We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views; beautiful gardens; spacious accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massa Lubrense
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Erca di Beatrice
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed for a week in Apartment Capri and did not want to leave! Capri has a large dual aspect balcony so you have the opportunity to enjoy the sunshine all day together with spectacular views of the island of Capri, the Bay of Naples and back over the rustic italian countryside in the other direction. The apartment is spacious and airy; incomparable to what the same money would get you in a Sorrento hotel. The apartment is within driving distance of Positano, the Amalfi Coast, Sorrento etc as well as Massa Lubrense jems - there are at least 5 beaches/bathing areas within a 20 minute drive of Villa Erca and we enjoyed local beaches much more than tourist-filled Sorrento/Capri. There are two good restaurants within walking distance though if you have mobility issues or small children, note that the area is hilly and not well lit at night.

It is advisable to hire a small car and arrive in daylight; the sinle track road to Villa Erca is both steep and with hairpin bends. That said, despite being slightly nervous after our first attempt up the hill, we got the hang of it by day 2 and would definitely go back to this little peace of paradise. But for the road this property would get a 5* rating. The hosts are very friendly and helpful - make the most of their extensive local knowledge and tips on attractions/top bathing spots. Loved the pool and garden area.

Room Tip: Apartment Capri has an amazing balcony. It is on the second and third floor so if you have mobility...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyD507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Villa Erca di Beatrice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

The villa is a lovely old place surrounded by olive and citrus groves, with a fabulous pool, and Beatrice is a delightful hostess. Our apartment Capri was spacious and charming, with private terraces overlooking the sea and the island of Capri itself. The location was quiet yet convenient for Sorrento, Positano and walking distance to a couple of small grocers' and restaurants.
You are advised to take a small car as the road is narrow and steep in places, but it is perfectly manageable and you quickly get the knack.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The villa is fabulous, the garden is a little paradise, a revival of the senses with the aromas and flavors and the beautiful view is a poem.
The apartment is full of charm and very comfortable, the swimming pool surrounded by olive and citrus groves, is quiet and relaxing.
the little dogs have been adorable and the female boxer was so sweet.
The hosts has been very welcoming and gave us a detailed explanation of the most beautiful hikes in the peninsula.
a really relaxing and enjoyable villa on the coast of Sorrento!

A&U

Room Tip: Vesuvio apartment and Capri apartment
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelicaeugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a very special place, perfect for a relaxing retreat. Upon arriving in this typical southern Italian villa, surrounded by Mediterranean nature, we immediately felt the energy of this special land.
The architecture is beautifully traditional, the apartment is spacious and comfortable, with a very large terrace where we enjoyed our morning breakfast with a view of the Vesuvio.
The coast is marvelous, we had the option to go on boat trips or hiking through the hills, or strolling in the neighboring towns and enjoy delicious local food and hospitality.
Back home we could relax in the swimming pool in a beautiful garden with a gazebo, our own brick oven and outdoor kitchen.
The hosts were very warm and welcoming, attentive to all of our needs, they helped us choose our excursions and entertainment. Overall we felt very comfortable with sharing the common areas with the other guests and the hosts.
This adventurous yet comfortable and relaxing place met and exceeded our expectations of a typical southern Italian experience. We were extremely satisfied, thank you again, we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiziana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a large old villa, a palace almost. One half of the Villa has been turned into four apartments, three which are rented out as holiday apartments. The other half of the Villa is in the ownership of a third party.

We stayed in apt capri and it was quite nice really in a faded grandeur sort of way. It has lovely views and it is quite well furnished thought the beds were not too comfortable and the spiral staircases are a bit tricky especially with luggage to get up and down.

The pool and gardens were all great and the people who run it are really nice. They have some nice dogs too which are very friendly.

So why only 1 out of 5? Well the access to this Villa is quite simply dangerous. If you do choose to stay here then you need to know what you are getting yourself into and make sure you take full insurance on your rental car because you will most likely scrape it. We had to negotiate the tight, steep, twisting road on a wet day and it was truly an experience I wouldn't like to go through again. I should point out that I am no driving woose! I have a 4x4 that I use off road and I have had a few very fast sports cars too, but that is no preparation for this. To get round some of the blind corners you have to go at full tilt in first gear honking your horn as you go in the hope that you don't meet something coming the other way.

So while this is a great Villa run by very nice people. I really cant recommend it all, it's that bad.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Doirefad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a nice quiet villa near to Massa Lubrense. We used rented cars to travel around so distance was not a problem. But small serpentine road to villa calls for strong nerves and good driving skills. Smaller car is really useful. We were able to park all 3 cars at villa but its tight.
The pool is great. Kids love it. Water was quite warm although its not heated.
We used many times outside BBQ to grill something. Once we even made local fish which was total success.
Beatrice is very friendly and explaines very well local activities and how to get around. You really need an advice if you are not familiar with local life.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed at the ground-floor apartment with two young children (2.5 yrs and 3 months). None of the noise and distraction of the city, but very well located. Walks in the area are outstanding -- 15 mins to Schiazzano, 10min walk to town (w/ grocery store -- excellent local cheeses, prosciutto, olives, etc.), even to Massa Lubrense (about 30 mins via footpath). Lemon groves wherever you walk! Note that this is a hilly area with many footpaths. If you have small kids, better plan on using carriers -- definitely no strollers!

You're also a reasonable drive to Positano (~45 mins), Sorrento (~15 mins), and we also took a train from Sorrento to Pompeii, which is about 30 mins. Same with Capri. In short, you can see and do everything on the Sorrento/Amalfi coasts, but still stay in a very peaceful setting. The pool is terrific, you can call to order pizza & pasta from the restaurant in Schiazzano.

The apartment itself is quite spacious, 2 bdrms, 1 bathroom. The kitchen/living room area is quite cool on hot days -- one of the kitchen walls is simply exposed bedrock. Pretty extraordinary, actually. Note that you don't have the whole house to yourself -- the owners live on one side, and there are 2 (?) more units that are rented. So don't expect complete privacy, but the atmosphere is super friendly. There was another family with kids staying upstairs, and it was very nice for the kids to play together, etc. The resident dogs are very friendly with kids. Owners also speak quite good English, so communication isn't a problem, though that's not necessarily the case for nearby shops & restaurants, where having a bit of Italian will come in very handy.

Wireless internet works well -- sometimes may need to ask the owner to turn it on, though.

Very fond memories, and would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank vasilgrozny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#2 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#5 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
882 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casale Villarena
Casale Villarena
#1 of 2 in Nerano
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agriturismo Oleum
Agriturismo Oleum
#8 of 37 in Massa Lubrense
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Erca di Beatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Erca di Beatrice

Address: Via del Rosario 2 | Santa Maria Annunziata, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Erca di Beatrice 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Erca is a large Century villa set on the lush hillside of the Sorrentan peninsula facing Capri, on one of the prettiest coastlines of Italy. It has been restored and converted in 4 private apartments, of which only 2 are let, sharing the pretty garden and swimming pool. The apartment on the ground floor leads directly into the garden. Massalubrense is a virtually triangular in a shape -its north-eastern side borders with Sorrento, whilist the other two side are formed by the gulf of Salerno and the Bay of Naples, with Punta Campanella at its vertex, facing Capri. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing