We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY overpriced”
Review of Hotel Murmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murmann
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Murmann early in the season (it had opened the day before). Yet we were charged high, high season prices (US$400 a night). For this we had a basic room (albeit with a peek-a-boo view of the ocean) and a tiny bathroom. The water in the shower was cold. It was very noisy - in the halls as well as the suite above us. The much-vaunted terrace wasn't available for use. Breakfast was supposedly included but they ran out of food (and belatedly restocked a few items). Total rip off.

Compare this to our previous night at Villa Ducale in Taormina where, for the same price, we had a luxuious villa and superb service.

The location of Hotel Murmann is not convenient, being nowhere near either the port (a 20-minute walk) nor Maratea proper (likely a 45-minute walk). The hotel does not have a restaurant of its own and it turned out that only one restaurant was open in Maratea when we were there (April 5th); it was at the port. Thankfully we had a great time there - but no thanks to the hotel. The hotel staff offered no assistance in either finding or getting to the restaurant (we preferred not to drive as we wanted a glass or two of wine); compare this to the restaurant owner who, when he learned where we were staying, gave us a ride back to the hotel after dinner!

The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. After a relatively warm welcome with the offer of a drink from the bar (for which we were charged), we were treated as an inconvenience. Could hardly wait to get away from there and on to our next (much better) stop.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMurmann, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Murmann, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review of Hotel Murmann.
I'm sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.
Kind regards,
Emanuela Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night as we were traveling up the coast of Italy. The hotel is located within walking distance of the beach, but you will need to take a taxi or drive if you would like to go to the historical city center Maratea.

The rooms are clean and modern by Italian standards. The view from the top floor is great. The lobby is clean, with a little bar, and a friendly staff. There is only internet access in the lobby, as with many Italian hotels. There is parking in the rear of the building and is very convenient.

Overall we had a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on third floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houjk259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were recommended Maratea by friends of ours in Sydney so we booked for 2 nights. It was a 4 hour boring drive from Sorrento and glad we got there before dark as there are no street lights and 8/10kms of scary narrow roads you wouldn't want to navigate at night. Hotel was ok and water was a 1km or so away a 15 minute walk. Great spot with the old town 5 kms up the mountain, not much there though. Some private beaches are great and the restaurants were ok. Would I go back to Maratea probably not, but if we did would stay there again

Room Tip: get water side definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

With a hire car a GPS finding the hotel was easy.
Clean, modern premises with professional English speaking staff. Room 301 was large and the bathroom was also large by Italian standards. 4 Star standard to me after two weeks of package tour 3 star hotels in Sicily and Malta. E97 per night was also great value.
Good breakfast with fresh fruit and yoghurt. If you are expecting a USA type breakfast = go elsewhere.
Quite a few local eating options a 5 min walk away or lots more options via a 5 min car drive down to the harbour.
The hotel would be a good base for 2 - 3 nights to explore local areas eg Rivello, beaches. Coastal drive is "interesting" but doable.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a higher floor room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

hotel located at aprox 5-10 minutes walk to the beach (downhill-uphill). Nice lobby, rooms, staff, good reception services. make sure you book in advance parking for your vehicle, (against charge), otherwise parking the car would be a challenge. The location is hidden and difficult to find, but the scenic beauties are worth the effort. the internet is wireless, free, but works in the hotel lobby only. breakfast is... italian, light. :) Restaurants, shops, businesses close at noon for the siesta, if you are hungry the only option is a fast-foodish bar-restaurant on the beach. The city of Maratea is accesible by local bus, 10 minutes ride, they come once or twice an hour. Overall very good experience with this hotel, i recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel markets itself as a 4* Hotel but is in reality 3*. It has no restaurant, a basic continental serve yourself breakfast, no in room wifi, a miniscule shower and hard beds. It is clean and modern with small balconies giving distant sea views. Staff are friendly when you can find them. It is completely lacking in atmosphere but serves as a competent stopover for travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is situated at the bottom edge of a hillside village which has its feet in the sea. The coast is spectacular as are the mountains behind and this hotel is a perfect place from which to explore or simply to stay and enjoy what is on offer locally. It is not particularly cheap but good value for money. The rooms are good, not luxurious, but spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is well stocked. There is not a lot of parking in the area but I always found a space in the cul de sac behind the hotel - although the hotel has a limited number of parking spaces available against payment of a supplement.

I liked the terrace at the entrance where one can chill out. There is also a swimming pool, but I preferred the sea.

The manager, Antonio Mufanò, is a most friendly and professional person and he has transmitted these qualities to his staff members. He has arrangements with a number of local restaurants at which (for 26€ a head plus wine) hotel guests can eat very well. He also occasionally organises interesting exhibitions of local/client artists' work on the premises.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for good and comfortable accommodation with friendly and helpful service.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
3.2 mi away
Hotel Martino
Hotel Martino
#6 of 15 in Maratea
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maratea
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmann

Address: Via Fiumicello 2 | Via Conte Stefano Rivetti di Val Cervo, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Murmann 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Fiumicello, few steps away from the beach. Thanks to its peculiar location, guests will enjoy a marvelous panoramic sight of the Statue of Christ the Redeemer and of the Coast. Completely renovated in 2009 the Hotel offers a relaxing and intimate atmosphere guaranteeing to all the Guests a pleasant stay. The spectacular setting and a selected and highly professional staff will welcome guests and make their stay memorable. The Hotel: The Hotel offers to its guests a Modern Pool, with Solarium and Relax area in the Garden, where guests can sip a chilly cocktail prepared by our talented bartenders. Hotel services: Small pets allowed with extra charge Internet - Point Wi-Fi Area Panoramic Terrace Lounge Bar 24h Pool and Solarium Relax Area Parking spaces  Secretarial Service Luggage Storage Free newspapers Affiliated Restaurant Excursions. Accommodations: Our 39 comfortable and spacious rooms (Standard, Superior and Deluxe) with a gorgeous view over the Tyrrenhian sea and The Statue of Christ the Redeemer are equipped to the highest standards including balcony, private bathrooms, air conditioning and heating adjustable from the room, telephone, LCD TV, minibar, hairdryer and a complete courtesy set. We have four restaurants partners and one beach also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Murmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing