We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Simply Wonderful" Dean & Connie 13-23 Jun 2014”
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We cannot praise this hotel enough. The food, hospitality and service are second to none. The location scenery is absolutely breath-taking. Massa Lubrense and Sorrento are beautiful. If you want a relaxing week in the sun, with must see trips to Pompeii & Capri, look no further than Hotel Delfino. We will definitely be booking for next year. See you there…!!

Grazie Mille

Dean & Connie, Derby

Room Tip: You must pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sean S,

On behalf of the all Staff I thank you for this very beautiful review

We try really hard to guarantee always an excellent service to all our guests and we are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you next year.

Best wishes

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned yesterday from 10 days at the Hotel Delfino. It's a beautiful hotel with some of the most stunning views we've seen from a hotel. Here are the pros and cons in our opinion:

PROS:
Amazing views of Capri! Get a room with a sea view (we didn't - it wasn't a problem as we didn't spend loads of time in the room, but it would have been better with a sea view, certainly).

Hotel is so clean - it really is spotless. I read some reviews about the hotel needing some updating - ours must have been a newly updated room as everything was totally up to date and fresh.

Staff - all were really friendly and helpful. They remembered our room number and drinks orders.

Shuttle bus - brilliant service and totally reliable. You're about 20 minutes from the town and this bus takes you there / back every 2 hours. It's free too! I've read reviews about the bus being full and people standing - it was never full when we caught it.

Lots to do - we could and probably should have done more! Pompeii was good - take the train though as it's much cheaper than the advertised trips and it's so easy: you get off the train and you're there. And it's only 8 Euros for 2 people. Everyone was raving about the Capri/Amalfi coast boat trip: unfortunately the weather wasn't right for the trip on the day we were going so we missed that.

Peace and quiet - very quiet hotel with few children, which made a nice change! If you're looking for total chill out time, this hotel is ideal. There is no hassle whatsoever.


CONS:
There is no beach! Not sure why details state there's a private beach as we certainly couldn't find it! There are some rocks and there's a lovely bit of sea you can jump into and swim (but be careful because the sea could become very choppy very quickly).

Food - I'm not saying it wasn't good because it was absolutely fine - we personally prefer buffets on holiday rather than a la carte. There was usually something we could have - and if there isn't anything you can always have spag bol or fish. The buffet on Monday (apparently they do this every week) is great - loads of choice. The snack bar choices were better but very expensive so we only used that once.

S-L-O-W and unreliable wifi. It is, however, free and does work - it's just really slow and my phone disconnected to it every time it went to sleep.

There is also no mobile coverage there as you're in the middle of nowhere - this might be what you want, though! Personally I like to have wifi and a signal on holiday.

-------------------------
The hotel is very quiet and not suitable for children. It is also very hilly with lots of steps, not just at the hotel but also in the town so this isn't suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

We would recommend this hotel for couples wanting something quiet and relaxing. There's lots to do outside of the hotel and if you're looking for something with a view this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sklhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sklhaz,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we really appreciated your words.

Normally at our Hotel there is a beach, but after rainy days or when the sea level is high, the beach is not visible anymore.

Due to the position of the Hotel the wifi can be slow sometimes and the phone signal is not always available. We are trying to fix this problem. However, when a device is connected to the wifi it will disconnect automatically if the device is not used for more than ten minutes, in order to guarantee a better service to other Guests connected.

We hope to see you again in a very near future.

Best Regards

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks spent at the Delfino hotel in Massa Lubrense, Italy. The hotel overlooks the island of Capri and is in the most beautiful of settings. The views were absolutely stunning and the service and cleanliness of the hotel were excellent. The staff were attentive and helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them, particularly the pool staff, Giovanni and Maximus who were very amusing and made our holiday experience comfortable and fun! The food was very good with varied choices and the presentation was excellent. I would certainly consider returning to the Delfino Hotel and would recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzylo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mr Ozzylo,

We thank you so much for this review we are really happy to know that you had a nice stay at our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards.

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for a week with my wife; lovely little hotel, amazing views, very quiet and relaxing, staff were friendly and extremely helpful, saltwater swimming pool and your very own sea cove.

The only thing to watch out for is that there's a lot of steps given that it's a cliff top location, and it's about 20 minutes from Sorrento by bus, so if you're after party Central then this isn't for you, but it was exactly what we were after, and we're already thinking of a return trip.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Gareth A,

We are really happy to hear that you are satisfied of your stay at Hotel Delfino and we thank you very much for this wonderful review.

We hope you will visit us again in a very near future.

Best Regards

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from a week at Hotel Delfino, I would recommend this Hotel to any of my friends.
The views are spectacular, the food is amazing, spotlessly clean, the waiters are very attentive and
amusing. I would return if I went back to Sorrento area.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeannieGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mrs JeannieGi,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
We hope we have been able to satisfy all your needs and that you had a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Best Regards

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in Italy, and this location was our favorite. The hotel sits on a cliff side overlooking the island of Capri. There is a private swimming cove below the hotel that is accessed by a stairway from the pool. You have to at least get in the water as it is so beautiful! The rooms were plenty spacious and provided your basic amenities. What my husband and I really loved were the 2 large sitting areas. One area had a TV (people were watching the world cup) with sofas and chairs and a shelf of books where you could leave a book after you have finished yours and pick up a new book that someone else has left behind. The other large room was open air and faced the island of Capri. What a fabulous place to watch the sunset, or just relax and enjoy the beauty. The hotel provides a wonderful and large breakfast buffet that will not leave you hungry. Another great perk is the hotel provides shuttle bus service many times a day to and from the hotel to Sorrento. After driving from Naples, definitely leave the driving to someone else! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. It is worth the price for the service, cleanliness, beauty, and all the perks they offer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mrs Marcia H,

We are really happy to hear that you are satisfied of your stay at Hotel Delfino.
Our main goal is to provide excellent services to all our guest in order to suit all their needs. I hope you will choose again Hotel Delfino as a possible destination for your holiday.

Best Regards

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 5 days at Hotel Delfino in June. Having driven down from the airport and through a very choked Sorrento we were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was coast side of the road, nestled way below the busy road and once in the sanctuary of the hotel all was peaceful.

The front desk was run by 3 of the most efficient and helpful people I have met in a Southern Italian hotel. We had booked a superior room with balcony and when we were shown our room the view of the bay, with Capri directly in front of you, 5 days did not seem enough.

I believe all the rooms have balconies but rooms 100 - 110 have a much larger balcony. Big enough for sun loungers rather than just a table and chairs. Between our room and the reception area was a serene lounging area, open to the air front and back (although electric shutters can be brought down if the weather turns for the worst, with a bar. Best place to switch off, read a book or watch the sun go down.

The restaurant was not top draw but good. Service help full and quick, food not to adventurous but very tasty. There is also a lunch time restaurant outside by the pool. Good basic menu and very entertaining waiting staff.

The pool area is capable of taking around 40 people on sun loungers. If that's not your thing the 140 steps down the cliff face you come to sun deck 15 feet above the water. There is also a shaded area as well. The smell of the sea along with the noise of the waves coming into the little inlet the hotel is perched over made a gentle background sound that de-stressed us immediately.

The front desk organised 2 a boat trip to Capri. There are 2 to pick from. The cheaper one collects you from the Inlet dock and you join up with 70 people for the day. The more expensive one has 8 people in the boat and you have a lot more freedom on your trip so I recommend you opt for that. We also drove to Positano and had a very special meal at Il San Pietro hotel. That was top draw. The roads are incredibly twisty so, if you want to go to Rivello, I recommend you get a boat to there rather than try and drive. Sorrento is very busy and didn't feel like a holiday town but Massa Lubrense was just what we wanted as a small seaside port.
Beware mosquitoes. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Same floor as reception book a superior room with large balcony. We were in 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guglielmo L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Delfino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mr Atkins,

Thank you very much for your wonderful reviews about Hotel Delfino.

We are sorry about your expercience at our restaurants which were not as you expected, for us is really important to have a feedback from our Guests in order to improve our services to guarantee a enjoyable stay at our Hotel.

I hope you will choose again Hotel Delfino as a possible accomodation for your holiday

Best Regards

Guglielmo La Via

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Lubrense
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
1 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#3 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
499 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Nastro d'Oro 2 | Sorrentina Peninsula, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: £122 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfino 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delfino offers a free shuttle to Sorrento. Its outdoor pool overlooks the sea.Provided with an LCD TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels, all rooms at Delfino Hotel are air conditioned and feature light-wood furniture. Some also come with a sea-view balcony.The hotel’s restaurant serves its meals on the poolside and specialties in Italian cuisine, Sorrento recipes and fresh fish. Breakfast is continental style and includes both hot and cold food.Staff can organize outdoor activities, such as diving and snorkeling, along with boat trips along the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Massa Lubrense
Hotel Delfino Sorrento
Delfino Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing