremo.it/img/fotografie/app5.jpg?rand=109179725) ! Therefore it was not acceptable for the couple as we were not brave enough to sleep underneath this strange mechanism...

Room Tip: 4 person apartment is actually for 3 people due to poor sofa system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wastek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormeau, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a great family run hotel. The staff were great, rooms small, but clean. Whilst not in the town of Malcesine , a small tourist bus stop is just outside the hotel. The walk to town is quite easy and a lovely walk along the lake. Breakfast was included and served up variety of options, cereal, eggs, pastries, ham,cheese, fruit , yogurt. The Pizzeria served up great food for lunch and dinner, the wood fired pizza's a favourite. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great during our stay, but we enjoyed the cable car ride to Mt Baldo and a ferry ride to Limone.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjcaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We just got back from a week in Lake garda and we picked this hotel because of all the good reviews, the only thing we were worried about is that it was outside the town a bit but that wasn't an issue at all.. ill explain why in a bit.
We were greeted very warmly on our arrival and everything was explained to us about the room and breakfast etc.. the daughter of the family Martina speaks perfect english and although she said her mum and dad don't speak it very well we had no problems all week i think they speak it very well.
We were told where the sunbeds are stored and that we can take them and a brolly down to the beach which is literally across the road whenever we wanted which we did most afternoons for a relax and a swim in the lake. there are also bikes to borrow for free as well.

Getting into town is easy .... There is a bus at 10 too every hour right outside the hotel and it costs 1 euro it takes you right into town (about a 5 minute drive) then it returns from across where it dropped you off at 20 past every hour we used it regularly.
The restaurant at the hotel is fantastic, the food is really good and the prices are the same as anywhere in town we ate here 3 nights during our stay and loved it every time.

Breakfast is a good mix of cereals and bread/ brioches and a lovely scrambled egg dish with bacon and cheese in (very nice)

this is truly value for money and we would deffo stay here again.. Oh the rooms have really good aircon and blackout electric blinds so you will have no trouble sleeping whatever the weather.
The only thing i wish id known was that you have to pay extra for a lake view/balcony room and we would of done this had we known but its a minor thing as we sat on the beach most afternoons anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan-perry83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is situated near the Garda lake, and near the beach. It is a small family driven hotel, with bar and restaurant in 1st floor, and rooms in 2nd and 3rd floor. Big nice rooms, that are clean, tidy, and modern. Our room had nice view over the lake.
The restaurant has good food, and the pizza was superp!
Staff was friendly and laid back, and made you stay as good as possible. Free bicycles for lent, and free sun beds for the beach.
Only minus was the nearby road you had to cross to come to the beach.
Malcesine is a nice city only 3 km away. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Albergo San Remo is a gem of a place. I had the pleasure of staying there for 4 night at the beginning of August 2012 and found it to be a wonderful , hospitable place.
Martina, the owners daughter, speaks excellent english and was very forthcoming with information for the buses etc to and from Malcesince, which stop just outside the door.
Free WIFI, free bikes, free sunbeds and free sun umbrella's as well as an amazing breakfast and service give this albergo the feel of a 4/5 star establishment rather than its official 3.
There is a shop next door, the beach across the road and the views are amazing.
My room was spotless, serviced every morning, simple but pretty decor and had aircon (no surcharge)
The best compliment I can give the restaurant/pizzaria is that it was full justifiably full to capacity everynight.
A really marvellous place that I look forward to staying in again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMcGuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Azzurra
Hotel Vela Azzurra
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#65 of 71 in Malcesine
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Remo

Property: Albergo San Remo
Address: Via Campagnola 26, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo San Remo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Remo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing