We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Holiday, But Not Quite What We Expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Andreaneri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Andreaneri
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday, But Not Quite What We Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Hotel Room was clean and comfortable and in a quiet location. Very comfortable beds and our room was in the shade all day, which meant it kept nice and cool without us having to turn the aircon on.

The hotel is situated about four streets back from the sea and we only caught a tiny glimpse of it from the balcony through the trees. In fact you'll only see the sea, if you visit the beaches or take a stroll along the rather nice pier which can be reached from the village centre.

It's about a 15 minute walk to the local shops and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the beach front.

You can buy your bus tickets at the Tobbacists, and many places are easily accessible such as Pisa, Lucca and Forte de Marmi. The bus service doesn't always run on time though.

Breakfast: Good Continental Choice, Meats, cheese, crosiants, fresh fruit and scrambled egg. In our opinion the fruit juice machine is one to be avoided, unless you like powered fruit juice!

Evening Meals: Consists of Starter, main and dessert. There is also a salad bar, with a good selection of various salad & savoury items (although the same every night).

The evening meals are pre-booked at breakfast time and the main course is usually a choice of either a meat, fish or a vegetarian dish.

In our opinion, the evening meals were not to our taste and so we ate out on three occasions. The soups were tasty, but the pasta dishes we found to be salty and the main courses were of very small portions.

The evening meals overall were rather disappointing and sadly we thought that the wines were far superior to the food that was on offer.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English and the waiters were very smartly dressed. Nice terrace to sit at and if booked you can have your breakfast or evening meal on the terrace too rather than in the dinning room.

Our balcony light didn't work even though we asked three times for someone either to turn it on or change the bulb (as we like to spend our evenings relaxing on the balcony with a book) we found ourselves sat in the dark once the sun had gone down.

Nice Holiday, but not quite what we expected!

Room Tip: Room 304 is in the shade all day, so the room keeps nice and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    40
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Andreaneri in the second week of June on a half board basis. The hotel is in a good location, slightly set back from the main roads where the shops, restaurants and beach are. It’s only a few minutes walk to reach anything and the hotel is in a very peaceful road. Our room was a good size and we were given clean sheets and towels daily. There was a balcony which we didn’t really use, as there were some building works going on nearby. We didn’t ask to move rooms as it didn’t trouble us too much but other guests, who were affected by it, were moved without any fuss.

The hotel provides you with a voucher for Bagno RoRo on the beach, which entitles you to two deckchairs and an umbrella for the duration of your stay. We also hired two sunbeds which cost €40 for the week. We were allocated a space on the beach which meant we could take our time in the mornings and it didn’t matter if we wanted to have a leisurely lunch. The beach was well maintained, although the sea was very rough while we were there so you couldn’t really swim in it.

The resort itself is very flat with wide roads and you can hire bikes to get around. There are lots of nice shops and restaurants where you can just sit and watch the world go by. Some of them were a bit on the expensive side but it is the Tuscan Riviera after all. We didn’t attempt to venture out, except for a half day to Portofino which was organised by our tour operator, but other guests at the hotel walked to other resorts and used local transport and said it was easy enough, although you had to purchase the tickets in advance from the tobacconists.

Food at the hotel was delicious. Breakfast was self service with plenty of cereals, meat, cheese, fruit bread & rolls and even scrambled eggs. The only issue that ever seemed to occur was the never ending queue for the coffee machine. The machine was quite slow and so very often people made themselves two drinks at a time as it took so long. I think it may have been more sensible for the hotel to have some pots of tea and coffee on the go instead but then the coffee drinkers wouldn’t have had so many choices, so who knows. At breakfast you were given a menu and asked to select a starter and main course for your evening meal, which was a bit odd at first but we soon got used to it. In the evenings there was always a self service salad buffet to start, followed by the starter and main you had picked earlier in the day and finally, a choice of desserts. Except for the salad, everything else done by waiter service. Everything was beautifully presented and tasted amazing too. You were given a table at the start of the week which is yours for the duration of your holiday, so you didn’t have to wander about wondering where to sit. We ordered wine and water with our meal and if you didn’t finish the bottle they put it on your table the next night. And if all of that food wasn’t enough, they gave you petit fours and nuts when you ordered drinks at the bar after dinner!!

All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Although we generally like to go to different places on holiday, this area and the hotel is one of the few we would make an effort to return to and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Superb hotel, room, food, all staff, resort, Thomson rep, excursion company and guides. Great location for everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111colines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of September and must agree with many reviews on here and concur that the hotel is in a great location - quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes away from the beach and the shops/restaurants/bars etc.

All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and were genuinely eager to please and help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The food was of a very good quality and there was plenty of choice available. Our room was large and spacious and spotlessly clean. Another bonus for us was that they offer free wifi for guests in the reception/lounge/bar area of the hotel.

As other reviewers have mentioned it is really easy and cheap to travel to Florence, Pisa, Lucca etc from the resort. We also went to Sienna by catching the train from Viareggio and changing at Empoli. Again it was very easy and much cheaper than rail travel in the UK!

Overall we had a brilliant time and wouldn't hesitate in coming back and staying at this hotel. The only thing we would do differently next time is to stay for two weeks as there is just so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a great holiday at Hotel Andreaneri.The hotel is located in a quiet residential area. The beach with free deckchairs is a 5 minute walk away (you will need a voucher from hotel reception) The location of the hotel makes travelling independently to Florence ,Pisa and Lucca easy.The local buses service regularly travels to these destinations.It is inexpensive and reliable.We caught the train to Florence from Viareggio which again was good value.The evening meal at the hotel was Tuscan food at its best. All the staff were helpful and friendly .My only negative comment is regarding the coffee/tea machine used for breakfast.The machine resulted in guests having to cue for varying times for their coffee or tea and to make matters worse the resulting coffee was poor in all respects.Excellent coffee can be purchased at the reception/bar area of the hotel .
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank halfslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Having just returned from our holiday, I thought I would share our experience of this lovely hotel. Located away from the busier part of the resort, this hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, but just a ten minute walk to the town centre. Our room was on the first floor, just above the kitchens. I did wonder if this would be a problem, but once the French Doors are closed from the balcony, there was no noise at all.
There was something for everyone at meal times, with a lovely choice of different salads to start, before the starter and main courses, which are ordered at breakfast. Our waiter was most polite with a ready smile, dinner was always something we looked forward to each evening.
If you are able, I would suggest you go to the Thomsons welcome talk. Brenda the resort guide was first class, very friendly and full of knowledge about the local area, and beyond. She will give you lots of tips about the local bus services etc. as well as the various trips organised by Thomsons. We took a boat trip ourselves from Forte dei Marmi, this is the next town along from the hotel. You need to buy your bus tickets first, and once in Forti dei Marmi, cross the road to the pier, where you can buy the boat tickets at a cost of 30 euros per adult. This turned out to be a fabulous day spent on the water going along the coast as far as Monterosso, with a stop of 3 hours, before boarding the boat again and going back to another small town for a stop of 1 hour. The boat returned to Forti dei Marmi at 6pm. Thomsons also do a day trip by coach, train and boat, covering some of the same places, with a very good guide, named Francesca. This trip was well worth the money.
So, overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and holiday for someone who likes an hotel in a quieter location, but not too far from the action!

Review by the two Norfolk Taxi Drivers, George and Kristine

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tegansgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in early July. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the beach and to the bus stop where you can catch a bus that will take you to Florence, Pisa and Lucca (change at Viareggio). The food is typically tuscan, with ample choices, good ingredients and cooked really well. Dinner consists of Three courses are waiter service, the first course is buffet, help yourself, again a great choice of different tuscan delecacies.IThe hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and speak good english. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a typical italian hotel in a typical italian resort..The town of Pietrasanta is well worth a visit, again you can catch the bus near the hotel, I would also recommend Lucca, which is beautiful, you can easily spend a full day here. Ps breakfast is continental, but with a good choice again, re plenished regularly. Just need to go on a diet now!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Hotel Versilia
Zen Hotel Versilia
#16 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#8 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alk
Hotel Alk
#14 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Alba Hotel
L'Alba Hotel
#18 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreaneri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreaneri

Property: Hotel Andreaneri
Address: Via Alfredo Catalani 56 | Tonfano, 55045 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andreaneri 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel in Marina di Pietrasanta, a small seaside hotel with a personal character and a lot to offer. Here, you find yourself on the fabulous Versilia coast just a short walk from the sea and from the town center, ideal both for those who love the beach and want to spend a quiet and relaxing holiday and for those who want to do day trips throughout Tuscany. Our hotel has a large garden of over 2000 sqm, private parking and a lovely terrace which facing south, surrounded by herbs, plants and our collection of over 20 different species of citrus plants. A wonderful place where you can relax or take part in our happy hour with fresh drinks and lots of snacks before dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Andreaneri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Andreaneri Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing