We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved my blushes”
Review of Capo Casale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capo Casale Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Take great care - Matera and Maratea sound very alike and are very close to each other in Lonely Planet, but very far apart geographically. Arrived in Maratea and searched in vain for booked hotel. Finally found out I was in wring place !! Did not impress companion.

Took a punt on Capo Casale, and was delighted. Suite room on top floor had great views. Staff most helpful and coped well with limited nglish and my basic Italian.

Restaurant provided good meal.

Loved the little town - despite it being the wrong one !

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for one of the top floor suite rooms - plenty of space to escape question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

I booked the hotel at the end of October in a town that is usually crowded in the summer because I wanted some peace and quiet for the weekend. The city was a ghost town. Unfortunately, the hotel booked a group of about 30 people in a hotel of about 10 rooms and let them take over the hotel completely. There was noise and loud singing all night. I went down once to ask for some quiet and called two more times after I was awakened near midnight for the last time. I was on the top floor and the noise was unbelievable loud. The staff were there the whole time since the group was in the lobby, and they never got them to go somewhere else or be quiet. It was louder than any hostel that I have ever stayed when I was in college....in fact, even a hostel has quiet times. The staff saw me the next morning and never apologized...I was charged full price for a stay that was a horrible experience. STAY FAR WAY FROM THIS PLACE, THE STAFF OBVIOUSLY DOESN'T CARE ENOUGH ABOUT THEIR GUESTS.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colavolp, Responsabile reception at Capo Casale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Dear Guest,
We apologise for your unpleasant experience and we also thank you for your review that allow us to improve our service.
That night we hosted a Group of people that was very noisy and our staff has asked them to keep a low-toned. Our staff can also guarantee that at midnight every noise was finished.
As you can see from the other reviews on TripAdvisor our hotel is appreciated above all for its quiet and peace so your has been a rare case due to our particular guests.
We hope to have you as customer again to show you that has been just an unfortunate case.
Yours sincerely,
Valentina Colavolpe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for a few days for a conference, and stayed a few extra to enjoy the area.
Nice breakfast on the roof, very nice staff.
Never did get around to dinner there, probably would have been nice.
Free wifi, but only in the lobby.
Easy bus to the beach, and good hiking with nice sea views.
Restaurants in town - only one really good one, the rest mediocre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sicarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Capo Casale during our recent 5 week trip to Italy and France.
Maratea is a lovely place to have a holiday. Hotel Capo Casale just made the whole experience that much better. Fantastic views, lovely room, nice staff, handy to the old town of Maratea. It has a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast and take in evening drinks. It has a restaurant which served us the most lovely meal. You can dine on the terrace if you wish.
Our room was spacious and had it's own private terrace with views over Maratea, the hills and the sea beyond.
You can walk to the old town in 5/10 minutes where you will find shops, bars and restaurants. You can then catch the bus to Fiumicino or Porto Maratea for 60c.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here with another couple on our way back to Rome after a two week trip to Sicily. It was the perfect end to a perfect trip. We even stayed an extra night! Maratea itself is lovely, but the hotel really made our stay. The rooms were large and the bathroom massive compared to what we had been used to. The staff was more than helpful (even though only one spoke English and our Italian was too weak to be mentioned). The roof-top terrace with its view over the city to the mountains was a great way to start the day with breakfast and to end the day with cocktails/wine. The only problem we had was finding the place. The signage is not too good and we had to stop to ask for directions. That discomfort was soon forgotten when we settled in Capo Casale.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdpwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed towards the end of the season and loved it. The hotel is beautiful, stylish and clean.

We went there to get married in Maratea and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - we were already staying on a special deal, but they also upgraded us and provided complimentary flowers and champagne.

It is perched quite high up on the hillside and nestled in the old town, so if you're looking just to spend your time on the beach, it's probably not for you. However, if you're fit and enjoy exploring, then it's a charming 5 minutes down steps to the town and a beautiful 20 minute walk to gorgeous rocky coves. Besides which, the unspoilt panoramic scene which stretches from mountains to the sea more than compensates.

Ideal for those seeking to explore the culture and landscape.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GZEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

just a little disapointed with our stay at capo casale after reading reviews, i had high expectations and found that the hotel had an empty souless feel. no trouble at all driving here- an easy, if winding run, steps aren't bad unless disabled or very old or young, good breakfast. rooms and bathrooms good size and fitout. nothing wrong, perfectly adeqaute but it had been billed as a cluster of old houses turned into a charming hotel - and i couldn't feel or see any signs of that. maratea and surrounds pleasant but not much wow

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
0.1 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
0.3 mi away
La Dimora del Cardinale
La Dimora del Cardinale
#15 of 15 in Maratea
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Martino
Hotel Martino
#6 of 15 in Maratea
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo Casale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo Casale Hotel

Address: Via Carlo Mazzei | Capocasale, 85046, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capo Casale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capo Casale Hotel is a hotel obtained from medieval houses, where travellers can experience the history and tradition of Maratea, along with its magnificent sea. The hotel has a strategic position in the heart of the delightful old town centre and it gives a marvellous view of the coastline from Policastro to Marina di Maratea, reaching the statue of Christ.The ancient village of Capo Casale originated between the 10th and the 11th century around the church of San Vito. The current structure of the village dates back to that period. Hotel Capo Casale, opened in 2002, retains the features of the ancient village thanks to its narrow streets and stairways that lead to the small houses, out of which the rooms where created. Moreover, the balconies and terraces offer unique views on the landscape and create an unforgettable atmosphere.The carefully renewed hotel rooms offer all mod cons and guarantee big and independent spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Capo Casale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo Casale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing