We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Murmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Murmann
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. Close to the beach, great pool area and very clean. The staff were excellent, polite and friendly. The bar was enjoyable and served excellent snacks with drinks. There is a top deck with superb sunsets over the coast. Costing of the stay was also top value. Thanks guys, my wife and I had an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Hotel is ok - rooms, breakfast all tidy enough. The staff.....some of the most obnoxious I have ever met. In short we only stayed a night but even if I had booked a week I would have only stayed for a night. No mention that the pool was closed so after a long drive there was no chance of a refreshing dip - when I mentioned this at reception the "gentleman" struggled as he did not speak English - fair enough as I was in Italy, I thought until when he thought I had left he started to talk to his mate in English! Lets just say when I came back and asked him to repeat what he had said his face was a picture. In short he was lucky my wife was present. In short if you stay in Maratea stay somewhere else.......anywhere else!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The rooms were spotless and of good size. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. It is family run which very much comes across. Nice pool and terrace. Very close to the beach. They do snacks at lunchtime (quite good) but don't have a restaurant. Instead their sister restaurant just down the road is excellent and great value. We'd advise not to bother with the special package and just go a la carte. It's pretty much the same price but you have more choice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank D895123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We enjoyed a 7-night stay in one of the 'Deluxe' rooms with sea view, an experienced much enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the beach and a couple of decent restaurants, and the port area is also within walking distance, but a car is really needed to reach the interesting old town of Maratea and its better range of shops and restaurants. The bedroom was clean, bright and functional, but didn't really measure up to the 'deluxe' description - the furniture was minimal and laminated, there were no easy chairs or cushions and only a single chair on the balcony, and worst of all the bed had the hardest mattress of any hotel we've ever stayed in. The manager was genuinely concerned when we raised this and went to some trouble to try and improve it by providing a quilt under the bottom sheet, which made the bed tolerable but still not comfortable, but there was really nothing else he could do.
We rate this hotel as high as four stars mainly because of the friendly and helpful staff, the convenient location and because overall it was good value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had 6 nights in this hotel in September 2012. The hotel located in Communa of Maratea- village Fiumicello. The Town Maratea is upper in mountains. Fiumicello is little village with one main street.
End of september is end-seasons and hotel was quiet and not full. The beach is in 5-10 min on foot downhill, but at return way you have to climb up.
Rooms and bathroom are new enough and clean. Personal is very good. Free wi-fi is only at holl of reception.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank NataLeonidovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Murmann, the staff were very nice and helpful. we where planning on renting a boat and the staff ordered it for us, and very helpful in giving info on everything we asked for.

the hotel has a cosy lobby bar, clean swimming pool, and the rooms are nice.They have a deal with one of the local restaurants, cheap and alot of good food!

Its located not far from the beach or the port.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reccescout2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband & I have one regret about our stay at Hotel Murmann and that is because we only stay 4 nights.
The hotel is priced well. Hotel rooms are very clean and modern. You will find the staff extremely helpful and are always happy to help you organise your next day activities.
There are a few restaurants within walking distance and it is an easy walk either to the marina area or to the beach.
Maratea is an area that I would recommend having a rental car if you are staying for a few days as the surrounding areas are well worth visiting. Yes, with a car you could easily spend 7 or more days discovering the area.

Room Tip: select a front facing room with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytimenow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
1 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
0.2 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maratea
114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Martino
Hotel Martino
#6 of 15 in Maratea
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmann

Address: Via Fiumicello 2 | Via Conte Stefano Rivetti di Val Cervo, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murmann 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Fiumicello, few steps away from the beach. Thanks to its peculiar location, guests will enjoy a marvelous panoramic sight of the Statue of Christ the Redeemer and of the Coast. Completely renovated in 2009 the Hotel offers a relaxing and intimate atmosphere guaranteeing to all the Guests a pleasant stay. The spectacular setting and a selected and highly professional staff will welcome guests and make their stay memorable. The Hotel: The Hotel offers to its guests a Modern Pool, with Solarium and Relax area in the Garden, where guests can sip a chilly cocktail prepared by our talented bartenders. Hotel services: Small pets allowed with extra charge Internet - Point Wi-Fi Area Panoramic Terrace Lounge Bar 24h Pool and Solarium Relax Area Parking spaces  Secretarial Service Luggage Storage Free newspapers Affiliated Restaurant Excursions. Accommodations: Our 39 comfortable and spacious rooms (Standard, Superior and Deluxe) with a gorgeous view over the Tyrrenhian sea and The Statue of Christ the Redeemer are equipped to the highest standards including balcony, private bathrooms, air conditioning and heating adjustable from the room, telephone, LCD TV, minibar, hairdryer and a complete courtesy set. We have four restaurants partners and one beach also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing