We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were i Marina de Pietrasanta for bicycling in the mountains. Hotel Savoy was the perfect base for our excusions. The rooms had all we needed and very clean.The breakfast had everything - including croissants and fruits. The staff were always helpful and with a smile. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    58
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Reception staff were excellent, upon checking in they gave us room key and as soon as we entered the room, the receptionist ran in explaining that we should be in a Superior Room (recently re-furbished).

The original room was exactly the same size, and we were initially happy with it, although the new room was finished to a higher standard, in a more modern/contemporary style.

Room was on side towards rear of the hotel, with balcony and still had a good sea view, albeit across the road and over a petrol station.

Our bathroom was tiny, with a shower(no bath), although the water oressure was great!

Parking was in a narrow area to rear of hotel, we left keys with reception and they moved car if other cars needed to get out.

Only negative with this hotel, is that it is located a good 20-30min walk from the main shopping/eating area of Pietresanta.

Another comment I would make is that Pietresanta is mainly frequented by Italians, so if you don't speak Italian, expect to find some problems when trying to rent a sun lounger on the beach and in restaurants/shops etc.... Saying that, everyone is very polite and do there best to communicate with us non Italian speakers!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed at Savoy at Marina Di Pietrasanta for 5 days in early September, 07. We booked a room directly from the hotel site for 85 euros/night. First of all - beware - the hotel states on their site that it is 250 km from Rome. That is so UNTRUE! It is closer to 300 miles from Rome and will take you at least 4.5 hours to drive from Rome (if you speeding, of course). It was not worth it. We wanted it to be our base for discovering Tuscany being at the beach at the same time. Well, the hotel is far away from all the attractions. Check mapquest before you go there. The rooms are so small, you can't open your carry-on luggage. We asked for an upgrade, but it was even smaller then the basic room, though it had a balcony. The bed was like a hammock. Their pictures do not represent the reality at all. You need ear plugs, because it is so noisy from the traffic on the street. Breakfast is not good either. There was never enough food laid out, and they ran out of it fast. You have to wait till they bring out more. They are very CHEAP! Their parking lot accommodates 5 cars. You get one plastic cup for brushing your teeth for the entire stay, they don’t even replace a plastic cup. On a tiny little cooler/fridge in the room they have a note that if you use it for your personal needs, they will charge you 10 euros. For the beach you have to pay 15 euros/person a day. Another option - a public beach 15-20 min. walk. Bring your towel. Very mediocre and crowded free beach. There is nothing around the hotel. No shops, no restaurants, just a street with traffic with hotels on one side and private beaches on the other. You have to drive for a meal. Another option is to eat at the hotel. 20euros per person for dinner. Very mediocre dinner as well. I truly regret we stayed there and would not recommend it to anyone. There are much better places in Italy! At least at a nearby Viareggio there is a boardwalk with restaurants and shops and street fairs.

  • Liked — Nothing, really.
  • Disliked — Very far away from all attractions.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rimma1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

The hotel is clean and basic but nice. Bathroom clean but bit small. Hotel is a good base (you need a car), our guidebook didnt mention beaches in tuscany so it was a surprise to find such a wide long sandy streech (15km?). Viareggio and Carrera marble caves worth visting. The free beach is about 20mins walk but adequate. Two minuses, firstly we booked an elegant double we got a standard twin. Secondly we only had booked for one night but decided to stay for a second because we liked it, despite hotel definately not full they jacked up the price, told us first night price only promotional!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Yorker in Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

My daughter and I stayed at the Savoy Hotel in Marina di Pietrasanta this month of May, for 2 nights. We loved the Hotel, the view from our window of the Tyrrhenian Sea, the marbled floors and bathroom, the friendly and helpful service of the staff, the delicious breakfast buffet - in short, everything. The staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests. Everyone was smiling, pleasant, friendly, helpful and outgoing. The hotel overlooks the sea and the view from our balcony was gorgeous. I would go back there in a heartbeat!

Taube Ponce

  • Liked — The natural beauty outside and the inner beauty of the marbled room.
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Savoy. We paid 110 euros a night for B & B. The hotel is chaming,very clean and staff are helpful. We had a basic side room with a balcony, with view to beach and mountains. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom good but bit small. The hotel offers lunch for 12 euros - the buffet was delightful and pasta course very tasty. Evening meals are 20 euros and were excellent - 3 courses and buffet. Hotel is a good base - we explored Cinque Terra (a must see), Pisa and Montecatini Terme ( funicular to Montecatini Alto is a great trip with lunch at the top). Hated the hassle of all the private beaches - the free beach near the hotel is awful. You need a hire car here (unless you want to stay very local and pay for beach each day) but could just about manage with bus/train. Loved the convenience of getting from pisa airport to the hotel - only about 30 mins.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable bed
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arianna Hotel
Arianna Hotel
#4 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#2 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Alba Hotel
L'Alba Hotel
#18 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Versilia Palace Hotel
Versilia Palace Hotel
#21 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Pigna
Hotel La Pigna
#24 of 56 in Marina di Pietrasanta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Via Italia 1 | Loc. Le Focette, 55045 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in front of the beach of Marina di Pietrasanta! The rooms are all recently built and equipped with every comfort! Do not miss the terrace on the top with outdoor swimming pool overlooking the sea and the Apuan Alps! Free WiFi and bicycle hire! Private parking for a fee! We wait you in Versilia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Marina Di Pietrasanta, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing