We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, beautiful fresh food”
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, beautiful fresh food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This restaurant didn't disappoint. We requested a garden table as we were dining without small children and it gave them the freedom of space. The food was delicious and the fresh ingredients growing in the garden were literally picked and on our plates. We ordered a selection of anti pasti, cured meats and a cheese board with fruit, parmigiana with basil and balsamic strawberries and the mozzarella with tomatoes just delicious. The pasta was also fresh and light. The atmosphere was so relaxing and we were particularly impressed with the citronella spray that was automatically activated every ten minutes so that the insects were kept at bay whilst we were eating. delightful little place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FGD2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    92
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, bad service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My gf and I went here, based on a few good reviews on tripadvisor.com. We were the first to arrive, got a nice seat under a big parasol in a lovely garden, and got served fast with prosecco (not complimentary) and the menu. The waitress (who's english was very poor) came back after 2 minutes to take our order, we didn't really understand how the menu worked, cause of her english, asked to wait a few minutes. After 2 minutes she came back, very annoying indeed.. The food was good, we had the melanzane zuppe and parmaham&soft cheese to start, and as a main we had the ancient pasta and the polpette meatballs, it was nice, but not really special. During the last hour of our stay, the waitress did not ask us if we were doing ok, didn't give us any attention.
Because of that, we decided to skip dessert, and ask for the bill. Even that was to much of an inconvenience for her, she said we could pay at the counter in the front of the restaurant.
When we were standing there, we had to wait for about 3 or 4 minutes before we even got the bill. When another lady gave us back our change, she didn't look at us or even say thank you, so we decided to not give a tip.

I would not soon recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and value”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went for an aperitivo so we just had drinks and a "tagliere", but the garden setting was just lovely, the service was great, and the food very good. Being used to prices in Forte dei Marmi, we were blown away by how reasonable the prices were. We will certainly be back soon for dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdels, Proprietario at La Bottega, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you! We look forward to see you again for dinner!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viareggio, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dining al fresco”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recommend this place to my friends locally and to tourists as this is a nice example of how traditions and modern arts can mix perfectly together and how the past and present generations can find their way to cooperate. Serena and her mom work at La Bottega sharing different experiences, one managing the photography workshop, exhibition space and events, the other taking care of food and service.
I have been twice here and the service did not let us down. I have tried of the mixed menu with a wonderful Parmigiana in her colourful tiny pot and cured meat and hot panzerotti. Another time I tried the testaroli with pesto and a delicious apple cake. Taste is simple, though traditional and genuine.
The veranda in Summer time is a fantastic please to dine al fresco and listening to music, as they do each thursday.
I'll be back with my family as this place, for its homely food is also suitable for kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
410 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a great experience!
Food is to die for, people are utterly friendly and the restaurant is just so picturesque!
Also, you can really spend a little and enough and every well.
Call ahead as they are not always open.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

Marina di Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
 
Marina di Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
Marina di Pietrasanta, Province of Lucca
 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing