We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hideaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect hideaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is a perfect hideaway for people who like to get away from it all.
The rooms are nice, spacious, clean and all exit into the courtyard. This innercourtyard is a
silent, cool and peaceful oasis. It was our favorite place in-between trips, ice-cream and
pizza-pasta. We are furious readers so this was an ideal spot to sit with a good book. The
only thing we sometimes had to do, was greet the other guests while they where passing
by. You will find a handy dispenser here, cappuccino, water, ice tea and light snacks at
your fingertips. Marsala is a very relaxt town, the most peaceful Italian city we ever
visited. The corso (XI maggio), is an ideal long street to stroll, shop or just sit before the
cathedral and watch the sun make long shadows. We never felt more secure in any other
town. The breakfast is in a nearby bar. It’s very simple but if you’re still hungry you can
always order something more and pay for it. The prices are really nice, no tourist trap
prices. We had the choice between three bars. Something for everybody. I recommend
Delizie on the Corso and Borgo antico is a good second. All around the city are beautiful
sites that demand a visit. Trapani, Mozia, the Egadi islands and Palermo where some of
the places we visited. And with the bikes provided by the hotel we even went to a beach,
to read and swim.
The friendly hotel staff; Valentino, Alessandro and the charming cleaning lady where more
than helpful whenever we needed a travel information or had any other question.
Valentino even provided a shared taxi at a - between friends - price. So the transit to the
airport lasted only ten minutes. We stayed eleven days and we were really sorry to leave
this little tranquil hideout.
If you stay here, don’t forget to eat in restaurant ‘Divino rosso’. It’s on the Corso nearby
the hotel and has an excellent menu. Pizza, pasta, even French fries. Try ‘Busiata al pesto
Trapanese’, delicious. And again, no tourist trap prices. ‘Borgo antico’ is a good second
choice if you want more authentic dishes.
Live long and prosper.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IhateTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Unless you want luxury this is the best overall hotel I stay at in 6 days travelling Northwest Sicily. It's located in a clean and friendly preserved Roman town that is like a movie set, perfect for end-of-the-day dinner and drinks. There are several museums and churches and a cathetral with a great piazza. But the key is that with a car you are ideally located for day trips to wine country and rives along the coast, Roman ruins, and all of the nearby towns that are in the guide. You do days trips within an hour, then cruise back home to marsala to relax at your home base. Rooms are basic, but newly-renovated and quiet in the style of a Roman house with wooden doors and window slats. Great price makes is a gem. The guy who runs it loves visitors and is an expert on wine, has a wooden cask of Marsala in the lobby, with good Internet. There is a free parking lot directly across the lane owned by the hotel, so you pull in and relax.

Room Tip: Get free hotel coupons for dinner/breakfast nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

we stayed here for only one night, the hotel owner spoke english, was very friendly and welcoming. there was building work going on in the courtyard but it didnt matter as the room and bathroom was brand new and was immaculate, very tastefully furnished with good quality furniture and bathrrom fittings. The room was quite small but that didnt matter either as it was gorgeous, very rare in sicily or italy we have found. Marsala is a very friendly place, much nicer than Trapani. i would stay here again, it was lovely and fabulously located too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejayne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The hotel was lovely, the rooms were extremely clean, quiet and spacious.
The hotel is located in the centre of town within walking distance from bars and restaurants. From this location it was also easy to travel around the north west of Sicily as the main attractions such as the Riserva dello Zingaro and Erice as they are are all about 1-1.30 hours away from Marsala.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was at a bar nearby and it was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micol_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

We were booked here by the town tourist office. It's not fancy but has big rooms and is very clean. A very helpful staff and a location which simply can't be beat. It had everything we wanted and was one of the least expensive places we stayed in Sicily.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2006

I was slightly hesitant about booking this because I couldn't find any reviews on-line (there are some now). However it proved ideal for our overnight stop in Marsala.

We were touring W. Sicily's archaeological sites in a hire car and wanted somewhere where we could park safely, but we also liked to have a central base for exploring whatever town we were staying in. This place is right in Marsala's old town (near the Porta Nuova and Piazza della Vittoria, it says in my notes) yet it has its own off-street parking opposite.

It's a basic, comfortable bed and breakfast with rooms opening off a courtyard. Our room was generously proportioned and had a full-size fridge by way of a minibar. The shower room was also fine.

The front desk seems to be manned 24x7 and the people are friendly; they don't speak much English and we don't speak much Italian but we met each other halfway as it were. Breakfast (coffee and croissant or similar) is in a bar in the nearby piazza - they give you vouchers. (We happened to have fetched up in the same bar the previous evening, when we were given delicious complementary pastries to go with our glasses of Marsala.)

A lot of the town's restaurants seemed shut in the evening - it was right at the end of October - but there was a nice pizzeria open just round the corner from the hotel (think it was just inside the old city gate).

Even though the hotel is so central, the location seemed pretty quiet at night, except that there was some sort of late-night jazz concert going on nearby the night we stayed. We slept well anyway.

  • Liked — Convenient position + parking
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel is sign-posted as you approach by car
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stella d'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#11 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sammartano Hotels
Sammartano Hotels
#15 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baglio Cudia Resort
Baglio Cudia Resort
#9 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Via Salinisti 19, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Centrale 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centrale Sicily/Marsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing