We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Pleasant Stay”
Review of La Salinella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Salinella
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Most Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at La Salinella. The apartment is spacious, comfortable, and efficient. Our hostess was most accommodating, and parking was convenient. We especially loved our evenings sitting on the balcony for drinks and dinner watching the light change over our view of the sea. We highly recommend La Salinella.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and me were staying one week in La Salinella. The time was much too short cause the whole region is so rich of outstanding impressions that take place in a scenery between sky and sea. The apartment is perfectly located in a 10 min walking distance to the centre of Marsala.
It was the perfect base for our daily discoveries. The apartment is part of a new building in a calm zone. It is absolutely clean and tidy and fully equipped with all new facilities. The kitchen provides you with everything, therefore we enjoyed preparing our breakfast and sometimes also our dinner there. The terrace is quite big and besides having our meals there it was an ideal spot for our daily yoga practice. And Alessandra, the host, is an exceptional lovely and reliable person and you can always call her for any information. The lobster at Pino's was great! C u next time! Tante belle cose per voi ;-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexrippka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The La Salinella apartment is comfortable, very clean, and has a good location. I stayed there together with my sister and we really enjoyed it. The owner of La Salinella did everything possible to help make my stay enjoyable (looks like that Alessandra is only one who speak English in Marsala). She helped us to negotiate good price in rental company for a car, organized taxi from airport, helped us with trip planning and also helped us to translate everything in local pharmacy. Apartment is big enough with 10 minutes walking to the old city. Nearest beach is 5-10 minutes (private beach and you have to pay €10 for beach umbrella for two, but everywhere else is the same, if you want umbrella). Marsala is lovely city, specially old town and has a great location if you want explore west Sicily (ask Alessandra if you want rent a car, much cheaper then any rent company which i found on internet).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fils33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMash
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed in one of the excellent studio apartments located about a 5 minute walk from the old town of Marsala. The flat was very well decorated, very clean with an excellent bathroom and terrace which got sun pretty much all day long. Marsala is a quiet town however there is enough to do, and it is so easy to make day trips to Selinunte, Trapani, Erice, the Egadi Islands, San Vito le Capo, to name but a few. I highly recommend a stay here and especially in these apartments. Alessandra the owner also met us at the airport despite our flight not arriving until 2300, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Södertälje
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We had a wonderful eastervacation in Marsala. The aparment was very close to the old town, within walking distance (4-5 min).
The terasse was super, both sun and shade so you could chose to move into the shade when it became to hot in the sun.
The apartment is well equipped, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.
Alessandra was very helpful, when we arrived she guided us round the Marsala which made it much easier for us to orientate on our own.
I do recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoPeL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Had a wonderful half term break in Marsala. Apartment in good location, close to town. Fresh fish and veg market every morning except Sunday (park just after the Merry-go-round and you wont have to pay the big guy a euro). Ideal base to get to the Ancient Greek temples and cities, but you will need a car to get to these as the buses and trains are not very frequent, and the train station is a long walk away. Marsala has a lovely old town, and we are glad we came here rather than Trapani. Alessandra met us at the apartment with the keys and has directions etc to the places of interest. She was very helpful when we wanted to change the time she collected the keys.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familydemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is an apartment rental and NOT a hotel,
We were 14 guests who came from Norway to celebrate my wife's birthday. We rented a studio for 2, one bedroom for 2, one larger bedroom for 4, and managed 6 in the 2-bedroom apartment. Accommodations were comfortable and clean. The studio terrace and 2-bedroom terrace were next to each other so we could all gather there for coffee or a meal or to make plans for things to do in Marsala. The apartments are centrally located so that you are only meters away from both city and sea.
We didn't even need a car. Get bus tickets at the tabaccaio for only one euro (or pay €1.30 directly on the bus). If the local bus couldn't get us where we wanted to go then we hired a bus with chaffeur for the day (e.g.Segesta and Sambuca di Sicilia).
The area is very quiet (unless there is a strong scirocco wind around). The view from the 3rd floor one bedroom apartment was beautiful. The mix of sun and rain did not dampen our spirits.
Marsala is a historical goldmine. Phoenicians, Carthiginians, Greeks, Romans, Saracens, Normans, Spaniards, French, just to mention a few, have occupied this city/island for the past 2500+ years. Only about 100 kilometers from Africa, it was also the point of Garibaldi's landing and the eventual reunification of Italy. Since there are so many residents who have relatives in the USA, it was an ideal point for the invasion of Allied forces and the re-liberation of Italy in World War II.
The people are most gracious and kind. Our hostess at the apartments was always pleasant and just a phonecall or email away with a prompt reply or help.
Erice, Mothia, Phoenician ship,Segesta, wine tasting (plenty around - nearest is Pelligrino but Donnafugata is also an excellent choice (especially since we had a guide who spoke NORWEGIAN (and Chinese, German. Portugese and one or two other languages). Unfortunately the weather did not permit us a visit to Favignana but I have been there before and would highly recommend it.
The next time someone associates the infamous "M" word about Sicily, tell them you have discovered a new and better "M" word - and that's MARSALA."

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
4.1 mi away
Delfino Beach Hotel
Delfino Beach Hotel
#11 of 18 in Marsala
829 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#4 of 18 in Marsala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#5 of 18 in Marsala
362 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Isola di Mozia
Hotel Isola di Mozia
#10 of 18 in Marsala
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
#2 of 101 in Marsala
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Salinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Salinella

Property: La Salinella
Address: Vicolo delle Saline 8, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — La Salinella 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely city center apartments and rooms with balconies or terrace, comforting and furnished with taste to offer a pleasant atmosphere to the guest. Each apartment and have fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bedroom, shower bathroom, TV, fans, heating, bed linen and towels, balconies or terrace, common parking or garage, tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Salinella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Salinella Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing