We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Martello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Martello
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights had a double room on the first floor. Good location close to train station venice mestre which gives you easy access to mainland venice. Owner was friendly and helpful showed you how to get around and a map etc. room was very clean, shower was quite small :( wish the tv had a at least one English Channel for night time watching, there was lots of sky channels and all different language. In the other places in europe ive stayed in there is at least one. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting venice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emz91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
51
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The check-in staff at Hotel Martello were very friendly and readily provided travel tips to travel to Venice. She also gave us all the timings for public transportation in the area. The neighbourhood around the hotel was quiet and there is a very good pizzeria located 5mins walk from the hotel. The room is cosy and clean but be prepared that the shower room is quite small.

Overall, i highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is visiting venice. Its just a 15min bus ride from the heart of venice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my other half stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. For the same price, you get a far, far better experience than staying in Venice itself. The train station is 2 minutes away, and the bus stops 1 minute away. In fact, if you are coming from another city or the airport, it is much easier to get to the hotel than dragging your bags over the canals. So what if its less romantic to stay on the mainland? The hassle is much less and its less touristy.The room we stayed in was very clean. And more modern that you will find on the islands. The owner was lovely, and told us everything we needed to know, and it is so simple to get to Venice itself.
Restaurants and shops nearby are also significantly cheaper and better than the islands. I have stayed in some bad or overpriced places in the Veneto, this place is definitely one of the better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagle020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked two rooms on two seperate occasions before and after our cruise from Venice. The hotel rooms was very clean and quiet. We arrived early on both occasions (10 am) and the owner got the rooms turned over by 11 am for us. Basic clean rooms with nice size bathroom (small showers), and satillite TV. The location was very good, and just a short 3 min. walk from airport bus that we took to and from the airport. It is a 6 euro ticket each way. The train station is about a 7 min. walk, and we took the train there to Venice several times that cost 1 euro each way.. I have stayed in Venice proper several years ago, but hotel prices have gone crazy there, so we found the Hotel Martello instead at about 1/3 the price of a similar Hotel in Venice. There is a nice supermarket about a 10 min. walk from the hotel, but not many places to eat that are close because it is primarily a residentail area, which is clean and safe. The owner gave us a map of Venice, and explained how to get the buses and trains, all without even asking! Free internet was also useful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A good alternative other than the over-priced Venice downtown hotels. Minutes walk from Venezia Mestre train station which is only 10 mins ride from Venice Santa Lucia train station. Almost every train going to Venice Santa Lucia train station stops at Venezia Mestre, which means you don't have to worry about the waiting time. Well-equipped room with free wifi. Extremely quiet even during day times. The hotel owner is very helpful and friendly. She provides us with free city maps and recommend itinerary around major Venice city sites. Also she helped to serve an early lunch knowing that we have to leave early to catch the train. Overall a very good choice if you don't want to get ripped off by those over-priced Venice downtown hotels. Downside is that the shower area does not have a curtain which causes water spilled everywhere in the bathroom. Not a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Yuanxin_Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while we visited Venice. It is a quiet and safe neighborhood. The lady who is the owner of the hotel was very nice and helpful. Everything was very clean, the free internet worked perfectly and also the air con. Breakfast was simple but perfect for starting the day and was served at your table. For dinner there is pizzeria capri just around the corner. To get to Venice I would recommend using the train which is a 10 minute train ride to Venice. It is only a 5 minute walk to get to and you can buy the ticket at the station which costs 1 Euro and 20 cents. You can even see Venice at night because there is a late train and bus. I would definitely stay here again while visiting venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indico85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've choose this hotel mainly because it's location. Perfect for visiting Venice by public transport and very close to the Mestre train station to move to another cities like Florence, Bologna, Verona and others.
The owners are very helpful and they will provide you with the best information to move around.
Good rooms for budget price!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.2 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martello

Property: Hotel Martello
Address: Piazzale Carlo Mezzacapo 3, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martello 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Martello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martello Hotel Marghera
Hotel Martello Province Of Venice/Marghera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing