We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but extorted on the drinks”
Review of Honeymoon Garden

Honeymoon Garden
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Paddock Wood
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/place?cid=11090494135324014483&q=honeymoon+garden+paddock+wood&gl=uk&vps=1&ie=UTF8
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food but extorted on the drinks”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After having many takeaways from here and always enjoying the food, we decided to try the Sunday buffet. It's not a buffet it is eat as much as you like off a menu but only ordering one main and one side each at a time. Fair enough to prevent wastage but the portions are huge and on the menu it states you can be charged for wasted food. After a starter and then one main and a side each I am sure most people like we were, would be full. What we were most disappointed about was being charged almost £15 for 4 pints of coke that we could see was being poured out of a bottle. Overall the food was good but as we only live a two minute walk away we will be sticking to a takeaway from now on as the privilege of sitting in the restaurant for an hour and having effectively a bottle of coke cost us an extra £20.00 including the service charge. Takeaway is the best bet from honeymoon garden.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Staff very attentive and friendly, food excellent and reasonably priced. Take away food not bad either

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindaharrild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alway amazing”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've eaten here many times, both Sunday buffet, a la carte and takeaway. Despite other comments I find the food does travel ok, it's the same with any takeaway - it's not going to be a crisp as if it was served in the restaurant. They're always polite and know me well enough now to always put extra chillies in everything I order instead of me having to ask for them. It's not the cheapest Chinese in Paddock Wood (we have 3 now) but I would say it's the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Dined here a few times, sometimes on the full menu others on the Sunday buffet. Both types are very tasty leaving you wanting more. Staff very freindly but you have to remember English is not their first language, so from the reviews that they are rude I find quite hard to beleive. I have never had any problem with the staff and they always make you feel welcome, even if you have not been for a while they recognise you

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaHarrild1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

our first time to this restaurant , we had the buffet menu , service was excellent , staff very friendly , food hot and very tasty . plenty of choice . will defiantly be going back .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honeymoon Garden also viewed

 
Paddock Wood, Kent
 

Been to Honeymoon Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing