We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but lack of information”

Museo Archeologico Baglio Anselmi
Ranked #19 of 83 things to do in Marsala
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting but lack of information”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the museum with a guide and it was quite interesting but without her we would have felt totaly lost. The tiket includes access of the annex acheological park (beautiful site but neglected) and to the 'sibilla cumana' groto (wort a visit).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    68
    70
    36
    54
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heart breaking... ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As a student of Roman Archaeology, this museum was heart breaking to visit. The Carthaginian ship was beautiful, but also the only part of the museum with English descriptions. The other descriptions in the museum were severely outdated and the objects poorly displayed. Outside the museum, the park was even more heart breaking: signs peeling and unreadable, support poles built in the middle of mosaics, and garbage in the middle of the excavations. Save yourself the pain.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place but lack of English texts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice historical site and collection inside the museum, but difficult to find, no direction markers on the outside. Inside the museum most of rhe texts were in Italian, unfortunately..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BNijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

There's quite a lot to see at this museum, which we didn't realise at first! There are two main rooms and now a large outdoor area where you can see the archaeological dig sites too which are fascinating. When we got there the lights weren't working and there was an alarm going off, which obviously was anomaly, but as we were only in Marsala for that afternoon, the staff allowed us to visit free of charge as long as we didn't mind the faults! We could still see everything as it was the afternoon so it didn't really inhibit our visit.
The rebuilt ship is really interesting to read about and look at, and that takes up one of the rooms, the other room is filled with smaller artefacts and mosaics which again are very interesting but descriptions are mainly in Italian so it can be hard to know what you're looking at if not familiar with the language. Outside is a huge area, much bigger than we knew, but it was so good to be able to see the dig sites with artefacts there and also the Roman road is amazing to see.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good idea to visit this museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

At the most western point of Sicily in Marsala, you will find this nice museum. In the building there are two rooms, one with all kind of materials found in the area over a millenium and the other room houses a punic ship. Very interesting to see how such a ship was built. Outside there is a large area overlooking the sea with a necropolis and other archeological sites. Museum is really worthwhile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riekie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Baglio Anselmi also viewed

Marsala, Province of Trapani
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Baglio Anselmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing