We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No WiFi” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No WiFi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Plus
Absolutely stunning ancient building with extremely well-preserved original detail.
Tastefully decorated rooms and beautiful lobby.
The nicest, most capable front desk manager in Italy.
Minus
No Wifi - was unreliable even in lobby; tried over 2 days, with 2 different machines. The manager said they had had many problems.
Bug spray smell in room
Small ants coming from original stone wall (I can forgive this, the wall is 300 years old; I'm sure they could have solved this problem by plastering over the wall.)
Mold in downstairs room shower (no problem in the upstairs room I was in originally.)

Room Tip: If they get the wifi problem solved and you reserve an upstairs room, this could be a good choice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    180
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
280
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel Carmine appears as a three-star hotel in the guidebooks but it is as well-appointed as many four-star abodes. When we arrived in mid-evening after traveling for close to 11 hours, we were greeted by a friendly and helpful staff person who recommended a top restaurant just minutes from the hotel. Carmine's location in the old part of the city was very near the Piazza della Republica and the Mediterranean Sea. It offered mostly available parking right outside the door and served as a good stepping off point for visiting western Sicily's historic sights such as Segesta, Erice and Selinunte. Tasteful renovation of this one-time convent resulted in elegant public spaces and a large, well-appointed bedroom overlooking the church square. The bathroom shower was a bit claustrophobic but that detail couldn't detract from the hotel's beauty and warm hospitality. The morning breakfast was as lavish as those found in hotels with one or two more stars. If we were to find ourselves in Marsala again, we would definitely book the same room at Hotel Carmine.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the beautiful church square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldergrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, CANADA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed just one night at the Carmine and would return to both Marsala, and this hotel. (Having said that, I'd request a room overlooking the garden courtyard, not the one stuck at the back overlooking an abandoned, weed-choked lot.)
Very trendy and expensive renovation on this historic building shows obvious focus on maintaining a style from a byegone time of travel in Europe. Sit in the cozy chairs in the bar with a drink and admire all the special architectural touches --just perfect.
Again, the room we got wasn't that impressive but others in our cycling group raved about theirs. Luck of the draw.
The breakfast was outstanding --such pastries! --and staff were efficient and helpful, if a bit reserved.
Of course, central location in the midst of great restaurants and a very good value pricing make the Carmine hard to beat.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking garden courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is in the centre of Marsala and was quite difficult to find - we were misdirected several times. However, once we found it we thought it was very attractive - a convent, beautifully converted. Unlike other reviewers we found the staff to be pleasant, particularly the young man who tried to find me a room where the internet worked. We had a small but pleasant room which opened onto a long terrace with steps down to the wonderful enclosed garden. We didn't hear any other guests, again unlike other reviewers. The bathroom was fine, and the room attractive and clean. At this point it seemed that the only less desirable aspect was that a number of rooms looked out onto a slightly derelict looking field and I commented that I wouldn't like to be staying in one of those.

The breakfast was served in the beautiful garden, under what I assumed would have been the cloisters. Breakfast was plentiful with the usual selection. The woman who looked after breakfast guests was very good - after the first time ordering she remembered my coffee preference.

The only down side to this hotel was the last night. We came back from dinner and were discussing checkout arrangements the next morning, when I noticed a very large cockroach emerge from under a door to the back of reception and walk across into the adjoining sitting room. This was pretty awful, but then several more appeared, and soon there was a cockroach convention! I was badly put off by this, as although we may expect these things, I don't really expect them in a decent, relatively expensive hotel. I immediately mentioned them to the night receptionist, who misunderstood me and thought I'd seen mice or rats, which I didn't find particularly reassuring, as he seemed quite nonchalant about them. When I showed him the cockroaches he simply turned the light off in the room, so we couldn't see them. This unsettled me and I had a particularly poor nights sleep as I am something of a fanatic about cleanliness and am very clear about undesirability of 'visitors' of that kind.

As other reviewers have mentioned I didn't find Marsala to be that interesting, although slightly out of town there seems to be a long and very popular beach, if that's your thing. It's one of those places that I don't think I will return to, and the hotel the same..

Room Tip: the room we had, which was separate and opened straight onto the garden, at the rear of the hotel wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank someplacenice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabln
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, very close to the sea and center, and nice building.
Much space and very elegant rooms.
Cleaning service top, reception staff really helpful. Overall staff very kind, polite, helpful...
Very remarkable and comfortable rooms, with a nice garden.
Breakfast of a kind with many cakes.
Wifi available, parking,....
Charming place
I do really recommend

Room Tip: Different rooms styles and features, ask at reception AC, Garden side, Balcony or others features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very comfortable hotel in a great location for visiting Marsala. Had a nice room (16) over looking pretty garden. Breakfast had a wonderful selection of homemade cakes and great baked apple
Don't miss the Flemish tapestry museum near the duomo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Hotel Carmine in Marsala. We were in a lovely quaint room which opened up on to the beautifully manicured garden. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Gaspare on front desk was nice enough to organise for a case of wine that we had purchased to be sent home to Australia - we could not have done this without him! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Marsala.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_BMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsala
1.5 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stella d'Italia
15.6 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#11 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
6.3 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#6 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmine Hotel

Property: Carmine Hotel
Address: Piazza Carmine 16, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
#2 Family Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmine Hotel Marsala
Carmine Hotel Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing