We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, just go.”
Review of Luke's Kitchen

Luke's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kuaotunu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Rustic Beach side Caffe/ Restaurant/ Bar with a million dollar view. Serves Local coffee, fresh seafood, amazing sunsets and Wood fired pizzas. Checkout our latest addition being the trading post with organic produce, local fruit and vege for sale. WINTER HOURS: CAFE OPEN EVERYDAY 8am - 3pm KITCHEN OPEN - Friday, Saturday & Sunday 11am - 9pm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome, just go.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Love it. Been there numerous times now, love the atmosphere, the food, all the staff are great and clearly care about their jobs. Took some friends there from Oz even though we were staying in Whitianga but it was well worth the taxi journey and they loved it too. I just hope it doesnt get too popular!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threemileisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    79
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is our standard dinner stop on the way to Opito Bay and always a great way to start a holiday. Pacific Chix is our go to, and never disappoints. Food is great, atmosphere is welcoming, Luke's is awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gruffalomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were back at Luke's Kitchen for dinner on Easter Saturday. The place was crowded and spilling over into the café next door, which was closed, but the outdoor tables were available. We had a friend with us and one of the "Locals" joined us. He introduced us to the "Never Fails" Fish Pizza. We introduced him to the Squid Rings. Both were fantastic.
There was a local band playing. The music was excellent, and the volume was just right. We could hear the music, but we could still carry on a conversation. A brief shower scudded across the bay just before we left. We simply shifted the table under shelter. Nobody minded. In spite of the crowd, the service was efficient and very friendly.
Another wonderful meal at a quirky, laid-back restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza and great views”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We visited Saturday lunchtime on a beautiful sunny day. Great setting with fantastic view of the ocean and hills beyond. Had beer and a pizza for lunch. Definitely one of the best pizzas we've ever had. Thin base, generous toppings and perfectly cooked.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“what a turn up for the better!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very little choice in Kuaotonu when you want a meal but our host Alistair at Stargazers B&B said Luke’s Kitchen was the place to eat and Paul Carberry of New Zealand in Depth had also said look out for it, I looked it up on tripadvisor read the comments about this bohemian venue and Sue & I trundled off down the road. Early evening sun dropping in the sky, sat under the sun shades watching the sea, the sun setting over a glass of very acceptable Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and waited whilst the garlic bread (cooked in front of our own eyes in their wood pizza oven) & dips, cocoanut covered prawns and fresh fish chowder were served to start off the meal, fish & chips to follow although the toss up on mussels or more pizza, with a great choice of toppings had been a tussle, don’t expect Savoy service standards or starched linen, do expect great food served in a bohemian fashion at a great price, by smiling helpful staff and you won’t be at all disappointed, great experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luke's Kitchen also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Luke's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing