We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok but terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The young woman greeting us was less than helpful - on checking in , she did not ask us if we wanted help with our bags (both 65 +). We found a restaurant we wanted to go to and asked her to make a reservation but she said there was no need as it was thursday evening , our thoughts were that she couldn't be bothered - when we got there it was fully booked .

She took our passports on arrival and gave us them back on departure the next day - when we got to our next hotel after a two hour difficult drive , we found that she had given me the wrong passport - fortunately the owner of the hotel in Monreale was a star and got on to the hotel manager of Best Western and my passport was driven up and the other passport taken back .
The room was good , the breakfast was poor - the fruit bowl was dirty and some of the fruit was going off.
Total lack of effort and attention to detail here.

Room Tip: A high room with a balcony is nice - good view over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Very-very difficult to find even if you have a GPS. If it is not important for you to be in the very centre of this city, choose another hotel!
The atmosphere of the room and the whole hotel is gloomy, our view from our vindow (delux double room) was anything but not nice (instead of the dome an ugly roof).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attersee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Honestly speaking I have never been to a good Best Western hotel. And this is the same standard hotel. Too pricey for such a bad accomodation. Small bathroom, tiny shower, ugly furniture. I think that maybe the 70+ british people may like it. But definitely not me.
Avoid to stay there! Actually,I've been to two good hotels in Sicily at all. Sicily will not become my favorite destination. The people here don't know what is a trashcan. The dirt is everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klmasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 3-6 September 2013 in room 402. Using our satnav we were guided perfectly to the hotel; despite the late hour (23.30) we were welcomed and helped to park our car. Great service! We checked in and moved to our room. Nice room, good bed, very nice and spacious bathroom. After unpacking we went to La Sirena Ubriaca, a winebar just 100 meters from the hotel (see review there). The next morning we went for breakfast. The breakfastroom is large: on the left there is the bar where coffee is made to order; a large buffet with a choice in different meats and cheese, of course lots of sweet pies. Service is good.
The buffet didn't change its assortment during our stay. We had a good, comfortable stay in the hotel with very kind staff and perfect, free, parking facilities. Recommended!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 4th floor have terrace with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoudjeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you want to have an enjoyable stay right in the centre of the old town of Marsala then this hotel is a gem ! Very friendly and service orientated staff who speak good English (and French....). We spent a week here in early September as my son was getting married here. Very comfortable hotel, spacious very clean room - and a bed which was perfect for me..! The bathroom was also very well appointed. Air-con worked well. breakfast was fine....a good selection (no egg and bacon - but boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cakes, ham, salami, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juices etc etc - everything you need !). The hotel is a great place to stay if you want to spend some pleasant relaxing days exploring the old town and narrow streets of Marsala and it's inhabitants - and the surrounding area..... Lots of good food nearby (see TripAdvisor) ! - plenty of restaurants to choose from. For lunch, light dinner or just a drink try Risto Bar just down the street - where you sit out in the street and watch the world go by..... Gioaccino who runs it and works there is wonderful - he gives you great service...wearing his black cap and apron...and what a wry smile ! He also speaks good English.
If you have no car then take a buss (the buss station is also down the street on the left).....to the beaches..."S" line ....get off at Lido Delfino....and walk south along the Beach for 500 meters to a place called Lido Al Gaxebo .......quieter than Lido Delfino (which is a bit tacky and busy). Two restaurants at Lido Gaxebo...right on the beach.....great for lunch. Sandy beach with clear blue water ! Another worthwhile day trip is to Erice at the top of the mountain outside Trapani...can take a small cable car to the top....medieval town with fantastic views over south west Sicily - lots of restaurants......cooler temperature at the top.
If I was to comment on any improvements which the hotel could make ...they would be:- To have wi-fi in the rooms themselves (but wi-fi is VERY good in the corridors and reception / breakfast areas !)....and put a VingCard electronic lock on the doors.
We really enjoyed our stay...a big thank you to all the staff at the Stella for great service and a friendly smile !! Taxi fare from Palermo airport to Marsala should be about Euro 100,- one way (wish we could fly to Trapani). Sad to be back in Norway ! R and I

Room Tip: We booked a superior double room via hotels.com....very comfortable bed ...and no noise from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorwayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Truly a Stella/star. A bit hard to get to since its so central however the location makes it worthwhile. The staff is great and very helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious. Unfortunately our room had a very bad wifi connection. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltaboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Cozy and beautiful location in the center of the old town of Marsala. I strongly recommend the restaurant on the side street on the back of the hotel for dinner.
We stayed 3 persons in a triple superior which had 2 rooms. Spacious and clean. We first got a room on the first floor facing the back which got noisy at night(machines cleaning the street) but changed to a room on the second floor on the second night and everything was fine. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up( at least not on the first floor facing the back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank majamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
3.5 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#3 of 18 in Marsala
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#2 of 18 in Marsala
576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#6 of 18 in Marsala
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#13 of 18 in Marsala
286 reviews
6.1 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#8 of 18 in Marsala
378 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sammartano Hotels
Sammartano Hotels
#14 of 18 in Marsala
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia

Address: Via Mario Rapisardi, 7, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stella d'Italia)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
#3 Family Hotel in Marsala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marsala
Stella d Italia Hotel
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing