We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views - if you don't mind the cliff edge drive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from this lovely hotel near Sorrento. We spent a week there, on an all inclusive basis, and enjoyed excellent service, delicious and plentiful food and very good company,
The hotel is at the base of a high cliff and is accessed via a VERY twisty, narrow road featuring several blind or hairpin bends, necessitating beeping of the horn or 3-point turns to negotiate them. The drivers of the hotel shuttlebus were more than capable and we had every confidence in them on our many journeys up and down the cliff. It is not really advisable to attempt to walk this road as the bends are so tight and narrow that it would not be safe if you met a vehicle on the way.The views from this road were stunning as was that from our top floor room which was of the sea of the Bay of Naples with the island of Ischia facing us. Our room was comfortable, though fairly basic.The fridge was a welcome asset and complimentary water was replaced each day. A safe was also provided free of extra charge.
Locals often use the hotel bathing and sunbathing facilities and account for extra traffic on the road to the top of the cliff. Hotel guests have separate 'guest only' facilities. Swimming in the sea is possible on 'calm' days, and we heard is wonderful, but on the first days of our stay this was not possible as the sea was too wild and the waves were quite spectacular against the concrete breakers.
We had some heavy rain overnight on one occasion and this led to some muddy areas on the grass. Extra matting or wooden walkways may have helped.
Entertainment at the hotel was quite low-key but pleasant enough, and only on 3 nights during our stay. It consisted of one of two different gentlemen entertainers who played the keyboard or guitar, one of whom also sang and encouraged hotel guests to sing in karaoke fashion.
There were mosquitos in evidence while we were there so guests would be advised to arm themselves with repellent. You didn't really see or hear them and you didn't know you had been bitten until the red lumps appeared!
When travelling into Sorrento the shuttlebus, which was fairly frequent and easily booked in advance, would drop us off at a convenient location near the heart of the city just a 10-15 minute drive away. We loved Sorrento and there is plenty to see and do among the cobbled streets - lots of interesting shops, pavement cafes, churches, museums of marquettey and of musical boxes, art galleries featuring exhibitions of work by Picasso and Leonardo De Vinci, two marinas - a visit to Marina Grande - once a small fishing village, is a must and of course delicious ice-creams and magnificent views of Capri, Naples and Mount Vesuvius across the bay. We saw several weddings parties including newly married couples walking along the city streets and even one bride and groom enjoying the local city train! You could also stroll through a lemon grove hidden in the town and sample the local liquor 'Lemoncello'. We didn't travel on the public transport on this visit, so we can't comment on it except that we did hear that it can get very busy so you are best to travel early to get a seat.
We paid a very interesting visit to Pompei which is much larger than we had imagined, so a professional guide was valuable to get the most out of our time there. Vesuvius was worth a visit, involving a steady uphill walk to the crater,- be warned it can be cool and windy on the top. A trip along the Amalfi Coast by minibus, (The Amalfi Experience') was a great day out and we spent considerable time in the charming and picturesque towns of Positano, Amalfi and Ravello and saw truly remarkable scenery on the way. I'm an experienced driver but I would not wish to drive in this part of Italy! You would have to have nerves of steel to cope with the scooters (which can overtake on the left or right of you) and other road users on such narrow and demanding roads.
We really enjoyed our first visit to Sorrento and our stay at the Conca Azzuro. We have already booked to return next year as there is still so much to see and do - Capri, Ischia, Herculaneum, and a boat trip back to Positano to name just a few! As we didn't get to visit Sorrento at night time (I didn't fancy the drive back down the cliff in the dark in spite of the competence of the shuttlebus drivers), we intend to stay in the city itself next time so we can experience the street entertainment and evening atmosphere.
Although a beautiful place to visit, anyone with limited mobility would be restricted as to where they could go The roads are narrow and busy and not always with pavements. We only saw two wheelchair users during our visit. Careful research would be needed before booking.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing. There are 3 floors and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UnwinMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just got back from a two week holiday through Thomas Cook (11/7/2015-25/11/2015). We arrived mid afternoon after a few minor delays with the flight but staff were waiting for us and we were whisked away for a late lunch while our bags were taken to our rooms. A taste of the great service this hotel provides right from the off. In our room was a bottle of sparkling wine which was another nice touch. The room was very clean with a lot of wardrobe/storage space and had a great shower with plenty of hot water. Some people have mentioned that the rooms need a refurb but ours (307) was fine.
The staff make this hotel. Franco, Tina, Catello, Fanchesco in the restaurant, Salvatore by the pool and Anna at reception deserve a mention although everyone were superb. Nothing is too much trouble. Maids do a brilliant jobs too with room cleaned daily with new sheets and towels. One day we went on to Naples and Herculaneum but were delayed on the train back not arriving back at the hotel until 9pm very fed up. We'd phoned the hotel from the station so Franco and Catello were there and had a table waiting and within 5 mins are spirits were raised once more with our meal and a bottle of wine. We felt like we'd come home. The food is amazing with full waiter service. Unusual for an all inclusive. Buffet breakfast with cereal, breads, cheese, ham etc plus a cooked option as well as fruit and yogurt and cakes. Lunch was a ordered from a menu as was dinner but with a buffet for your starter. The was antipasti type bits then two courses brought to your table. You helped yourself to the deserts. It never got repetitive and we were constantly surprised by how good it was. Sitting on the terrace watching the sunset over dinner will be one of our lasting memories. On Mondays they do a Neapolitan buffet night which was nice but not up to the normal very high standards of the other meals. On Thursdays they did a BBQ evening and this was very nice and a nice change. The drinks were excellent too and take pleasure in bringing you a bottle of wine rather than a glass. We will normally eat out 3-4 times on an all inclusive as it gets boring and we feel like a change. We only eat out once in the evening this time and that was because we didn't fancy the Neapolitan Buffet again and wanted a meal in "Meating", Sorrento which we'd read about. The shuttle bus service to Sorrento was excellent and I'd also recommend going into Massa Lubrense which is walkable. We had a coffee and pastry there a few times in the morning. The marina is very pretty too if you fancy the walk down. The hill out from the hotel is a challenge but perfectly walkable and of course there is the shuttle bus if needed. I ran up the hill most mornings so you're not trapped there as some other reviews have implied. You'll need to take some exercise to counteract the effects of all that food anyway!
There's not much going on in the evening which is how we like it. Hotel entertainment is generally terrible anyway! With Sorrento on your doorstep, you have that option after dinner anyway if you fancy a bit of nightlife.
We went on two boat trips that we arranged via Salvatore, head lifeguard. One on to Amalfi and Positano which is the only way to see the Amalfi coast, and the other to Capri in the evening. During the day the island is flooded with thousands of tourists and you can't move but during the evening we were there with mainly the people that live there. Great for those that love people watching. Both trips were on a smaller boat with 6-8 people and very enjoyable. Sorrento is a lovely place too and so easy to go to with the shuttle. We walked it once and it took an hour.
The pool and waterfront area is used by locals who pay for the privilege. We had reservations about this in case it made it too busy. There's nothing to worry about and we loved watching the Italian families. They love their children and family life. Three generations normally turn up to enjoy the sun and gave the place a little injection of life. It got busier on weekends but never bothered us. Hotel guests have there own area to relax in the sun which is very quiet. The pool although salt water was only a little salty. It wasn't 100% seawater and very refreshing as was the sea which is right on your doorstep. There's no sand so water shoes make it easier. Other guests had problems with the mosquito bites but we brought a spray with us and didn't get one bite.
We loved our holiday, Italy and it's people and a big part of that is down to Concca Azzurra. We plan to return in a couple of years. Thank you Concca Azzurra!

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room no. 306 or higher for the best sea views. These rooms are situated nearer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cleslie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights at the conca azzura in July.we came to recuperate after having a major operation, what a shock. First room small, dark no headboard poor. Moved to room next door , woke next morning to ants all over bedroom didn't unpack cases phoned Thomas Cook .that was a joke they sent a rep who could only offer us to move to the moon valley at a cost of £2000 , bearing in mind we paid £2400 it get here.my daughter works for Thomas Cook we phoned her she said the moon valley looked worse than our so we stayed. We got offered two more rooms which the rep looked at one all fusty with paint hanging of walls and damp she said go in the other room 307 ,the bathroom had ants.we spent a day phoning round sorrento for another hotel we had no joy other than b&b in the capodimonte at 400 euro a night. We tried to make the best .the grass area all boggy with sprinklers not working,broken sun beds.44beds and 12 in a boggy mess.a jacuzzi full of chlorine which the locals sneak into. The only pool is open to locals and on a sat and Sunday is like an Italian butlins the pool is filthy we would not go in there is hundreds of Italians there and they also use the hotels sun beds which is supposed to be for hotel guests only. This is not described nothing like in the brochure , the brochure says of a Caribbean outside bar ,this is 3 pieces of wood knocked together. On the Friday we moved to room 4 after having the gardener spraying our room every day ,to a room running wick with ants .dead and alive ants all over the bed room thousands again sprayed 3 times to which I finally flipped. The mini coaches provide a good service but probably wouldn't be road worthy in Britain ,the food is ok but get to the buffet early as it's out hours and has no chiller areas so if not early the ham and cheese on a morning is curled at the edges,and on an evening attacked by midges. The Mossys are really bad so go prepared for lots of bites , and you sit on the same chairs in your swimwear that you sit on an evening in your nice clothes.the staff are wonderful and do their best I feel sorry for them .the morning flying home no water so we couldn't have a shower or wash other than a bottle of water to brush teeth what a laugh.everything is old and falling to bits.if you want a good quality hotel ,or have been used to 5 star in turkey don't go to this hotel you will be disappointed if you want a good 4 star then go into sorrento not this hotel it's more like a 2-3 star

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view and even the top floor level3 has ants be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks last September for our honeymoon. We were given the junior suite which was lovely and spacious. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing which was just what we needed after the wedding! The food is lovely and is always served to you rather than a buffet which made a nice change. Franco the head waiter was lovely and made sure we were looked after. The only real criticism we had was about the entertainment. A few nights they had a guy on a keyboard which was really boring! The guy who sang with the guitar was quite good but after going into sorrento town and seeing the amazing accordion players maybe this would be more entertaining for the guests at the hotel? Overall a very nice and relaxing stay with good food and fantastic sea views! Also beware the mosquitoes! They will eat u alive so take a good quality spray with you!

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank Tinkertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What can we say, we stayed here for two weeks with all the family as we were getting married in Sorrento, this hotel has the most amazing staff, its clean the food is amazing and the wine and cocktails are fab.... The staff not only got together with my maid of honour to make sure I had a great hen night, they made me a cake and joined in on the photos, This wasnt your normal hen night it was a dinner and drinks with the family, as we didnt want to disturb all the other guest.
This is truly an amazing place to go to, stunning views, a great shuttle that takes you to town which was lovely for us, as we have a 2 year old and didnt want to be in the thick of things, Sorrento itself is also just as breath taking, everything is so close (ie. train station,harbour) Pompeii is a great day out and so is Capri, we rented a speed boat for the day and done it ourselves as we didnt want to do a tour...
Highly recommend Conca Azzurra sea club hotel...AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went to this hotel with my partner at the start of June. I couldn't say more great things about this hotel. The staff were amazing and helpful at all times, the bar staff being exceptionally amazing. On this site I had heard people say amazing things about Franco the head waiter and although he was great I felt that the other staff at times were even better as Franco one day came across very grumpy and had his favourite customers that he would spend more time with. Thomas cook were not that great at planning trips with us as they were overly expensive but this is nothing to do with the hotel more just advice to plan trips through the hotel facilities (trip to Capri was the best) or by yourself. Although there is not much entertainment at night, every 2nd night we had a man come and sing and play either guitar or keyboard which is very entertaining (he could learn some more songs though) The hotel is rather out the way and although the bus up and down the cliff to town is quite rickety it is very safe and there is no need to worry with it. The hotel is great for people wanting a relaxing time and also has the option to go explore for those that don't like just lying relaxing in e sun. Amazing views as well as amazing food every night made this one of my best holidays. Definitely would advise anyone visiting Sorrento to stay here.

Room Tip: If possible ask to be either bottom floor as view is still amazing or if high up on the left side ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lochfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just arrived back from a 10 night stay with our 3 year old daughter at the Conca azzurra hotel. We have travelled to many locations around the world and I would rate this one as one of the best . I would recommend this hotel to people who want to experience the real side if italy and people who like to do day trips as this hotel is an excellent base to explore , we visited Capri which we used the hotel shuttle service to get into Sorrento , and then we used the regular ferry service which only takes about half an hour . We also visited Herculaneum using the local train service and we went on the Thomas Cook day trip to rome (very long day). The all inclusive package you get at this hotel was above our expectations , if you asked for a glass of when you would get a bottle! The food was amazing, you could choose from a full menu with waiter service and the food was top quality with so much effort put in . The rooms were very basic , they were cleaned everyday thoroughly and bottles of water were replaced in the fridge. Our room was a family room which was located on the ground floor with a little garden area which was perfect as we had a buggy.All of the rooms face the sea. The staff at the hotel were so helpful , in particular when our daughter fell off the slide and split her head open , straight away everyone was there to help , the life guard and the caretaker went out of their way to help us with taking her to hospital and made the situation a lot less stressful , I've never met such nice genuine caring people before. I would definitely return to this hotel , the only think I would change would be at night times for them to play some music and get some entertainment so people could have a dance etc , as it did get boring later in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Lubrense
4.1 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
1.5 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#5 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
900 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort

Address: Via Villazzano 3, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#8 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: £839 - £1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Resort Sea Club Conca Azzurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing