We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nuova aurora”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nuova Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nuova Aurora
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel nuova aurora”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very good option if staying in Venice is too expensive.

Clean rooms, cheap price, friendly service.

Be warned that there are prostitutes all along the street and if your room is facing the main road, you can watch them from your window. To some, this is too "ghetto". We, however, found it very amusing. Not many prostitutes walking the streets in Australia. What an experience! Hah!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asshhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for one night and decided to go by map and walk from train station to it.Wasted an hour because I thought I must have walked past it and back tracked when all in all it was right down the end of the very long road.Room was very good and comfortable for the price and staff very nice.Only thing not even coffee in the morning and the road is very noisy. Would say area safe, but industrial looking and there were hookers DAY and night so not a place if you want a romantic break. You need take bus from across the road as too too far to walk over to Venice.

Room Tip: One that backs away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrRobert1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of my 10 days trip. I really loved this place.
It is a very good option cause hotels on main island can be bit expensive in main season or if you budget is moderate.
although this hotel is not exactly in the main city it is not too far either.
the room quality is better than a 2 star hotel. all neat and tidy.
The good thing was the hotel staff, especially Dona & Andrean. they provide useful info and more than happy to help. Hotel also provided a shared a kitchen which was a welcome surprise. Kitchen water is potable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishabhnitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The man from reception knows romanian language.
The rooms are clean, but the bathrooms are at common.
You can go to Venice very simple, with the local bus for 2.5 euro/pers/trip. You can get the time table of the buses from reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asecea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Booked room through budgetplaces.com (Really recommending the website as you pay only 20% of the price online and the rest upon arrival or check out). The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great price, free parking, close to Venice (10-15 minutes). The bus stop few meters from the hotel. The area a little bit industrial but safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glogowianka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Nuova Aurora is a small budget motel in Marghera, a few kilometres south of Mestre. The area isn't great - it's essentially a truck-stop on a main road which has a prostitute every 50m. However, should note that on one occasion we walked the entire length of this road late at night without being bothered or feeling threatened.

The hotel is no frills, but very decent for the price. The room was clean, the sheets and towels were changed daily and the staff were helpful; even those with poor English skills made efforts to help. Little bit of mildew in the shower, but my own at home is worse.
The walls were a little on the thin side and traffic noise / people in the hallway were audible throughout the night, but quiet enough that it didn't bother us.

The bus link to Venice is close to the hotel and very convenient, runs until late at night and inexpensive.

Overall it was a great base for seeing Venice on a budget; perhaps not as nice as waking up to the sight of the Grand Canal but a pleasant place to sleep over if your pockets don't run that deep!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

REVIEWER PERSPECTIVE:

* Mid-40’s single male traveler from the U.S.A. doing a 4 month world trip. My 21 year old son traveled with me for 30 days in Europe.
* Focus is budget accommodations. A good budget hotel/hostel for my standards is: secure, clean, comfortable, quiet at night, with reasonable access to the location I am visiting. Don’t mind staying in (or walking through) a working class neighborhood so long as there isn’t a perceived safety issue.

OVERVIEW: This is a decent budget alternative to actually staying in Venice. The room is comfortable, but read the “LOCATION AND TRANSPORTATION” section below before you book.

LOCATION AND TRANSPOTATION:

* If you don‘t want to pay the costs of a Venetian hotel (this Hotel is located in Mestre), this seems to be about as close to Venice as you can get.

* The hotel is on a bus route about 20 to 25 minutes from Venice. Buses run twice per hour and cost about 1.20 euros per trip. (Alternatively, you can by a Venice IMOB Card which includes this bus and the water buses in Venice. The card for an Adult older than 29 costs 33 Euro for 72 hours. If you are 18 to 29 you can buy the “Venice Rolling Pass”; it‘s the same card but only costs 22 Euro.)

* The bus stop is convenient: it is only about 100 meters from the hotel. Make sure you flag the bus as it approaches or it may not stop.

* The hotel location was far enough away from Venice that we would not make multiple trips in a day. The reason is simple: while the bus ride is only 20 to 25 minutes, a round trip circuit (from Venice, to the hotel and back) would probably take around 90 minutes after you factor in walking to the hotel and waiting for the bus to arrive at both stops.

* The walk from the bus stop isn’t bad (it is very quick), but some people may not like it. During our stay prostitutes were visible both day and night. But keep this in perspective: the area does not feel dangerous (you don‘t see drug dealers, pimps, etc), and no one bothers you as you walk from the Bus Stop to the hotel.

*Once you get to the hotel, you are basically stranded here. There is nothing around except a Laundromat downstairs, a small restaurant near the bus stop (not too good), and another restaurant about 200 yards in the opposite direction (this restaurant is actually pretty good and the hotel can tell you how to get there).

ROOM QUALITY: The room is good.

*It is cleaned every day, the bed is comfortable, and the AC worked well.

*There is a closet to hang clothes, a night stand, and a small desk (see picture). The room was plenty large enough for two people.

*Noise was not an issue, but you may hear some minor road noise and the occasional shout from a prostitute while awake. The windows are double glazed and do a great job so the noises were heard as “background noise” only. Neither were loud enough to wake us up at night, although traffic is noisiest during morning rush hour . Ask for a room away from the street if this is a concern.

STAFF: Friendly and helpful. They will look up bus schedules on the internet for you and help in any way possible. Two different Hotel Receptionists allowed me to use the Hotel’s computer to print my flight reservations at no charge.

INTERNET: The hotel has a computer in the lobby you can pay to access (1 Euro for 20 minutes). No wireless option.

SUMMARY: This is a good hotel to crash in after a day in Venice. For a cheap stay near the town of Venice you will have to decide if this is the best value you can get. For me, the distance from town was the main issue. We viewed the prostitutes as part of the “local flavor” but didn’t perceive them as a safety issue. If we were to return I would search for hotels IN Venice first, but if the Venice hotels were significantly more expensive I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelerTom1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
1.4 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#244 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alle Torri
Hotel Alle Torri
#7 of 14 in Marghera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#9 of 14 in Marghera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuova Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuova Aurora

Property: Nuova Aurora
Address: Via Fratelli Bandiera 194, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuova Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nuova Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Aurora Venice
Nuova Aurora Hotel Venice
Nuova Aurora Province Of Venice/Marghera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing