We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot in Marsala's Center”
Review of Carmine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

They needed 3 years of renovations but the wait was well worth. This converted historic convent has everything a traveler could want, and that includes free parking which is rare in the center of any city. Some of the rooms have huge balconies overlooking the garden (formerly cloisters) which is the perfect spot for some late day refreshments. If you travel much in Italy you are used to the tiny showers by now so don't let it get to you, it's the norm. The front desk was extremely helpful and they provided detailed info on everything we needed. A sure-fire can't miss stop in Marsala that is walkable to everywhere, and di I mention the free parking?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DCspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This charming hotel in a quiet piazza right in the centre of town is a perfect place from which to explore Marsala. Pleasant rooms, delightful breakfast, lots of space downstairs to sit and plan your day - and such pretty gardens. The staff at reception were most helpful, including the delightful Gaspare. We very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our sat nav struggled to guide us through the warren of narrow streets in Marsala to find Carmine Hotel but it was well worth the effort. The hotel is located in a lovely piazza in the old own. There is free parking but it is not easy to find a space until you leave your keys with the nice man from reception & the problem is solved. The building is a fine mix of old & new decor, it is very clean, very spacious, & very quiet. The staff are polite, friendly, and helpful. Breakfasts are very good. There is a lovely garden & a large bar / lounge. We stayed for 3 nights in April & thought this hotel was the best out of the four we stayed in on our tour of Sicily.We also think it is definitely worth more than its 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after arriving late at Trapani airport. A beautiful palazzo with great rooms, very friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast. This hotel easily deserves more than its three star rating. We had difficulties finding a parking space the night we arrived - the night porter took our car keys with the words "it's not your problem, it's my problem"!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thengit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Carmine Hotel is about a ten minute walk from the main square of Marsala and located on a quiet back street. In a building formerly a convent, it has been restored and repurposed with skill and style. (One momentarily disorienting feature on the first floor (American 2nd) is a glass floor over some old tiles--preserving their beauty without exposing them to rolling suitcases.) There is a lift from the ground floor to the first, and there are, I think rooms on an upper floor that is only accessible by stairs. A very comfortable lounge and bar is worth mentioning. The breakfast was pretty much standard Sicilian--fruit, pastries, cereals, yoghurt, meats, cheeses etc. and very good coffee. Oddly, in an island with millions of orange trees, no oranges in the fruit selection.
The staff were very cordial and helpful with directions. Some guests were parking directly in front of the hotel--a great convenience, although I congratulate them on finding their way through the narrow streets of Marsala to approach the hotel. We spent three nights at this establishment and found it very satisfactory. Free Wi-Fi connectivity is available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent, central and quiet location, nice set-up in a former convent. Nice room on the first floor with a view on the garden. Good breakfast buffet.
Nice bar, great local wines and they come with a surprise ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a welcoming hotel with excellent rooms and a wonderfully generous breakfast. Right in the centre of the city, and with splendid public rooms. It does not, however, have a restaurant for dinner

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
1.5 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#6 of 18 in Marsala
378 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#3 of 18 in Marsala
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#13 of 18 in Marsala
286 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Isola di Mozia
Hotel Isola di Mozia
#10 of 18 in Marsala
157 reviews
6.3 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#8 of 18 in Marsala
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmine Hotel

Address: Piazza Carmine 16, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
#2 Family Hotel in Marsala
Price Range: £95 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmine Hotel Marsala
Carmine Hotel Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing