We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly; probably best option on Elba Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Magnifico Elba Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Magnifico Elba Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Marciana Marina
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly; probably best option on Elba Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Il Magnifico (aka Swiss International) is a very nice property in Marciana Marina. This was our first time on Elba Island, and found the hotel to be a great base for exploration of the island. The staff is fantastic (consistent, amenable; the same staff was present daily, and greeted us in a nice way, and always was receptive to requests; they also allowed us a post-checkout option to shower before departing the island; offered a Saturday evening aperitif), and really boosts the hotel's standing. They are clearly working very hard to make the hotel pleasant. The hotel itself is fine in U.S. standards, not outstanding, but one cannot expect the same, here. Our room was pleasant, with a nicely-sized bathroom and a balcony with a view of the hill towns of Marciana and Poggio. A 'real' double bed (not two twin beds pushed together); ask for the 3rd/top floor (aka the '2nd' floor to Euros). The indoor pool is great (meant for laps) and the outdoor pool is nicely-attended. It's an easy 5-minute walk to the beach/city and various restaurants; a 10-minute drive to Marciana or Poggio. Our breakfasts were included in the price, and a nice way to start the day. They offer a dinner in the same room in which the breakfasts are offered; seems like decent prix fixe menus although we didn't take advantage of them, instead opting for various options in Marciana Marina and Marciana. Rooms could use a refresh in general (e.g. tired carpeting), but overall we would certainly recommend Il Magnifico for a stay on Elba. Oh, also, it's pretty central to a variety of beaches, both on the north and south sides of the island, and a ~40-minute drive from ferry arrival at Portoferraio. In retrospect, a good value for the cost; I would certainly stay there again. The end.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    53
    23
    16
    23
See reviews for
38
79
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Good points to this hotel:
Very friendly, helpful, accommodating staff.
Quite a good breakfast - variety of breads, jams, cheese and meat, fruit, coffee and tea.
Two pools, one inside for swimming laps, one outside for relaxing.
Towels available at the pool.
Good fitness room.
Nearby village is beautiful.
Spacious rooms.
Free wifi.
Very safe - there is always somebody at reception and they seemed to recognise their guests.

Negative things:
We had expected luxury from what we had seen online. The reality did not match the expectation - the decor is quite dated and the first impression of the actual hotel does not suggest luxury.
The beach was not far away, maybe a 7 minute walk, but it was a walk on quite a busy street. The beach is not privately owned by the hotel.
We had three rooms and three bathrooms - in two of the bathrooms, the toilet seats were broken.

We did water sports in the nearby town, which made our stay in Elba enjoyable, but the hotel was a place to sleep and have breakfast. If you can get a good deal on it, go for it as it does have some good points (particularly the staff) but do not expect luxury, as this is not what you will get!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

My friend and I wanted a relaxing luxury hotel and we certainly didn't get one. The hotel is in bad need of renovation (don't believe the claims on their website that it was renovated in 2011). The reception staff were rude, the bathroom was mouldy, the safe was broken and the maid left our patio doors open every day so it was impossible to keep valuables secure, the TV was broken, the carpet was peppered with dubious stains, the same cockroach was at the bottom of the indoor pool for the entire duration of our stay and the breakfast was no where near 4 star standard - in fact we got a better breakfast at the hostel we stayed in in Pisa.

The hotel is located on a busy road which has no pavement - so it's quite a hair-raising slog to walk up the hill with your suitcase. The pool backs right on to the noisy road which is not ideal. I can't believe what they have got away with charging for what is at best a poor 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marciana Marina hotels

ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Beautiful Hotel in a perfect location: close to the pier, to the supermarket and just 1min walking to the city center. Fitness room with all the equipment very functionally. Lovely swimming pool, specially at the early morning.
Simply warm hospitality..that's all!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

we booked this hotel since it would be "romantic". Well you can forget that it is a decent beach/holiday hotel no more no less. Pool is OK (although the outside pool held too little chloride during our hot stay,) Breakfast is OK, staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
We booked a junior suite for the two us to have some more "living"space, we were placed however in a junior suite holding two bedrooms and no living space at all. we had sea view, and view at another hotel which was undergoing renovation.....The bathroom had a bath/shower combination, without showercurtain, no good fixation point at the wall and the hairdryer was taped together...all for 400 eu per night mind you..... Only the next day we were offered a junior suite as we had expected, and changed rooms. No discounts for the inconvenience, and the promised free bottle of wine and fruit basket never appeared.
So all in all we will not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel ! Everyone was so helpful ! We really enjoyed everything.
A nice, clean in- and outdoor swimming pool. Very friendly people. Very spacious en clean bedrooms. Breakfast was good, everything was there even bio-products, low-calorie products.
Nearby the Sea, by foot 2 min walk to the center, with a lot of nice shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anja33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Il Magnifico is not de Luxe.
As some contributors before me, I was disappointed discovering the reality .

Five stars go to the staff. Really trying hard to be helpful and good professionals .
Rooms are clean and spacious . A courtesy kit is provided and the balcony has a charming sea view .
Breakfast is rich . The swimming pool small but pretty useful in hot summer .

For the "cahier des doleances" I`d underline the following :

- moquette old and dirty ;
- the bathroom needs some urgent refreshing .Shower handheld is a real minus . Furnitures were undoubtely deluxe..but some years ago ;
- TV screen pretty small ;
- no courtesy water bottles. No one is obliged but it would it be pretty appreciated with this temperature ;
- canape was broken ;
- walls too thin . A big minus especially when your neighbours have a 6 months old happily screaming baby ; escpecially when the baby decides to prove his crying skills everyday at 6.00 am ;
- location few hundreds metres from the city center . But the access to the the marina is not that easy , especially uphill with no sidewalk and under over 35 Celsius ;
- difficult to find . Almost hidden and not well advertised on the road ;
- breakfast should be personalised. Especially for a 4 starts in Italy. serving some local food wouldn`t be a mistake .
- last but not least , the ratio quality / price is at least 20% unbalanced.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with more recent bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arouet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marciana Marina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
11.0 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
3.6 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Magnifico Elba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Magnifico Elba Resort

Property: Il Magnifico Elba Resort
Address: Principe Amedeo, 94, 57033 Marciana Marina, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Marciana Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Magnifico Elba Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms and suites with free and fast Wi-Fi, fully renovated in 2016 with refined furnishings, parquet flooring and carefully chosen colours, impress with their discreet luxury. Spacious bathrooms and lounges full of daylight with their own furnished balcony, create an atmosphere of coziness and relaxation Provided with all amenities the rooms are classed in Classic, Junior Suite, Junior Suite Major, with whirlpool bath and the Large Major Suite with a separated large living-room. Family rooms also are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Il Magnifico Elba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Magnifico Elba Resort Elba Island/Marciana Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing