We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first wonderful experience on the Mediterranean”
Review of Hotel Alk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We found this hotel completely by accident in the off season of early May. The owner was outside watering her flowers, when we interrupted her. She couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming. The rooms were lovely. Large windows swung wide open overlooking the beach and the sea below. Un believe able view!
The hotel is decorated with hand painted art work that was very interesting, even compelling. Breakfast was layed out as if we were a party of 50. The food was wonderful. The language barrier was only a small problem (we spoke only a small amount of Italian). The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. I truly wished that we could stay again during high season as we felt so comfortable. If there were a bucket list of places to which I'd return, this would be high on the list.

Room Tip: Any with a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wanderers2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the family rooms. We found the hotel to be a wonderful find and regretted we only stayed 2 nights.
We travelled with 2 boys, 12 and 9 and found that the family room was more than adequate for us. The room had 2 bedrooms and was clean and current. I read a review that mentioned that the bathrooms were dated, the bathroom in our room was very current and spacious. It looked like the entire room was recently re-done. A very minor thing was that the family room we were in, and maybe this applies to all of the family rooms, it faced the back of the property rather than the ocean front. It would have been nice to look outside and see the Mediterranean but this was minor for us as not all rooms can be in the front.
Breakfast was good, typical Italian beakfast fare and the staff of the hotel were great. They accomodated us one morning by having breakfast avaialble to us before their normal breakfast hours.The staff were very helpful and super friendly. They had recommended a restaurant just behind the hotel that was very good and well priced.
The hotel provides free bike rentals and free parking which was nice after having to pay daily parking rates in the bigger Italian cities.

Location wise, it is well situiated. It is across from the beach and behind the hotel is a promenade of restaurants and shops. it is also a shot drive to Viareggio for more shopping and not to far from La Spezzia where you can catch a train to visit Cinque Terre.

We would stay here again and would recommned this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

When you come to hotel Alk first thing you will encounter are extremely kind and helpful staff, two great ladies! The hotel is small but very charming, the rooms look at the sea and across the street is a nice beach where you can rent umbrellas and chairs for acceptable prices.
The breakfast is nice with a lot of fresh fruit. Location is really good since it is only a street away from the beaches.
I would definitively recommend hotel Alk for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Hotel Alk is set right across the street from the seafront of Marina Di Pietrasanta, so most of the rooms have panorama or partial sea view and balconies. There's free parking, (many parking spaces in the shade) and free bike rental. The rooms were uniquely decorated and had a very homey feel. There was even a small fridge which we made good use of for both water, beer and the bottle of champagne we bought one day to enjoy while watching the sunset from our balcony.

The bathrooms are quite dated and the bath very old and not very efficient. It was a bath tub with an inefficient shower head. There was no curtain, so you'd have to stand up in the tub holding the showerhead over your head. Needless to say, not very efficient.

The breakfast was typical Italian with plenty of cakes, plain bread and perfect cappuccinos.

According to the hotel staff, we were to receive a discount at the private beach club across the street. It was 25 euros a day for four people, however it only included one umbrella, one deck chair, one sun bed and one chair, so not really enough for four and very expensive in our opinion. This is not associated with the hotel, so no complaints to them.

The hotel has a ton of charm and atmosphere making up for the dated bathrooms. The astonishing views make up for the not so comfortable plastic furniture on the balconies. The area is rather expensive and this hotel was the exception. Good value and great, personal service. We stayed three nights and didn't want to leave.

Highly recommended if you like small, family owned places with personal service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copenhagen_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank budybudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank angifra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#20 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#2 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Alba Hotel
L'Alba Hotel
#17 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arianna Hotel
Arianna Hotel
#4 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alk

Address: Viale Roma 265, Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alk 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alk Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing