We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Unfriendly, but pleasant stay*”
Review of Hotel La Certosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Certosa
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“*Unfriendly, but pleasant stay*”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We didn't have an exceptionally friendly arrival at Hotel La Certosa. We didn't feel welcome at all, and not one person smiled when we walked in there. I realise it was out of season but surely your standards can't drop so dramatically?

It's a family run business and having dinner at their restaurant that night was rather challenging aswell. Who I imagine was the mother, couldn't speak a word of English - not easy to order a meal not knowing what you're ordering.

Other than all the first day drama, we had a pleasant stay. Our room was clean, beds were very comfortable and the shower was ok. Location is perfect, couldn't ask for better in this pretty little town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIX_JADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso C, Direttore at Hotel La Certosa, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your stay . Sorry for my mather but this is tipical when you went in family hotel .

Thank you

Alfonso Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I can not figure out who has written the glowing reviews because they bear no resemblance to the hotel that we checked in to and out of. I can only comment on the room and staff as we could not bear to stay here more than a couple of hours. Our key was thrown to us by the surly staff person. We had obviously interrupted his tv viewing and he was none too happy. The whole family was there and we felt that we were invading their home. No one even turned their head to acknowledge us. After we trudged up the stairs to our spartan room we realized that our "sea view" was only possible when standing. The very small terrace is an enclosed cement box. You have to stand on a stair to see out. As we were promised a sea view by our agent we were not happy. The staff person started yelling at us about it being a monastery and he couldn't help it. He made no effort to change our room. In fact, I think he was happy that we moved next door. Someone else in our party stayed there and was very unhappy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso C, Proprietario at Hotel La Certosa, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
The point is !! We don't must like every one but tell thrue . This is a monastery 700 years and need a respect and the family work inside 24 hours also . If you DON'T like a room whit our balcony we can do nothings to change . The best is don't book came and look if you like or not ? Every body can write what they want ?'

thank you

best regards

Alfonso Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

If you want a clean and comfortable place to stay, with charming staff and super helpful and friendly service in a little bit of paradise - this is it! Value for money is spot on - no frills, but everything that you need in beautiful surrounds. I can't wait to go back. Thanks Alfonso and family - we had a lovely time, and thank you for the wine!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views - but the back looks out on a hillside which is also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Need to do two reviews, one for Marina del Cantone (5*), and this foor Hotel Certosa.

A traditional hotel, no lift and lots of stairs but who cares. Room excellent, clean, bathroom small but basic. Balcony gave excellent views but only when standing.
Breakfast disappointing but adequate. Evening meal good. We found the service to be a little unfriendly but there may have been other reasons for this.
Will return to M de C but maybe try another hotel next time and just stay B&B and use nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB_Strete_Ralegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bachte Maria Leerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Not the first time and not the last time that I was in this hotel. Once you stayed there and met the entire family Caputo and tasted their food of heaven you will always go back. You become part of the family and share their daily life. For me there is no better place .
I tasted so many times a little bit of that paradise with views of heaven. It's just right on the beach almost with your feet in the sea. Daily fresh fish catched by the local fishermen. Try to speak a few words of Italian and a different world will open for you. If you're really looking for something cosy, romantic , familyminded and no nonsens style you will be surprised in the most pleasant way. I recommend it for 100%... Just go with the flow and enjoy the real italian style in Hotel la Certosa.

Room Tip: If you want seaview don't forget to mention it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0selyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It´s a small family owned hotel, runned by Alfonso and his wife. It has been in the family for more than 50 years, several generations.
The room rate includes breakfast, sun chair and towel.
They also have a very nice restaurant on a porch more or less in the beach.
Most of the rooms has balcony. They all have AC
There are a lot of different kind of boat excursions that can be arranged from the beach.
Very nice and friendly place!
Nice and calm!

Room Tip: They have 2 superior rooms! Try to get one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakan12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

good value for money restaurant, but the hotel is too expensive. + extra 15 euro/day parking.
When we arrived our room was overbooked; so the first night we had to spend in another hotel in another town. Old furniture in the room, +/- functioning airco. Some days the breakfast buffet was almost empty... when arriving a bit later.
...but excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
#19 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bellavista
2.2 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Primavera
Hotel La Primavera
#16 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Certosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Certosa

Property: Hotel La Certosa
Address: Via Marina del Cantone 23, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Certosa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Certosa is an ideal location for a holiday if you are in search of sea, culture and nature excursions and good food. The hotel is in fact situated on the beach in Marina del Cantone, one of the most beautiful bays in the Sorrento peninsula, behind Punta Campanella, in the heart of the natural marine reserve of the same name. With uncontaminated beauty, the reserve offers lots of land and sea routes to allow you to discover various sites full of history, legends and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Certosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Certosa Hotel
La Certosa Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing