We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfull hoilday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Aurora
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
rhondda valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderfull hoilday”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We booked last minute and had a great offer 500 for the two of us what a bargin .we,ve stayed in garda we thought that was lovely but malcesine is even better. I enjoyed the bus trip from the airport to the hotel along the lake though it took 2 hours i didnt mind the hotel is in a beauitful square .cafes all around very quaint our room was very clean with shutters over looking the square i loved the italian music coming from the bars we went for a short walk to the lake it was stunning .breakfast was very good and very nice owners the room was cleaned very day i couldnt fault any thing Do vist venice well worth the money riva is just a short bus ride away and limone is a boat trip across the lake we spent the day there very diffrent from any where ive been . Hope this has been helpfull to you HAPPY HOILDAYS

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaynewales10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    29
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one week. Small family run hotel. Landlady speaks very little English but is extremely accomodating. Her son, Roberto, does speak English and again is very helpful. Rooms quite small but then I don't go on holiday to spend my days in the room. Very clean. Our room overlooked the square at the front which on our first night was really noisy as there was a football match on and people were in the square outside the hotel cheering, etc - closing the window was very effective and dulled the noise considerably. We were offered a room at the back but preferred to have this room for the views. Recommend you eat at the Gondoliere restaurant to the right of the hotel as this was the best we found - quite expensive but worth it for a treat. Also, the cafe/bar on the right as you leave the hotel had the best service and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Booked through Crystal holidays and it was located in Malcesine approx 100 metres from the lakeside in a small square and very central. The Aurora is a small family run hotel and classed as 2 star in the brochure. This review is based on the 2 stars as signs in the area rate it as a 1 star. I think some work has been carried out since the 1 star rating was given.
The rooms are a reasonable size (We expected them to be small but were pleasantly surprised) with a dressing table / mirror. Two chairs, one double wardrobe with two drawers, plenty of hangers, two bedside units with 2 drawers each and one luggage stand. The double bed was 2 singles put together and very comfortable. The TV (14”) had satellite with 4 English speaking news channels. Also German, French and Italian channels. Air con unit in the room was quite quiet, controlled from reception and on at the time of our visit. The bedroom floor was laminate wooden.
Bathroom – Long and narrow, shower at one end, then large sink, bidet and toilet. Fully tiled and very clean. Shower cubicle was a touch small but water pressure was very strong and plenty of hot water when needed. The bathroom area lacked an extraction fan. Towels supplied were changed regularly but were very rough. The quality of all fitments suggested that the rooms had been renovated recently and the whole room was very clean and cleaned daily. I think the bed sheets were changed once during our 7 day stay. The room had a view over the Piazza which was nice but did present some noise issues. There were 4 bars / restaurants in the square and plenty more nearby at night. Windows when closed did keep most of the noise out and the room walls were quite soundproofed as we hardly heard anything from the rest of the guests.
The Hotel only provided bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent and the staff could not do enough to help. Bread, Ham & Cheese, Eggs (scrambled or boiled), Croissants, jam, butter, nutella, yoghurt, orange juice and any type of hot drink.
The Hotel does not have a lift and the door keys for the rooms appeared to fit all rooms as some late arrivals found their way into our room whilst we were in bed!!

  • Liked — Clean, central, friendly people, breakfast
  • Disliked — OK for 7 days, No sun tarrace, no lounge area for guests.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ålgård, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Excellent location, kindly staff, beautiful town, good breakfast with good service. We´ll be back!

  • Liked — Kindly staff, great wine, ok prices, beautiful mountains
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Myself and my wife arrived at Malcesine and were astonished at the welcome we received at the Hotel Aurora.The hotel isn't especially large and is a family run business,but the people who run this establishment are truly wonderful.

The Lake Garda region is exceptionally beautiful,and Malcesine is the sort of place where unaccompanied ladies can walk at night feeling perfectly safe.It's a fantastic family destination,and if you want to sit up soaking in the atmosphere and have great food (or alcoholic beverages!) until around 2.30 a.m. I can't think of a better place to go.

But my greatest thanks go to the family Trimeloni-the hotel itself may not be 5 star rated but the service they gave us was well beyond any star rating,they were the true stars!

I have only one reservation,and that is I saw no lift on the premises (Maybe I missed it!),so those who have a problem with mobility might need to contact them prior to booking.

In all other respects I have nothing but praise for the Aurora and thoroughly recommend it. We intend to return as soon as it is practicable.

Arriverderci Malcesine and the Aurora!

A thousand thank you's from Dorian and Julie!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DandJfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Arrived at this hotel on an alllacation on arrival. We were pleased with the location of the hotel and the cleaniness throughout. The owners are friendly and we had a back room which was quiet. Breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about. If you are looking for a clean no frills hotel in centre then this hotel fits the bill. The only thing i missed was a balconly to sit on in the evenings.

  • Liked — spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — no balcony
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Aurora for 4 nights at the beginning of May. The hotel is small family run and spread over three floors (without lift). It is well situated in in the heart of the town in a small square which is surrounded by shops bars and restaurants. Although our ensuite room was small, it was on the top floor and at the rear of the building so we weren't troubled by any noise form the bars and restaurants in the square. The bed was large and comfy and although the en suite was tiny, the shower was hot and powerful enough, even though the bracket holding the shower arm itself was broken. The breakfast was 'contintental' based but included bread, croissants butter and jams; yoghurt, cheese and hams with boiled eggs offered; fruit juice and coffee or tea (although the italians have yet to learn the art of english tea). The proprietor and his family were all extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and, as like a previous reviewer, we had an early departure and a special breakfast on a tray was prepared the night before, incuding coffee in thermos, fruit juice, croissants, and jams. As the hotel itself is small, the rooms can suffer from the bathrooms of one room being adjacent to the bedrooms of others - but as long as everyone staying there is considerate (and has similar timings with their abluting habits) its all fine (we did however suffer one night with our nearest neighbour - Brits). Malcesine is a great resort for a short break. We had some great pasta - especially at the nearby restaurant Aristotle (again family run with small menu (only really fresh salad to start and the husband making fresh pasta or pizza dishes to order). There are many small bars scattered throughout and along the alley ways and passages, with good beers and wines. Unsurprisingly (I suppose given its proximity to Austria) there is a strong germanic prescence amongst the tourists, represented by signs and menus given in german as often as itailian and weissbier being almost the tipple of choice. The journey up the mountain on the gondola is well worth the trip (some great views and walks) and its easy to get across and around the lake, particularly to Limone (almost opposite). Overall we were able to find many places where the prices were surprisingly low - providing great value for money at a time when the euro is so strong against the pound. And finally (on the matter of money) we can confirm that there is one ATM situated at the harbour (close to the ferry ticket office) - as this seems to have been a concern expressed by others in the forum.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Next doors adjacent bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#35 of 70 in Malcesine
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#46 of 70 in Malcesine
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#51 of 70 in Malcesine
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Aurora

Property: Albergo Aurora
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele 10, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Aurora Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing