We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Hotel Murmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Murmann
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
romania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

hotel located at aprox 5-10 minutes walk to the beach (downhill-uphill). Nice lobby, rooms, staff, good reception services. make sure you book in advance parking for your vehicle, (against charge), otherwise parking the car would be a challenge. The location is hidden and difficult to find, but the scenic beauties are worth the effort. the internet is wireless, free, but works in the hotel lobby only. breakfast is... italian, light. :) Restaurants, shops, businesses close at noon for the siesta, if you are hungry the only option is a fast-foodish bar-restaurant on the beach. The city of Maratea is accesible by local bus, 10 minutes ride, they come once or twice an hour. Overall very good experience with this hotel, i recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    146
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
60
236
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel markets itself as a 4* Hotel but is in reality 3*. It has no restaurant, a basic continental serve yourself breakfast, no in room wifi, a miniscule shower and hard beds. It is clean and modern with small balconies giving distant sea views. Staff are friendly when you can find them. It is completely lacking in atmosphere but serves as a competent stopover for travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels and Rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated at the bottom edge of a hillside village which has its feet in the sea. The coast is spectacular as are the mountains behind and this hotel is a perfect place from which to explore or simply to stay and enjoy what is on offer locally. It is not particularly cheap but good value for money. The rooms are good, not luxurious, but spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is well stocked. There is not a lot of parking in the area but I always found a space in the cul de sac behind the hotel - although the hotel has a limited number of parking spaces available against payment of a supplement.

I liked the terrace at the entrance where one can chill out. There is also a swimming pool, but I preferred the sea.

The manager, Antonio Mufanò, is a most friendly and professional person and he has transmitted these qualities to his staff members. He has arrangements with a number of local restaurants at which (for 26€ a head plus wine) hotel guests can eat very well. He also occasionally organises interesting exhibitions of local/client artists' work on the premises.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for good and comfortable accommodation with friendly and helpful service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Murmann is your base for the best beach vacation you will ever have. Last year after we had spent 10 days at the Four Seasons in Hawaii (Lanai), I thought i had found the perfect summer beach vacation. We left saying to ourselves what a perfect time --- it cost but it was perfect. The hotel Murmann is not the Four Seasons, but it does not try to be or pretend it is. But after you leave this place (we spent 10 days) you will say this: I'm coming back next year and brining friends and family!

First comments about the hotel. The rooms are a good size for Europe. We faced over the pool into the mountains. The rooms are nicely appointed --- simple but nice. The washrooms are probably oversized by Italian standards. The hotel rooms, lobby etc. are extremely clean. It is also very quite.

In the morning you will have breakfast in a nice patio in the front of the hotel It is your standard fair for Europe but it is a pleasant way to start each day. Antonio the manager is there. He is an extremely nice man and is very proud of the area; he can help you select from the 20 beaches that are 5km north or south of you. You can also walk to a beach (5-10 minute) walk that is just down from the hotel.

The hotel also offers a great meal plan --- about 24 euros per person. They have arranged a three course meal with about 4 restaurants --- 2 in the port that provide you beautiful views , great service. The other two are close to the hotel and feature more meat and pastas. The meals will consist of a pasta dish, fish/meat or salad. The wine your on your own --- half litres at these restaurants can go as low as 4 euro (for house wine) to fit in the ten euro range. We would indulge in a local bottle that ran about 18 euro per 1 litre bottle --- fantastic wine from the area featuring german grapes. Let Antonio know your food preferences, he will work with restaurants for you. Both he and the local owners really want you to be happy during your stay --- open up a bit and you will be rewarded with great service/ second to none.

Dont want to do meal; don',t no pressure from the hotel, but you will see based on prices its a good arrangement. However, be aware there are NO tourist menus in Maratea. There are english ones, but the feature the same food and prices as locals. So those who have travelled in Europe and fear the the launching of the "tourist menu" put your concerns away --- its one menu for all local and visitors!

We went to about 8 of the 20 beaches here; each one different, each one more beautiful than the next --- volcanic beaches, grottos, cliffs, a dry beach with castle, beach with massive rock formations. The Murmann is a two minute walk to the grocery store --- a great place where locals shops. They will make you a picnic feast for two for under 8 euros --- sandwiches, cheeses, fruit etc.

The beaches will charge you on average 15 euro's for two chairs and an umbrella. They all have service and washrooms. The beaches are far from overrun, in fact you could almost call them quiet. Its like your own private paradise.

This is the key to the Murmann and Maratea, it is not overrun. In fact its as time has forgotten this place. Don't get me wrong, you will have all modern services, but you wont be overrun by modern life here. )There is a bank, phramacy and small hospital within two minute walk of Murmann) After our stay at the Murmann we left for 2 days on capri. We spent two to three times the money and looked each other and said --- Maratea is far more beautiful, food is better, and the rates are a fraction of the cost. Why?

One day, hopefully not too soon, travellers to Italy will discover the gem that is Maratea and the Murmann 2 hours south of Naples. I hope for the local people I met in Maratea it happens, but not too soon.

I discovered the location and hotel through an article produced by Conde Naste which referred to Maratea as the poor man's Amalfi. Yes none of the pretentious folks from Capri will not be in Maratea; but you will leave hoping they never come to ruin this place. Read Beautiful ruins; that is what Maratea is all about.

Thanks Murmann and Maratea and see you in 2014.

Steve and Milena from Canada

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Room was very small as the balcony, but clean and cozy. Hotel has nice disposition - not far from the sea and near some restaurants, shops and supermarket. Breakfast was quite poor, stuff at the reception divided in two extremes. One guy was very unfriendly and haughty, the second that was looking like italian tenor was very helpful friendly and it was very pleasant to meet him in hotel. Parking at the territory of hotel was about 12 euro, but there is much parking space near hotel, so use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Hard to fault this hotel. Very helpful owner Antonio who was usually around. No restaurant but breakfast really good and places to eat locally. Hotel will take you to port for 5 euros each way (for 4 people). Lovely pool. Not a luxury hotel, but really comfortable. 'What it says on the tin'. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Hotel Murmann is located about 6 km from the Maratea Centro and 2 km from Porto. It actually looks better on the photos than in reality. Rather dull, plain, three star-equivalent establishment.

The rooms are furnished in Spartan style, basic and not overly functional. There is a noisy fridge with a few soft drinks that are chargeable for and TV with Italian-only channels which is common in these parts. The walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear conversations next door.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, the bar is in the lobby.

Breakfast is very basic with a limited selection of meats, some cheese but no eggs; the usual stale cakes.

In common with some earlier comments we found some of the staff not particularly friendly.

For dinner ignore the advice from the hotel (they recommend the rather soulless Restaurant 1999 in Porto) and head for Centro – there are plenty of eateries there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
3.5 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
327 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Club San Diego
Hotel Club San Diego
#3 of 4 in Acquafredda
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmann

Property: Hotel Murmann
Address: Via Fiumicello 2 | Via Conte Stefano Rivetti di Val Cervo, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murmann 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Fiumicello, few steps away from the beach. Thanks to its peculiar location, guests will enjoy a marvelous panoramic sight of the Statue of Christ the Redeemer and of the Coast. Completely renovated in 2009 the Hotel offers a relaxing and intimate atmosphere guaranteeing to all the Guests a pleasant stay. The spectacular setting and a selected and highly professional staff will welcome guests and make their stay memorable. The Hotel: The Hotel offers to its guests a Modern Pool, with Solarium and Relax area in the Garden, where guests can sip a chilly cocktail prepared by our talented bartenders. Hotel services: Small pets allowed with extra charge Internet - Point Wi-Fi Area Panoramic Terrace Lounge Bar 24h Pool and Solarium Relax Area Parking spaces  Secretarial Service Luggage Storage Free newspapers Affiliated Restaurant Excursions. Accommodations: Our 39 comfortable and spacious rooms (Standard, Superior and Deluxe) with a gorgeous view over the Tyrrenhian sea and The Statue of Christ the Redeemer are equipped to the highest standards including balcony, private bathrooms, air conditioning and heating adjustable from the room, telephone, LCD TV, minibar, hairdryer and a complete courtesy set. We have four restaurants partners and one beach also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing