We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Massa Lubrense”
Review of Torre Cangiani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massa Lubrense
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torre Cangiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only had two nights in Torre Cangiani but wished we'd had more. Lovely old building surrounded by olive and lemon groves. Friendly host who welcomed us warmly and directed us to the best walking paths and sites. Great food available in the nearby villages and gorgeous Mediterranean vistas and swimming spots. Our room was equipped with a small kitchen and a private bath. All was spotless and attractively decorated. The bed was comfortable and we slept soundly. We'd definitely come back here if we ever return to this part of Italy.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views. Ours did not, but we liked it anyway because it was quiet and tucked awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtrachsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Torre Cangiani and we enjoyed it immensely. We arrived after 11 p.m but we met but Christiano who was very nice. The place is so cute and kept with exceptional care and love for every detail. I took a walk in lemon garden and it was fantastic. You find a modern bathroom in the old house and it was a very pleasant surprise. The views are just magnificent, especially feom the kitchen terrace overlooking Capri and Vesuvio. We had a dinner with the family and other guests, somewhow we felt as if we are living in a big family, food was great and Aldo is very caring.
We speaks good English and sincerely tries to help you with every single thing. He rushed to get tickets for the bus for us.
Highly recommended to all guests travelling with cars

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

There are already so many lovely pictures of this lovely farm that I won't try to compete. Suffice it to say that our stay was a delight and that Aldo & Matilde were delightful hosts. The 'Library' room in which we stayed was spotlessly clean and a gracious, stylish abode. We ate one night 'en famille' & recommend the pleasant relaxed style and Matilde's delicious family fare.
The nearby Puolo beach restaurant, St. Raphael saved us a steep walk down & back with a door to door car lift, saving a tricky drive in our hire car and allowing the driver to enjoy a glass or two of the pleasant local wine.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SurGe0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Life is too short and there are just too many new places to see. But, Torre Cangiani is an exception. I don't give 5 Points to every place I visit. As other reviewers have said, it is beautiful beyond description and the family, Aldo, Matilde and Christiano, are very special people. It is not just that this tower has been the family home for a thousand years. Their love for the place is contagious and their warmth is real. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, B&Bs, and other such places, but Torre Cangiani is unquestionably among our top one percent. The vista includes Capri, Ischia, Bay of Naples, Naples Harbor, Vesuvius and Sorrento. Torre is located on a hillside where you can wander through the family's lemon orchard, and olive orchard, see the cattle, chickens, a horse and duck. It is not a tourist show. This is a working farm and an historic beauty. It is genuine, not some tourist facade where they make a quick buck and send you on your way.

Room Tip: Each room is different. We have seen all of them and though we have our favorite, we would gladly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived at Torre Cangiani late on 28th April and from the moment we got there we were offered a warm welcome from Aldo and Matilde. Throughout our 5 night stay they were always on hand to offer advice or even a lift into Massa or Sorrento. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate twice in the evening and Matilde's cooking is not to be missed. If you are looking for some where quiet with plenty of real Italian hospitality and cooking then this is the place for you. The house is a delight and the views are awesome.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet with a view choose the Guestroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristiano N, Proprietario at Torre Cangiani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

I am pleased that your holiday was spent pleasantly, is the most important thing for us .
All the best for the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Torre Cangiani is not only a place, it's a lifetime achievement of an admirable couple that have put all there assets and great sense of taste into a careful conservation of this beautiful building with its fantastic views all over the Napolitan coast, the Vesuvio, and CAPRI!!! Never mind if you go there solo, with friends, family, as a couple or for business, you will be warmly adopted and fit in to former times, where both, hosts and guests enjoyed a genuine hospitality. Thank you so much Matilde and Aldo.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very diffrent, but no matter what you choose, you will feel thankful to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anietta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at this agriturismo for two nights. A very beautiful home and special setting. Really look forward to going back, mainly because I felt so much at home, most thanks to the hospitality of the two hosts Aldo and Matilde, an older couple with lots of energy and heart. They live in an old tower which hosts 4 extra rooms/small apartments for guests (we had our own kitchen in our facility).
During out days there the rooms were occupied by two older couples and two younger couples. (I count myself and my partner as one the younger couples, we are in our lower thirties.)

Do have dinner with Aldo and Matilde if you have the chance. The food is fantastic, home made, and the ambiance very nice.

Also, do take the chance to try lemon marmalade. Amazing!! If Matilde has run out of it, go next door to the other agriturismo "Il Giardino di Vigliano". This is the brother of Aldo and they have a small boutique selling their local produce. By the way, since Aldo and Matilde has so few rooms they often refer quests to the brother, which basically is the same facility.

We stayed in the "library", which I believe is the most simple room. Still, while like a simple apartment it is completely livable. Large bathroom and own kitchen, if you want to cook your own food.

Two things that I hope they will improve until next time: we were not very comfortable in the bed, for us the mattress (orthopedic) was too hard.
The second thing was that there was no wifi... not that we wanted to surf all the time we had there, but we needed to book a room in Napoli and every time we came to the computer there was another guest sitting there checking facebook.... it seems that disconnecting is not the desire of most guests, even though the stay really offers just that. - Also, if you're staying in the library, like we were, the computer with internet is in the common room that you walk through, so this does decrease your sense of privacy to some extent.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the library, but in one of the other rooms... Of course if you need your own kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leijina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
2.6 mi away
Casale Villarena
Casale Villarena
#1 of 2 in Nerano
198 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,031 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casale Villa Marzia
Casale Villa Marzia
#1 of 1 in Schiazzano
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Cangiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Cangiani

Address: Via Partenope 40, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Massa Lubrense
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Cangiani is situated in a historical and environmental context unique in the world: the Gulf of Naples and the Amalfi Coast. We have 4 double bedrooms, 2 with kitchenettes. We can add 3 extra beds. Available to families and longer stays there is a perfectly independent apartment of about 100 square meters, comprises entrance hall, living room. Habitable kitchen and bathroom on the ground floor, upstairs are two bedrooms and a shower room with the possibility of two additional beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing