We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delfino Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I read some reviews on here and wasn't looking forward to it to be honest but my wife had booked a long weekend for the two of us via Groupon Holidaysbooked.com and it was very pleasant indeed. Hotel is clean, pool is immaculate. Our room was in the main hotel and was also clean and serviced by the maid everyday. Food is very Italian but one of my pet hates is people who go abroad and complain they can't get burger and chips so that was fine with me.

The bar is only open between 12:00 and 14:00 and 17:00 until 22:00 and doesn't serve beer in the all-inclusive package but the wine was OK.

The hotel was pretty full but we were the only English couple there with the rest of the guests being Italian. We found the Italian guests and also most of the Italian staff very un-friendly and rude on a couple of occasions.

The hotel is indeed in the middle of nowhere and although we had lovely weather and a nice, relaxing weekend, I wouldn't want to stay there much longer as things would get boring

Holidaysbooked.com just seem to use local people and their private vehicles for the airport transfers and although ours turned up on time, I can imagine problems arising for some people

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main hotel and not one of the remote complexes
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeedDog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Delfino Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was moved to this hotel as apparently the hotel i was meant to stay at (maggagirri) was undergoing essential maintenance work (the 4 other people at the delfino was in the same position as us).

This hotel is meant to me a 4 star hotel. In reality it is a dirty travelodge. The pool is nice and well maintained. However signs are broken, there is litter scattered around, and the hotel is run down.

The rooms (we stayed in 2) are dark, dingy and very old fashioned. They are however clean. The room was noisy if you want an early night - 10pm. The bath/shower flooded the floor every time we used it. This was never sorted, and we were never moved. The air con did not work properly and the volume on the box television did not work.

everyday at 5pm by the pool, they play very loud music. I didnt mind it as it was modern music, however a lot of people really disliked it and moved from the pool.

the food was ok, but every lunch and dinner there was the option of 2 pasta dishes and a risotto. Pretty bland. The cold buffet at dinner was ok, quick a lot of choice, though not for everyones taste.

The hotel is in the middle of no where. There is no where to get away. The only place near by is a supermarket, which sells cheap beer and has a good deli. - this was our salvation. The hotel does run trips. we went on a boat trip and got a taxi into marsala. both were ok, good to get away from the hotel.

The beach is dirty, full of cigarette butts, seaweed, rubbish and debris off the sunbrella. You also have to pay for a sunbed and umbrella.

The bar was only open between midday-2pm and 5pm-10pm. you can not get any drinks including water outside this time unless you want to pay. There is no local beer included in the all inclusive. The wine was hit and miss, sometimes it stank of egg, and they staff tried to say it was the wood it was stored in. The vodka tasted like tequila, it was awful, i could not drink it. Basically the only drinks that were ok and included in the all inclusive were the soft drinks.

There is no entertainment or music in the bar. You have dinner at 8pm then there is nothing to do except watch the children entertainment and the bad cabaret- which consists of acting in italian.

The hotel is full of old people. do not go here if you are under 60! and also full of italian familes

Tennis courts unusable. Broken damaged, and rubbish dumped all over!.

Room Tip: none, but the ones that are not in the main building are slightly quiter
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Delfino beach hotel is an amazing relaxing holiday. The food is really nice and the workers dont speak much of any language but are very pleasant. the pool is very clean and the bar the same. our of season (may) is good as we had to share the entire complex with no more than tem people and the beach was empty. The only thing i would criticise is the bar. it is hardly ever open and the only free things (all inclusive bearing in mind) is wine, water, lemoncello and hopuse vodka and house coke.

i would never recoment HOLIDAYS BOOKED.COM they may be cheap but there is a reason. they dont do anything!! during our trip they spelt names of passengers wrong and out of all their passenger i spoke to NOBODY'S transfer arrived. And if you think they do refunds think again. i would strongly advise against this sloppy, money grabbing organistion. the only reason they are in busness is because they steal peoples money.

Room Tip: The apartments had their own private drive which was really nice and their own patio so there was a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfairyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Avoid this hotel if you're looking for somewhere really interesting to stay in Sicily. It's not the hotel that I'm criticising in this statement because to be honest it was okay, but it's in the middle of nowhere and I really do mean nowhere. No shops nearby, no quaint restaurants, no nothing.

The nearest town is Marsala, which only has one single tourist attraction and that is the winery. It's impossible to walk there because there are no pavements, and a taxi for the 5 km distance is 15 Euro each way! I notice on the website that the hotel claims to have a twice a day transfer into Marsala, and this is quite true their little bus goes to the railway station and back but it goes out in the morning and comes back in the late afternoon and there is nothing and I do mean nothing to do in Marsala to while away the hours.

We had bought a three night package on a groupon, and it was obvious from the start that everything about this all inclusive package was basic. The food was bland, except for breakfast and the tiniest tiniest possible lunch. The drinks in the deal were (apart from wine) the kind of drinks you wouldn't choose to normally drink. In desperation on the last night we went for the a la carte meal in the hotel's restaurant or we would have gone stir-crazy.

The hotel was actually quite nice (we were lucky enough to be in the main hotel) and the young guy who cleans the excellent pool deserves a special mention - cleanest pool I ever saw thanks to him.

It's all about Location, location, location - and it's the pits!! Think very carefully before you opt for this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We chose to stay in Delfino beach hotel in the first half of May because I can hardly cope with the very hot weather one can experience in the Mediterranean in July or August.
Unfortunately, marks of "pre-season" were visible everywhere. Cutting grass, trimming bushes, doing some construction work or painting façades was an everyday business.

It's nice that the hotel has its own beach with umbrellas and lounges, but it looked as if after a battle. Obviously, no maintenance has been done after the winter yet, so the beach was full of old seaweed and other litter. Besides, from our room it was about 400m away.

The pool near the hotel itself was being cleaned at the beginning of our stay, so no one was allowed in it. Otherwise the pool was nice and clean with lounges and palms providing shade. The other pool had no water in it and was not filled up at the beginning of our stay - no trouble, wouldn't go there anyway.

We were accommodated in one of the detached buildings, some 200m from the main building. The room (type "Garibaldine") was spacious and quite tidy, equipped with a small safe and daily cleaned. On the other hand, it was on the base floor, facing wall and with little privacy as people, and occasionally cars, passed by. The nearby trash cans could be smelled now and then. The school trips that stayed a few days in the same building, combined with thin walls, did not make the whole place more quiet.

We had half-board and the buffet-style food was quite good.

Overall, seeing the photos of the historic building of the hotel proper and knowing it's supposed to be a 4* on the beach (that's how it was advertised), we were rather disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can choose, I'd recommend to pick a room in the main building overlooking the pool area...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin_Kriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We bought a deal with Groupon for a 3 night all inclusive stay at this hotel. For ease, I'll list the issues we encountered during our short stay:-

1. We arrived at 11pm desperate for a drink - water, cola, anything! Only to be told that "all inclusive" meant drinks (of any sort) were only available between 12pm-2pm and 5pm-10pm! So we had to buy a bottle of water from a vending machine.

2. Our room was away from the hotel and really shabby. The bed was the worst part. Neither my husband nor I managed a good night's sleep on holiday because the bed was rock hard and you could feel the metal coil springs underneath. Our pillows also had old brown stains on them.

3. Our TV, air con, telephone and fridge didn't work.

4. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. As our stay was short, we didn't plan on hiring a car but ended up doing so just to get away from the hotel. The reception desk had no travel brochures about Sicily so we didn't know where to visit or how to get there. We ended up reading road signs and navigating ourselves to the nearest city, Marsala, which was tiny. Luckily we found a tourist information desk there and got some details about places to go.

5. The food at the hotel was AWFUL. Breakfast consisted of cereal, (stale) cheese, and bread that could kill if thrown at someone. Lunch was one pasta dish which was immersed in tomato water. Dinner was just as bad. Everything tasted bland but we got so hungry we were just glad to be fed!

6. Lunch finished at 2pm and dinner didn't start until 8pm. If you got hungry in between, there is nothing you can do about it. There is no open kitchen or restaurant and because the hotel was so far away, you couldn't even walk anywhere to get food. I met one couple who got so hungry they asked reception for something to eat and was met with a cold response and told to wait until dinner time.

So, in short, the hotel completely ruined what was supposed to be a romantic good-value-for-money break and it has completely put me off Sicily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pui U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Upon arrival, we have been placed in the partially build resort, outside the hotel territory rather than in the hotel building itself. The room contained 4 beds (we were a couple). We have been given horrible velvet bracelets and were told we have "all inclusive" basis (however, we have officially had to have half-board), that basically stood for being treated like a kettle class: we had different premises for dining, and different menu, very modest and limited choice of food (in comparison to the general buffet that was not allowed to us). The swimming pool was closed, no remote control for the TV, no even teapot and cups in the room, no minibar (just as a standard requirement for 4 star hotel), 10 mins walking to the restaurant for dinner.
The location is basically in the middle of nowhere... one bus a day to go to the nearest city (at a very expensive rate) and one to come back.

I was very disappointed, and talking to the local residents and other customers in the hotel, Delfino Beach is hardly two stars, leave alone 4* !!!

plus, if we were to go there in the season time, the beach (15 mins walking) would be for a fee, same as umbrella and chaise long there! How good is it for 4* hotel?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EleonoraKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania C, Direttore at Delfino Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Sirs
Thanking for your kind stay at Delfino Beach Hotel, we’d like to give you some information about your stay
Our Hotel consists of several independent buildings.
On the main building is the reception, the bar, the restaurant and the access to the swimming-pool, in the other independent buildings are the rooms
We dispose also of a private beach and of a restaurant on the beach
We are just 5km far from the centre of MArsala.
All the information about Delfino Beach Hotel**** are mentioned in our website and in all the brochure about us.
Your reservation was an “all inclusive” formula, upon check in we gave you some written information (as shown in your photo) about it.
In this document is also specified that dinner could be served at table or at buffet service.
The swimming pool was closed because in march we had bad weather, unfortunately it is not always summer in Sicily!
I'm sorry you didn’t ‘t find the remote control in your room; teapot and cups are not part of the material available in our rooms, but could easily ask at the bar and would be made available!
We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your choice!
Usually our guests are very happy about the relaxing opportunity of a stay by us (in a seaside resort not very far from the city centre of the historical city of Marsala, joined by our daily transfer service)
Staying at your disposal for any further information, we appreciate your opinion because is important to improve our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsala
4.8 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,683 reviews
19.4 mi away
Zahira Resort & Village
Zahira Resort & Village
#1 of 1 in Tre Fontane
499 reviews
3.7 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#8 of 18 in Marsala
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#4 of 18 in Marsala
101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#6 of 18 in Marsala
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfino Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfino Beach Hotel

Address: Lungomare Mediterraneo 672, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfino Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delfino Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Beach Hotel Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing