We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice basic Hotel close to Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Martello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Martello
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice basic Hotel close to Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked two rooms on two seperate occasions before and after our cruise from Venice. The hotel rooms was very clean and quiet. We arrived early on both occasions (10 am) and the owner got the rooms turned over by 11 am for us. Basic clean rooms with nice size bathroom (small showers), and satillite TV. The location was very good, and just a short 3 min. walk from airport bus that we took to and from the airport. It is a 6 euro ticket each way. The train station is about a 7 min. walk, and we took the train there to Venice several times that cost 1 euro each way.. I have stayed in Venice proper several years ago, but hotel prices have gone crazy there, so we found the Hotel Martello instead at about 1/3 the price of a similar Hotel in Venice. There is a nice supermarket about a 10 min. walk from the hotel, but not many places to eat that are close because it is primarily a residentail area, which is clean and safe. The owner gave us a map of Venice, and explained how to get the buses and trains, all without even asking! Free internet was also useful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    52
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
53
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A good alternative other than the over-priced Venice downtown hotels. Minutes walk from Venezia Mestre train station which is only 10 mins ride from Venice Santa Lucia train station. Almost every train going to Venice Santa Lucia train station stops at Venezia Mestre, which means you don't have to worry about the waiting time. Well-equipped room with free wifi. Extremely quiet even during day times. The hotel owner is very helpful and friendly. She provides us with free city maps and recommend itinerary around major Venice city sites. Also she helped to serve an early lunch knowing that we have to leave early to catch the train. Overall a very good choice if you don't want to get ripped off by those over-priced Venice downtown hotels. Downside is that the shower area does not have a curtain which causes water spilled everywhere in the bathroom. Not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Yuanxin_Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while we visited Venice. It is a quiet and safe neighborhood. The lady who is the owner of the hotel was very nice and helpful. Everything was very clean, the free internet worked perfectly and also the air con. Breakfast was simple but perfect for starting the day and was served at your table. For dinner there is pizzeria capri just around the corner. To get to Venice I would recommend using the train which is a 10 minute train ride to Venice. It is only a 5 minute walk to get to and you can buy the ticket at the station which costs 1 Euro and 20 cents. You can even see Venice at night because there is a late train and bus. I would definitely stay here again while visiting venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indico85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've choose this hotel mainly because it's location. Perfect for visiting Venice by public transport and very close to the Mestre train station to move to another cities like Florence, Bologna, Verona and others.
The owners are very helpful and they will provide you with the best information to move around.
Good rooms for budget price!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

A hotel in Mestre is close to Venice, much cheaper than Venice and easier to get there (We've seen a lot of people with luggage trying to locate their hotel in the small streets of Venice upon arrival)

Some minutes walking from the Mestre train station and bus location.
Situated in a quiet area with a good pizza restaurant around the corner.

Good small Venice map available.
Room was ok

Helpful?
2 Thank Bossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

After booking the hotel, I started to read in different places what a bad idea and time consuming it was generally to be staying in Mestre, so I was a bit worried. Luckily this place turned out to be really well connected to Venice one really means and desires as tourist. The frequent buses and trains located nearby give you good alternative so you can get to island or back in only around 15 minutes. Worth saving money with this hotel as you would pay more outside Mestre. And yet, thanks to the location, you don't have to worry about coming back to hotel instead of enjoying your evening in Venice. The owners were nice, caring and informative, the rooms were clean and well maintained. Nothing to complain really. if I am ever going to be coming back to Venice, it will be my first choice for accomodation.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Venice is notoriously expensive, so I'm glad we picked a place a little further out. Trains leave for S.Lucia every 15 minutes, so getting to the island isn't really a problem, and it's worth it to avoid the extra expense of accommodation. It was still fairly pricey, but good for a private room.
We stayed in a double room with ensuite. The room was nice and clean (they had quite a few flies in there, as it overlooked someone's back garden, but it wasn't too bad) and the bathroom was a good size.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.5 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#249 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martello

Property: Hotel Martello
Address: Piazzale Carlo Mezzacapo 3, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martello 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Martello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martello Hotel Marghera
Hotel Martello Province Of Venice/Marghera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing