We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”
Review of Le Sirene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Sirene Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Massa Lubrense B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We went to this hotel as part of an InnTravel walking holiday itinerary and absolutely loved it. The warm, genuine welcome from the Mariana and her husband (and family) set the perfect tone for our two days here. The room was great and the sea view and sound of lapping waves, just incredible. Not only that, but the food was absolutely superlative.

The town itself is a surprise after the relative intensity of Positano and Amalfi. A small, simple fishing village (with only 20 residents) nestling at the end of the peninsula surrounded by stunning scenery, it adds another, welcome, dimension to this coastline and is very memorable. I hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I spent two days at the Hotel del Sirene as part of the InnTravel's hiking short break and had a wonderful experience. The hosts - Mirabella and her husband - were kind and hospitable as was the staff. My room was simple and comfortable with a fabulous view of the pier, beach, and sea beyond. The piece-de-resistance of the stay is, as others had mentioned, the food. It's home-cooking that highlights the local cuisine - fresh, delicious, and plentiful! Hiking around the area was absolutely fabulous, even in the (unusual) drenching rain. I highly recommend Marina del Cantone and Hotel del Sirene for a relaxing and active vacation, especially during off-season.

Room Tip: Sea-front rooms for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We spent 10 days along the Amalfi Coast and out of 4 different hotels Le Sirene was my favourite place to stay. We loved the location on the sea front (you must ask for a sea view), leaving the doors to our balcony open in an evening we were lulled to sleep by the sea lapping on the shore. It was a bonus to have the hotel's sunbeds on a private part of the beach. Our room was comfortable but the highlight of our stay was the warm welcome, excellent food, wine and hospitality from Marinella and Alfonso. We had fabulous antipasti, seafood and fish dishes all beautifully home made and the local wine recommended by Alfonso was excellent. The restaurant has a lovely view over the bay. Marine del Cantone felt very Italian and we heard very few English voices during our stay. We would love to go back so we could try more of the delicious food, wine and ambience that we found here.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great selection of antipasti.... octopus salad, ricotta, cozze, zucchini flower, etc... and the great dish of Pasta alla Nerano!! Pasta+ egg+cheese + zucchini. As a dessert, try torta Ricotta e pera!!! HOME MADE!!! Local wine is more than good! The location cannot be best! Front see view!
Ask for their boat excursion!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giogagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

It was 2007 when we stayed at Le Sirene and had a perfect few days. We had intended staying in Sorrento but one night was enough and on leaving the next day chanced upon Marina del Cantone and Le Sirene. This is certainly not luxury accommodation but is very clean and on the shore of a lovely bay with no crowds in September when we were there. The restaurant serves rustic local dishes prepared by the family and full of flavour. If you want fine food there is a Michelin starred restaurant a few minutes away.

Be sure to have a front room. It was a true paradise listening to the sea at night. We enjoyed Le Sirene far more than many four starred hotels that we have stayed at. A true jem and We will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastapasta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The hotel is situated right on the pebble beach in this small fishing village. From the approach to the hotel, we weren’t expecting great things – but had a very pleasant surprise. Overall, we had the impression of a family-run hotel, efficiently managed and very well cared for by its owners.

Right on the seafront, there were obviously great sea views. (And of course, the sound of the waves on the shore – may be a problem for a light sleeper!)

For a hotel of this class and price-range, we thought the accommodation was excellent.
The room was on the small side, but was adequately equipped with all the basics. (The TV was wall-mounted.) The décor was in a pleasant blue-grey, with a tiled floor. Double doors opened to a little balcony, and a foldaway chair was provided for sitting and admiring the sea view.
There was a reasonably sized en-suite shower-room (no bath) – with a double sized shower-cubicle and excellent shower that I would be pleased to find in a four or five star hotel. The bathroom suite and tiling looked very new. Everything was spotlessly clean and in good working order.

The public areas of the hotel (bar/lobby area) and restaurant were also well maintained, attractively decorated and furnished in a maritime style.

The food in the restaurant was excellent in quality and quantity. The proprietress was happy to talk about the food and suggest choices from the menu, so everything was individually and freshly prepared. We gathered that much of the produce is grown on the family’s own land. The fish dishes were excellent (as you might expect in this location), the antipasti selection was a meal in itself, and we would also particularly highly recommend a ravioli dish and a chocolate pudding/cake dessert!
Breakfast was simple – tea/coffee/ orange juice, bread/rolls and croissants with butter and jams – all served to the table.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
#21 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lo Scoglio da Tommaso
Lo Scoglio da Tommaso
#25 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Campanella Resort & Spa
Punta Campanella Resort & Spa
#31 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirene Hotel

Property: Le Sirene Hotel
Address: Via Marina del Cantone, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Sirene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Sirene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing