We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two years on and just as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Two years on and just as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've just returned from a two week stay at the Casa Barca with my wife, on a trip booked through Thomson. This is our second visit to this excellent hotel, having previously stayed in 2012. We were so impressed with the hotel then that we were determined to return, hence our return visit this year.

Having reviewed the hotel extensively two years ago, there is not a great deal I can add to what I and many other reviewers of this hotel have said already,

It is just about the perfect small family run hotel, Just 30 rooms and run with genuine care and attention to detail by the owners and a friendly, dedicated team of staff,

It's ideally located, on a quiet panoramic road leading up into the hills behind the town, with great views of the town and lake, a short walk into town but quiet enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. Set on the hillside surrounded by perfectly maintained grounds and extensive olive groves, the hotel exudes a feeling of luxury, charm and tranquillity.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped (although my wife found the beds to be a bit hard).
The majority of rooms have a full lake view and we stayed in one of these "executive" rooms on our previous stay. On this trip we opted for one of the two or three slightly cheaper "superior" rooms with just a side lake view. Although our room on our previous stay (No. 2) was marginally better, our room on this occasion (No. 1) was almost equally good and still had a balcony with a good side view of the lake.

Breakfast was excellent and could be taken either in the sunny breakfast room or out on comfortable armchairs on the terrace. There is no restaurant for evening meals, although this is no great hardship and if anything adds to the calm, relaxed feel of the hotel. There are innumerable good restaurants and pizzerias to suit all budgets in the town a short walk away.

The hotel is incredibly well kept by owners and staff who take genuine pride in what they do. The facilities include; a lovely pool area, a smart modern bar, a decent gym, spa facilities including sauna, spa bath and massage and a stunning roof terrace.

In summary our second stay at this hotel simply served to reinforce the view we formed on our previous stay. This is one of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in and, as Malcesine is a delightful lakeside town, we hope to return here sometime in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but it's probably worth the extra for a full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GandN896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
403
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family (me and my wife, two teenage boys) stayed here for a week at the beginning of August 2014. We honestly couldn't fault the hotel at all: great location, amenities, views, breakfast - and above all friendly but unintrusive service. Some friends had recommended the hotel to us as a real find: we definitely agree.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is fantastic . We stayed 2 August 2014 for a week. It is really very very clean and modern , family run with friendly staff . Breakfasts are wonderful and can be had on the terrace with good lake views. They do not do evening meals, but you can get a fairly average snack. The wine list was surprisingly poor though.We thought the pool was brilliant but did not use the wellness facilities. The roof terrace is amazing. Beds were comfortable and spacious and bedding and towels constantly changed. It is only a short walk to town so is perfectly placed . The only complaint we had was that no decent breakfast was provided when we left at 7.45 on our last Saturday, despite us advising the hotel. Overall though I would not hesitate in staying there again.. Great value.

Room Tip: Get a room with full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were delighted by this hotel which offered exceptional service given its relatively modest price.

It's a family-run hotel and the staff were pleasant, engaged, and knowledgeable. They took us for tour of the hotel on arrival and made us feel very welcome indeed.

There is a fabulous little terrace on the top floor looking down at the lake and over to the mountains. Very relaxing, especially early in the morning when no one is around.

Breakfast was outstanding - usual Italian fare and a huge array of machines to make a wide range of hot and cold drinks!

Pool noise might be a bit of an issue for some, but we didn't hear it. The pool is closed at 2000 which helps. We had a balcony which was pleasant but wasn't particularly private.

Easy parking right in front of the hotel or in their adjacent parking area. The hotel is a bit of a climb from the centre of town (not really the "stone's throw" promised in their marketing) but it is only a few minutes really.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnONeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel from 23rd June 2014.
It is a relatively small hotel which is probably not suitable for a family with small children as there are no kids clubs or childrens' activities. So it is more suitable for couples or families with older children.
The hotel has a small reception area, bar and pool to the front of the hotel.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and gowns and slippers are provided.
The hotel does not offer dinner. The breakfast is very good in the area of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meat and cheeses, as well as some cakes/croissants. The hot food is limited to scrambled eggs, bacon(ham) and frankfurter-type sausages as well as boiled eggs.
If you are flying into Verona, the hotel will book a taxi for you at about half the cost you would pay normally. Also there is a bus from the airport that travels all the way up the east of the lake to Riva. The bus stop in Malcesine is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
It is a family run hotel and all of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I could not imagine going to ay other hotel in Malcesine after staying in the Casa barca

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is one of the most wonderful hotels we have ever stayed in. We spent 7 nights here during the time we got married at Malcesine Castle. The hotel has everything it can offer from a steam room, sauna, hydro-therapy pool, reflexology and everything you would generally expect from a typical spa. The spa treatments were amazing. It was as good as going to a world class spa itself. We stayed in one of the suites with an beautiful view of the lake (I believe all rooms have a view of the lake). The room was absolutely huge which a king size bed, a sofa, an office area (including a laptop). Not only that, there were 3 steps that lead to a separate dressing room which featured another sofa, a couple of chairs, a dining table, a dressing table, a walk in wardrobe, as well as a quite a spacious bathroom. Four other friends also stayed in the same hotel and shared our same wonderful experience. Claudio (whom is part of the family which owns the hotel) was very charming and hospitable and very funny too! He was very helpful like the rest of the staff in general. He really made us feel very welcome. If there was a downside to our stay, this would come in the shape of the night manager whom during our stay never seemed to smile (maybe he was a typical security guard in his former job). The people we travelled with said it was the best hotel they ever stayed in. On the whole the hotel cleanliness is an absolute credit to the staff and the Bertuzzi familia. Having a glass of prosecco for breakfast really set us up for a wonderful day. If you wish to spend some time in Malcesine then Casa Barca is THE PLACE to stay. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Definitely book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Views, location, breakfast, bedroom, pool - all perfecto! Small hotel, just 5-10 minutes walk from main town. Any nearer town and you would either be on main road or in busy noisy streets.
Lovely fresh choices for breakfast with Prosecco every morning for me and tiramisu every morning for him. Yummy! Had same table allocated every morning which was facing a wall, so would suggest they move numbers around so we could enjoy the views! Was a bit jealous of those by the window!
Pool was cool, but refreshing for the hot days, and brollies to hire for the rainy days. It is a lakes region so rain should be expected. We will most definitely come back and have recommended it to all our family.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzlle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
8.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellness Hotel Casa Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Casa Barca

Property: Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Address: Via Panoramica 15, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellness Hotel Casa Barca 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barca, which was completely renovated in 2007, lies embedded in an olive grove of 4500 square meters and it is only a stone's throw away from the historic old town and the lake. The guests can enjoy the privilege of a rejuvenating and relaxing atmosphere.The modern design is the perfect starting point for a holiday under the motto of comfort and physical wellness.Our new health spa will help you to make your dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellness Hotel Casa Barca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo Casa Barca Wellness
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing