We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My family and I had a wonderful stay in April at " La Locanda Delle Donne Monache ". After travelling through the mountains we took the coast road from Sapri which had spectacular views of the coast line. As we approached Maratea we were greeted by the breath taking mountains which surround it." What was the Hotel going to be like? " we wondered.

Our arrival at the hotel, nestled in a quiet street, was pleasant. We were met by Vincenza, the manager and other members of staff; the warm welcome outweighed our expectations.

We were shown to our suites and wandered through delightful corridors, beautifully understated with unusual sculptures and paintings. I will never forget the scent that laced the air as we passed by. There was an instant peace felt by all of us. We had begun to unwind!!

When we walked into our rooms we were amazed by the tranquility of them and the bottle of champagne, fruit and pastries were a nice touch.We enjoyed the surroundings of our rooms for a while, the huge bed, the wonderful aroma and of course the peace and quiet!

To feel at home in a hotel environment is unusual for me! To feel at home with the staff is even more unusual!! But I did!!!!
I felt very comfortable, they were unobtrusive, but available with a friendly disposition if you needed them.

We had a delightful time eating in the restaurant. I lost count of how many courses we ate at lunch, we left it to the chef to decide at Vincenza's direction. We enjoyed: Salmon, Sea bass and suckling pig - some of the flavours I will never forget!

We cannot wait to come back and see the Hotel family again and enjoy another thoroughly relaxing break.

Bravo,Vincenza, Bravo!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The-Man-from-Ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2008

La Locanda delle Donne Monache was the best surprise of our driving tour of Southern Italy. We found it while looking for a convenient location between Rome and Reggio Calabria and booked for one night only. But we had stumbled on a little piece of paradise! The hotel is a converted convent which has just been elegantly refurbished by the new owners. It is immaculate, stylish and comfortable with all the conveniences you would expect from a modern hotel, The staff were warm and friendly and anxious to please. The views from the terrace of hills and the lovely town of Maratea made us feel we were in our own private resort. On meeting the owner we realised that it was his affection for the hotel that was reflected in the attention to detail and the enthusiasm of the new management. Thank you Vincenza for your hospitality! Next time we will stay much longer.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank BrucePerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I came upon this website by accident and after reading some of the awful reviews of Maratea decided I had to write in her defense. We stayed in Maratea for 7 days at the La Laconda Della Donna (a converted nunnery). The hotel was small but very clean with nice rooms, beautiful views of Maratea and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a spacious bath. The restaurant at the hotel was very nice including the wonderful service. We were there at the end of the season and ended going to one of the waiters Uncle's restaurant for dinner on the last night. There was so much food (excellent food) they could have fed the whole city. At the end of the meal our waiter stopped by to bring us a dessert his Mother had sent to us. Our whole experience was so wonderful we would like to go back and will never forget the gracious people and the lovely town of Maratea. Built on a mountain, yes with lots of steps!

1  Thank CherryWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

We stayed here for 9 days during our wedding and we have had a great experience. From the beginning the staff were very friendly and helpfull, without the air of haughty professionalism but a warm interest in the people that stay there. Our room was great, the shower was not the best but that got repaired while we were there, without us requesting it. We The view from our balcony was simply stunning. The staff at the restaurant are knowledgeable, friendly and the food is absolutely lovelt. Breakfast does only include typical European options. The garden should be done up though as it is currently not well maintained. Nice is that you have the option to avail of the lovely facilities of the Santavenere, although you PAY for the beach access!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2004

The ads for this albergo boast an exquisite lush garden setting amid lemon trees and gorgeous scenery; a gross exageration! The garden consisted of one lemon tree and several terra cotta pots with withering plants. This hotel is unbelievably overpriced and haughty without precedent. Wadded up towels "adorned" most windows here as everything leaks when it rains. This included the floor of our room as rain travelled the tiled floors grout lines. The staff is due for intensive customer service training.

18  Thank Kdgarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianluca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppesirchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
3.7 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maratea
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
1 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#9 of 15 in Maratea
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda delle Donne Monache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda delle Donne Monache

Address: Via Carlo Mazzei 4, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maratea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maratea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maratea
Price Range: £106 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda delle Donne Monache 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Locanda delle Donne Monache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Delle Donne Monache Hotel Maratea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing