We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valuable place to discover west Elba”
Review of Hotel Belmare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belmare
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Valuable place to discover west Elba”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We visited Elba as a part of Tuscany trip. This hotel we chosen because of we would like avoid hectic in main tourist centres.
Even though hotel has only 2 stars, it offers much better services as many hotels with higher classification. Our room booked for 2 persons was enough large for 4 adults. Equipment was basic, but also more than satisfying. With one exception negative influencing sleeping quality - all beds loudly creak.
Hotel has main building with reception, dining room and guest rooms. We have been located in an adjacent building, maybe 3 meters from reception. For us it was an advantage, because of we can use small sits in exterior in front of our room, and view on romantic sunsets.
Again warning for all who wish order sea view :) Yes, some rooms have sea view, but do not forget, sea is about 5 minutes with car and 20 minutes walking, because of hotel is located near upon sea but in high altitude :) I recommend to go to beach (rather with car) to see sunset and/or sunrise, but it is probably possible only out of high season - beach has very limited parking possibility.
Back to hotel: very helpful man on entry desk, speaking Italian and German, but there were also english speaking people in staff. We received many valuable recommendations. Breakfast maybe not the best one in comparing other hotels on our tour, but satisfying in quality and more than satisfying in quantity :) On demand also lunch and dinners are available. We used this possibility for first dinner, also valuable.
Hotel is ideal as starting point for travelling in west Elba, with many wild and interesting secret beaches, wild road to south villages with views to Corsica. Probably the most explored attraction nearby is "Cabinovieva" - cableway with yellow opened cabins for 2 persons. Via Cabinovieva you can reach the highest hill on Elba with grandious views. For us ideal, but off-center location on west corner of Elba could be problem for people who plan discover also east part and doesn't like long driving. You have to calculate that every kilometer takes 1 probably 2 minutes and velocity 30 km per hour is usual.
Summary: very good stay for reasonable price, very good service. Location - depends on your plans.

Room Tip: Ask hotel for room description before booking - not all rooms have "sea view", not all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miroslav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    56
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
172
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed three nights and would happily have stayed longer.You couldn't ask for more-everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday experience.Really good value and I wouldn't hesitate to return.This has to be one of the nicest areas on the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for the time spent to write your review.
Thank you very much for the visit. Best regards, the staff of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Belmare in July for a week and really enjoyed the friendly service, great food and value this family run hotel had to offer.Vincenzo, Serena and the rest of the family gave us great advise to assist us with our planning of the week, including a trip to Pianosa. Our children were able to relax and make friends with some other Italian tourist and had a chance to practise a little Italian. We intended on having a beach holiday. It is a great spot to plan your days at the many great beaches on this side of the island and so we would have day trips and visit the many beaches the area had to offer. The food at Belmare is delicious and I was pleased to see they helped out with gluten free meals. You could eat indoors or outdoors and you would not want to miss the daily spectacular sunsets as you dine. Grazie Vincenzo per la Sua cortese ospitalia', abbiamo porato a casa con noi tanti bellisimi ricordi!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view...the sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toppi_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Noi sia mo una famiglia semplice e con la nostra semplicità ci impegniamo al massimo nel nostro lavoro per far si che i nostri ospiti si sentano come a casa propria. Cerchiamo di consigliare al meglio i nostri clienti,in maniera tale che possano conoscere la nostra bellissima Isola su tutti suoi lati.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Vi aspettiamo nuovamente, un saluto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel Belmare is positioned perfectly on the Western side of the stunningly beautiful island of Elba, in an elevated position with the most amazing sunsets over the sea. This is a great area for walking trails and sandy beaches. You don't need a car - you can catch the buses to the beaches without any hassle and it's worth it (go to the ones around the West / South of the area).
The hotel itself is a joy. The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable. We went half board and the food is superb and amazingly good value, with lovely buffet breakfast and three course meals (choice of lunch or dinner, so very flexible). Vicenzo and the staff are so lovely, friendly and can't do enough to help.
This isn't a hotel with frills - there's no pool, for example, so if you prefer lounging around and spa treatments, it's not for you. If, however, you love being outside, experiencing Italian life, exploring and relaxing then you'll love it.
I can't recommend this enough - we had a fantastic holiday here for a week and loved every minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueFromGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Noi sia mo una famiglia semplice e con la nostra semplicità ci impegniamo al massimo nel nostro lavoro per far si che i nostri ospiti si sentano come a casa propria.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare.
Vi aspettiamo nuovamente, un saluto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel Belmare is in a stunning location in the most beautiful part of the island in our opinion. The evening meals were a treat - varied and interesting local dishes and amazing sunsets over the sea. Vincenzo and his family obviously love the island and love being hospitable which creates a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The room was adequate rather than luxurious but had a lovely terrace with views of the ocean and remained pleasantly cool in spite of the high temperatures we experienced while there. The hotel is near to several quiet uncrowded beaches and to the beautiful hillside town of Marciana and the 'cabinovia' up to Mte Capanne - an excursion not to be missed! We felt the hotel was excellent value and would highly recommend it. A and I Lewis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 21Andrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I traveled to Elba Island for our honeymoon. After leaving our first hotel because of how small a space they provided to us, we traveled to Hotel Belmare based on the Trip Advisor recommendations. Upon arriving, however, we were less than thrilled with the state of the hotel. While the room itself was clean and had all the necessary amenities, we were not sure how it was rated the #1 hotel in the area. We stayed for a night before traveling down the road to find a more comfortable, updated hotel. We found the double size bed to be two twin beds pushed together on a larger frame with a larger sheet. The room was simple, with a single religious portrait hanging on the wall. The furniture looked as though it dated back to the 1970s and the room had no air conditioning or ceiling fan which resulted in a hot, stuffy evening. We ate breakfast there in the morning and the chef provided us a delicious local breakfast of eggs, fruits and yogurt. Overall, there was nothing particularly bad about our stay at the hotel, I would just say that compared with other hotels we went on to see in the area, I am just not sure that this one deserves its #1 rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview... since there are no fans in the room it may provide more of a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for the time spent to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed something and we will take account of your review to improve the hotel. Being a small hotel that is growing up in these years, we find difficult to invest a lot of money every year. Year by year we will change the forniture of all the rooms as we are doing and we will add them facilities in order to make them more comfortable for our costumers. Thank you very much for the visit. Best regards, the staff of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Belmare for 3 nights during our recent 3 week trip to Tuscany, We had one of the ocean view with balcony rooms which offered amazing sunset views looking out over the ocean. This place definitely offered the best value when you consider the much higher prices of other hotels on the island albeit they don't have a pool. Considering the wide array of available beaches just minutes away, there is no reason to spend your time in a pool anyway. Although Vincenzo speaks very little English and my Italian was very limited, Vincencio and his staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Their breakfast is substantial and included eggs cooked to order. As mentioned before, there are numerous beautiful beaches within 15 minutes driving distance from the hotel (our favorite was Fetovaia with it's white sand beach complete with lounge chairs and umbrella rentals which includes restrooms and shower facilities in the cost) and similar distance to Marciano where we ate dinner each night (see my Osteria Del Noce recommendation there). It is a little bit further to Marciano Marina where there is a Despar Market that sells very reasonable priced picnic items such as bread, meats and cheese and very good Elba Island vino rosso.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelmare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Belmare, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione dove racconta la sua esperienza trascorsa presso il nostro hotel.
Ancora un grazie da tutto il gruppo del Belmare, vi aspettiamo nuovamente.
Un saluto, a presto Serena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marciana
4.2 mi away
Hotel Montemerlo
Hotel Montemerlo
#1 of 5 in Fetovaia
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
L'Oleandro
L'Oleandro
#5 of 22 in Marciana
234 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#11 of 22 in Marciana
181 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 25 in Portoferraio
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmare

Property: Hotel Belmare
Address: Loc. Patresi, 57030, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marciana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marciana
#2 Family Hotel in Marciana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belmare 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belmare Elba Island/Marciana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing