We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
travelup.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
Destinia.com
getaroom.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
102
314
352
145
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
314
352
145
107
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The hotel is on the mainland side of Venice and a much better value than staying on the island. The hotel has a shuttle bus service that costs 8 Euros for the round trip to the main bus plaza on the island. The hotel shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes and space is limited and it is best to reserve a spot. The city bus only costs 1.2 Euros but you need to make a 10 minute walk to the bus stop. Also, don't forget to buy your city bus ticket across the street at the mini-mart (tobaconist). The drive across the bridge to the island bus plaza is about 15 minutes.

The hotel maintained the high Holiday Inn standards which means it is clean, comfortable and efficiently run. Nothing fancy but what do you expect for a moderate price chain hotel. The room was large, the bed comfortable, the bathroom well appointed. Franco at the front desk is a hotel veteran who was very helpful and friendly. My only complaint was the cost of the Internet Wi-Fi because they use an over-priced 3rd party provider. In 2012, Wi-Fi should be part of the price of the room. Just imagine what we would have said in 1990 if a hotel wanted to charge extra to watch color TV in your room! Same principle applies today with Wi-Fi - it should be considered a standard (no extra charge) amenity in any 3, 4, or 5 star hotel.

There is an excellent little pizzeria just a 5 to 7 minute walk away. I can't remember the name of the pizzeria but they have a full menu, not just pizza and the prices were very affordable. You go out the back parking lot of the Holiday Inn and turn left and walk down Via della Fonte until it ends (2 blocks) at the Via Cesare Beccaria. Don't cross Via Cesare Beccaria, because the pizza cafe is right there on the corner on your left side.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CenTexKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here while departing on a Med Cruise. Very nice hotel with friendly staff but if you are looking for a hotel close to the tourist areas you will be disappointed. It is on the mainland but it is the closest of the IC properties. You are still a long way from San Marco square. You can get there by bus relatively inexpensively after a bit of a walk to the bus stop or you can take a cab for 40-45 euros. Either the bus or the cab will take you to Piazzale Roma where you can take a Water taxi or bus to San Marco.
One drawback of the hotel is that you only get 30 min free WiFi and purchasing it is a bit pricey. But overall a very nice stay

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svargasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in September. Overall good hotel. Bed and matress were super comfortable! Bathroom was nice and clean, but showerhead was broken. In-room safe and mini fridge are definitely a plus. Front desk staff was very polite and accommodating. Be aware that this hotel charge for everything - internet, parking, ice. The hotel has big parking lot and could provide parking to it's guest for free, but instead they decide to make money and put this outside kiosk with parking attendant who wasn't very polite. So the 2-nd night we just parked on the street right befind the hotel. Probably would stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKNJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Holiday Inn is a large hotel on the outskirts of Venice. There are buses from the train station and Marco Polo airport that drop visitors nearby, but a bit too far if you have luggage, have a hard time walking, or are walking at night. You need to walk 15 minutes through an Italian neighborhood with a bit of graffitti, then walk a long a dirt path in a wooded area that gets you to the hotel. The room was clean, spacious, and had a nice TV. The bathroom was okay. Clean, but old. They have shuttles to the city, but they fill up fast and only come once every other hour. When leaving the hotel, we found out we had to pay for breakfast (we were told otherwise) and then the receptionist spoke, to say the least, very unprofessionally to my husband. Additionally, we found out that there was a shorter path to the road which they didn't bother to tell us about earlier.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManchesterElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear ManchesterElizabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you gave us an excellent score on Sleep Quality. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

On our recent trip to Europe we stayed at Holiday Inn near Venice, bit of an anti climax after a great day in Venice which was stunning, having said that the room was typically functional, poor shower, very dated and proud flag bearer of the Holiday Inn Franchise. Also to top it off our bus was broken into in the Holiday Inn parking lot, delaying our trip by atleast 4 hours. If you have no option stay here.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews