We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great spot in a gateway to western Sicily”
Review of Case a San Matteo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Case a San Matteo
Ranked #31 of 101 Marsala B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great spot in a gateway to western Sicily”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A wonderful place to stay, with informed and interesting hosts. Very comfortable, delicious breakfast service, comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Lovely historic part of Marsala, location walkable to many parts of town. Safe, comfortable and lovely. Highly recommended for a visit with family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
57
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in Case a San Matteo in April 2012. The hosts are very friendly, the room is charming (we had the hop room with terrace) and included very nice little details.
The only thing that I found a bit poor is the breakfast.
We also happened to be there during a cold weekend and I found it a bit cold to be walking on the marble in the room...some more carpets around the room would have made it warmer.
There is no elevator so if you have a big bag you can leave it downstairs and take the necessary up to the room (there are several stairs up)

Room Tip: top room is nice with a terrace and overlooking the yard - very quit for good sleep ... but be ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We didn´t imagine the house which is in a quiet and central area of the historic centre would be so beautiful and nice.
The reception was very warm and friendly and the rooms are set up very nice. The breakfast was prepared lovingly (strawberries from marsala and housemade jam...).
Tiziana gave us good advices for our stay and she also reminded us of the time change. Without her support we would have missed our flight.
It was a very nice time with the family Lipardi and we had a very pleasant stay.

Helga from Germany

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The building and the rooms are simlpe, but very nice and i like the originally furniture, and the use of antique tiles inside and outside.
The rooms are spacious and not owerlessed.
The owner Tiziana, and Maria are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann marit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Lovely place arranged around a courtyard, great location to explore Marsala on foot, spacious room with separate entrance via courtyard staircase and, most important of all, very friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts. Would go again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I fully recomend the place, it is located in the centre of Marsala, close to the most interesting places in town and few minutes from the sea. In the same time it is quiet.
The room was quite big, very nice terrace, the other terrace for breakfast.
But the most important thing is that you can feel that it is not a "plastic" and "always the same" hotel but just an ordinary south italian house in the town so you could feel the atmosphere and the lifestyle.
The owners of the place were very nice and helpfull, late hours is not a problem.
Incredible trip and incredible stay, fully recomended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magda607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Tiziana and the staff were incredibly accommodating, our room was absolutely lovely and comfortable. Case a San Matteo is located just far enough away from the bustle of the city to have privacy, yet close enough to access all that beautiful Marsala has to offer. Definitely a priority if you plan to stay in and around Marsala!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
0.7 mi away
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
#2 of 101 in Marsala
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Via Roma
B&B Via Roma
#28 of 101 in Marsala
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Vacanze Papparina House
Casa Vacanze Papparina House
#35 of 101 in Marsala
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Due Passi Dal Centro
B&B Due Passi Dal Centro
#11 of 101 in Marsala
146 reviews
6.3 mi away
B&B Isole dello Stagnone
B&B Isole dello Stagnone
#43 of 101 in Marsala
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Vecchio Marsala
Il Vecchio Marsala
#14 of 101 in Marsala
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Case a San Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Case a San Matteo

Property: Case a San Matteo
Address: Via Punica 3 | Facing the St. Matteo Church, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Case a San Matteo 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bb in the historical center in Marsala, with a little courtyard full of plants and season flowers. Breakfast is served in the nice private terrace from april to november. All rooms are ensuite with conditioning. Free wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Case a San Matteo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Case a San Matteo Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing