We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful multi-level waterfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful multi-level waterfront hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July, and I felt like we were staying in a Mediterranean villa, with terraced stone stairs down to the Tyrrhenian sea. The breakfast buffet was varied and wonderful, the coffee, great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a fairly small room on a top floor with view of the sea from our small balcony, which was a very good value. The room was clean and air conditioned; the bed was comfortable. There is no elevator, so plan accordingly. There are two swimming pools, which are staffed with a snack and coffee bar during the day, and multiple seating areas, shaded and/or with views. The hotel was a nice location from which to explore the various "frazioni" (sub-sections) of the Comune of Maratea: Maratea Borgo (meaning the "old town" on the northern slopes of Mount San Biagio facing away from the sea), Maratea Porto, the port on the water, Acquaafredda, Cersuta, Fiumicello, Marina, Castrocucco, Castello (where the "Statua del Cristo Redentore" is located), Santa Caterina, Massa and Brefaro.

As another reviewer has written, be careful when you use your GPS to reach the hotel. The "Contrada Ogliastro" address was not in our Garmin Unit. Stay straight northwest on the SS18 past Maratea and you'll see a sign for the hotel on the left minutes after leaving the border of Maratea. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    101
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
173
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

An absolutely beautiful property with an amazing view of the Basilicata coast. The people were all very nice, the rooms were adequate and clean, and the breakfast was great.

Be careful when you use your GPS to reach the hotel, however. The 'Contrada Ogliastro' address was not in our Garmin Unit. Stay straight on the SS18 past Maratea and you'll run right into the hotel on the left soon after entering the contrada.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlt5198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Makes the Amalfi coast look like a New York subway at rush hour. This location has all the geography one could ever yearn for in a coastal property but utterly peaceful--no clamoring for umbrellas or recliners with the mob.

One has to drive 4 hours from Rome to arrive here but, oh how it's worth it. It's a pine forest that meets a rocky beach where you can swim off the rocks or enjoy their two swimming pools with a charming little bar that also serves a delicious lunch, and it's secluded--no row of beachfront hotels like box-cars on the sand.

The room had everything we could ask for including a view of the ocean; the breakfast is one of the best we've experienced in Italy. The only thing it lacks is a restaurant but there's wonderful and very reasonable dining 5 or 10 minutes away.

A car is necessary to stay here and it's not for those with ambulatory issues as there are many steps to the pools and beach, but the value is unbelievable. I wish I could live here.

Room Tip: Check hotel website for last minute bargains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice hotel with a pool and ocean access. It just felt like a happy, relaxing place. No restaurant on site so you have to drive to town for meals. Otherwise, it was splendid.......................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Where do we begin?! We have recently returned from our 4 nights and wedding day at hotel villa della Merviglie organised by Slow Dreams inc (who incidently we randomly found on google so it was a risk!) and it was simply perfect in pretty much every aspect.

The hotel is a hidden gem in a really unspoilt part of Southern Italy and when you drive down the steep windy path you just cant believe the view you are greeted with. Actually perhaps we shouldnt uncover it!! lol - we will definitely be returning! The sea actually feels like its on top of you and its is breathtaking. As well as this the hotel is spotless and although the rooms arent modern and trendy they are exactly right for the style and for an authentic italian feel. Just as we wanted. The Air con worked great so that was a real bonus!

The staff are lovely and beyond helpful.... Paula (who owns the hotel) is just a gorgeous and lovely person and clearly just wants everyone to have a wonderful time there and the rest of her staff Luigi (Gigi) in particular are the same... his fantastic English is also a great help! We stayed with our two babies under 2 and they just gave us free reign of the little breakfast kitchen to make their meals and sterilise bottles etc which was such a help.

The only downside is the lack of restaurant for evening meals which with little children would have been a help as an option, but this will no doubt happen soon (they are awaiting planning - the building down by the sea is there already!) and will be a great benefit.

The only other point to make is that since this venue/wedding is abroad, you should be aware that things can be done slightly differently (Italian) to what how you'd expect if you're from the UK/US, not badly at all, just differently and for us, this added to the sense of adventure. But the intention of quality and care is 100% so the end result is exactly the same, but for those who are perhaps a bit control freaky about things, there is nothing to worry about, Slow dreams simply looked after us and our guests and we had a beautiful time as a result.

And our Slow Dreams wedding? well it was perfect in every way.... a beautiful ceremony overlooking the clear crystal water, a delicious 4 course italian dinner (feast) set around the pool with dancing and swimming in the pool into the early hours. We could've dressed up the venue even more but we didn't need to, our simple touches (because we were travelling from the UK) of paper lanterns and fairy lights, were simply perfect.

This is Bella Italia at its best!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbiPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This amazing hotel, it's more like a B&B. Spectacular view, great breakfast and staff amazing. Once you get there walking around just to the bottom of the property the sea is at the reach of your hand.
Don't miss this enchanting hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

‘Hotel’, as far as the B&B Hotel Meraviglie at Maratea is concerned is a bit of a misnomer. It is not. No restaurant and rooms are as cramped as I last experienced in the army half a century ago. One has to admit being taken in (yet agi'n!) by the almost misrepresentational PR job so favored by hoteliers. ‘View’ of the ‘mare’ is visible between badly topped pines. But that is unfair. Walking down to it is a doddle, but a sweat up. Just in time for a shower at the pool. Few, if any of the criticisms below have been seen anywhere. Why? There is a lot going for the place, but there is much to dislike too. For some reason the latter have not been sufficiently aired.
CONS: 1. The bed feels as if it is at least of 10-20 years-vintage. Our double bed was a plank with a ridge in the centre; 2. The air-conditioning system is in urgent need of an upgrade. It too must hark back to 1980’s. As soon as we woke it was switched off for a merciful release from the incessant loaded hum. Open windows mercifully let in the early morning air. 3. The room is so small that if one wanted to use the fold-down writing desk one would have to sit on the bed. Be careful not to place any weight on the folded-down flap because any pressure threatens to separate its hinges from the rest of the desk. The plank-like bed acts as chair. So this dispatch is being typed on the laptop placed on the bed with my right leg folded between it and me; 4. The bathroom light connects to a fan that is so loud that the best bet is not to switch it on at all and leave the door to the room open as needs allow; 5. The setting has not been used to full effect. The magnificent ocean is patchily visible through the maze of aged pines that have seen their best days long ago. A few require removal. There is no point in hiding the magnificence behind mangled pines – as a photograph attached shows. There is a limit to the virtues of aged (and badly topped) trees; 6. The bar-‘fridge’, is, as in all the B&Bs and hotels we have visited anywhere, including the US, little better than a cool box. The real reason for their inefficiency is the almost total lack of ventilation provided. Too small a space is occupies to expel hot air generated by the cooling process. At least here the hot air is provided an escape, but at the bottom three inches above the floor and below the fridge, as if hot air does not rise, which it does and fills the entire space occupied. The cabinet door cannot be opened to allow for a more efficient fridge because, also as in many places we have visited, it is attached to the actual ‘fridge’ door. 7. No lift; no bell-hop. 8. It is not cheap. 9. Wi-Fi is also not Fi. Connects and disconnects at random. Exceedingly irritating. 10. One glass - in the bathroom.
PROS: 1. The only unqualified success of the place is its flooring. Superb flooring. 2. And I like the bees being fed ham (picture will prove this to cynics) at breakfast. It keeps them away from the tables. 3. The grounds are very well tended with a gardener busily watering early in the morning. 4. Friendly female staff. [The wrestler in the bar - sometimes at the front desk - is always grumpy, threatening and unsmiling even when tipped.] The barman at the pool is a delight. [Noisy giggly adolescent Danes not so – but that was just our bad luck. Narcissists are the bane of an hotelier’s life.] 5. The partially cleared rocky ‘beach’ is a gem. [Be prepared for pure salt in the eyes when swimming in the Tyrrhenian sea. It deep cleanses!]
Conclusion: We won’t be back. One expects more. The printed hype is a disservice to the establishment. Expectations are unreasonably heightened. But if the owners heed criticisms it could be a very nice place to overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maratea hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
1.9 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
2.7 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#9 of 16 in Maratea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie

Property: Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
Address: C.da Ogliastro, Maratea, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Maratea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerso nel verde dove riposare e' una virtu'. Due ettari di pineta sul mare con scogliera liscia attrezzata nica nel suo genere.Provare per credere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing