We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Pina
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked a single room garden view, not, when I opened the shutters I had a brick wall 2 foot away, shame on them, its bad enough being a single traveller (for whatever reason) without being penalised on your accommodation, you try spending a week staring at a brick wall when you are trying to get ready for supper in your youth hostel type room. Of course you have to pay more for a balcony and a sea view, that I understand, but still so unfair. I felt like Cinderella. Then when water poured into my room through the ceiling I was moved next day across the road into the sea view part of this 2 part hotel so for that I give them good marks. The hotel staff are quite lovely and friendly. The food is nothing to write home about but then again not too shabby, I certainly never left anything, I was back for supper every night because if you miss the last bus back it will cost around 30 euros for a taxi and the buses are rubbish, running on average in the afternoons between 1 & 1 1/2 hours apart.
Its easy to get into Sorrento for the bus to Amalfi 6.50 euros for a return bus ticket for 24 hours dropping off at Amalfi, & Positano from the bus station beside the train station. the trains are cheap & very good to Naples, Pompei & Herculaneum. This was my second visit to Sorrento after some years and I do wish I had stayed closer to the sea as it was very hard work getting back to the hotel as it is quite some way out, but that was purely down to the transport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 79janicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

After reading several reviews, my partner and I took the advice of paying slightly more for a sea view room with a balcony, it paid off! Spectacular views from our balcony - room 112.

The room was basic and shower may not suit a largish person but there's running clean water, etc so no complains there. The views really compensates for everything.

The views from the garden downstairs and rooftops are ideal to sit and have bottles of wine and quiet time.

My partner and I absolutely dislike too much noise and hustle bustle of towns when on holiday so this hotel was perfect for us. We had to take the bus to town everyday but rather that than put up with too much disturbance in towns.

Hotel employees/staff were friendly.

Food - breakfast was basic but good fresh ingredients. Coffee was always abit tepid though.
Dinner was extremely delicious, highly recommended.

I would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GourmetGucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 week stay at Villa Pina through Thomsons. It was a half board late deal. It was such great value we expected to only dine every other night or so, however the variety of nightly selections and the excellent standard of food, wine and service from Angello and his team coupled with the outstanding views from the restaurant meant we never strayed once.
We had read all the reviews and did not expect a boutique or corporate hotel. We knew we were coming to a clean, family run establishment with old world charm and that's exactly what we got. It gave us a chance to really unwind and enjoy our holiday. The family and their staff are always on hand to answer questions or provide information and service.
The best testimony though came from the number of guests we met who returned year after year to this wee gem. Having read some of the other reviews you get the feeling that people have unrealistic expectations. Just in case you are swithering:
Yes, it's beside a busy road, so we packed ear plugs and slept well.
Yes, its a little out of Sorrento, but through the day there is a good, economical, bus service. However we preferred the 30 - 45 walk over the hill through lemon and olive groves.
A 25 minute walk down hill takes you to a great family beach where two sunbeds and a brolly was €14 for the day, we also sampled the beach side restaurants and were never disappointed.
As for the comments on breakfast there is a wide selection of fruits, breads, condiments etc. Our only niggle is we prefer strong, hot coffee but really not worth winging about.
The family have added a garden patio where after a day of site seeing you can sit enjoying the views and the peace before and after dinner.
Will we be back? Absolutely!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Innellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We returned to villa pina again this year and were recognised immediately by Francesco and his family and given a truly warm welcome. Despite comments on his rooms we went full board for the food which in my opinion is fantastic. Last year we used the many public foot paths in the hills to walk to Sorrento, St Agata, Massa Lubrense and Termini they are a pleasant alternative to risking life and limb on the narrow winding roads and you get to meet the locals who are very friendly and help full.
A lot of the other guests used local buses (2.3 euro) to Termini,Nerano and Marina Del Cantone and totally missed the fantastic walks to Punta Campanella and the Bay of Jeranto.
We got the direct bus (Nerano via Marciano) outside Villa Pina between 7-50 & 8-10am got off at Termini (20min) and turned right at the ceramic shop down a bank to a fork in the road there we met a shop/Bar owner who directed us right to Punta Campanella and politely asked when we returned because it was a circular walk perhaps we could sample some fruit or a cold Beer at his shop we agreed. Two hundred yards down the road we met an Alsatian dog who seemed excited to see us and followed us. We were a bit concerned but thought he would get fed up and leave us, he never barked and calmly went ahead marking his territory turning occasionally to wait for us to catch up. He spent all morning with us even waiting at Punta Campanell and the tower of Minerva while we had a half hour break. The highlight of the walk was a steep long climb to the church at San Costanzo with fantastic views of Capri, Jeranto Bay and Marina Del Canton. Our Alsatian Guide then returned us safely to Termini via a well-earned drink at the bar we passed earlier. The bar owner said the Alsatian dog was called Rex and regularly accompanied walkers on the route. The walk is 6.4km (4hrs) long + time at Tower of Minerva if you miss Rex Look for the Red and White Paint marks.
You can also get the same bus outside Villa Pina to Nerano and do another fantastic walk to The Bay of Jeranto and secluded pebble and sand beach. The walk is 6.4 km (4hrs) long + time on Beach. The bus stops at Nerano at the only bar and Shop next to a square and church. Head in the direction of the bus following the road for just 25 yards to a bend after which there is sign on the right for Bay of Jeranto this is the start and finish of the Circular walk Just follow the track and yellow paint marks and enjoy the stunning Scenery. You need to wear a good pair of walking shoes or trainers for both walks and can get details from Luciano Pellecchia’s 24 walks along the Amalfi Coast or download the maps for free from Geovanni Visetti’s web site http://www.giovis.com/ (map 5)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Guests seem either to love or hate Villa Pina. After reading through all the reviews we thought we would have a very good holiday there and we did. That said, we have visited Sorrento before and may have felt a little disappointed if this had been our first visit and we had found that we were that little bit too far away from its lively centre for convenience sake. We decided to hire a car and had the best of both worlds. Villa Pina is basic, if you are after luxury then do not book it, however it is very clean (rooms cleaned every day) and the food is delicious. We had a balcony room which had a wonderful view, there is also a very pretty garden and a wonderful roof terrace with magnificent views. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The beach behind the hotel is a little gem but a good 25 minute walk there down hill and much longer back up to the hotel in the heat - but very worth it. Note: we found out that you can drive a car to the beach and park 100 yards from it for 8 euros!! Lazy, I know but it was hot!!!! We had a very good holiday and would consider using this hotel again in the future - nothing in our opinion to dislike.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony and if you are confident enough then hire a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aedav_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Elinor G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel has not changed for many years and is just like the photos on trip advisor. However the food was lovely and the family too. the rooms are very clean, towels changed daily but very basic. It could do with a full refurbishment but the food,views and hospitality made up for this. The walk to the beach is at least 25 minutes and coming back up can take longer in the heat but it is well worth going and spending sometime down there. Good value restaruants and bars there.Black sand but plenty of sunbeds for 5 euros per day to hire with showers for you to use and changing huts. It is easy to get the bus from the front door to Sorrento and the buses from there can take you along the Amalfi coast for approx. 7 euros for 24 hours to hop on and off the bus.The new furniture in the garden downstairs is really nice and a pleasant afternoon can be spent there with the fab views.Would definitely go back again as long as as I could get a late deal and not pay the full Thomson price as I would only rate this as a 2 star max for the hotel but the food more.

Room Tip: over the restaurant but you will find if you are travelling with Thomson you will not get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank car1chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
2.1 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Lubrense
Villa Lubrense
#38 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
164 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel La Primavera
Hotel La Primavera
#16 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Pina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Pina

Address: Via Partenope 40, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Pina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Pina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pina Hotel Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing